Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 24 July 2014
Wonderful story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2013
I did like this film. I wouldn't rave about it but it was a good film to watch on a cold, wintery afternoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2014
A very dated but pleasant ghost story
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2014
very good film if you want to see it good film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2014
Spooky and classic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2014
A fine Ealing film. Even though it was a bit hesitant in its depiction of ghostly visitations it is a remarkable film, beautifully acted and photographed. Well worth being on your dvd shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2011
This film was made as morale boosting propaganda during WWII, along with films like 'Went the Day Well?', 'The Day will Come' etcetera. If pushed I would say that this was my favourite of the bunch. We are presented with a set of characters alienated from the struggle against Germany by circumstances - loss of a son, a sea captain wrongly blamed for abandoning his ship, a citizen of the Irish republic. Their gradual reengagement in the war effort is nicley tied in with a mild ghost story, introduced so gradually and gently that it does more in the line of adding atmosphere than powering the plot, but none the worse for that.

It is basically the redemption theme found in 'A Christmas Carol', 'The Singing Detective' etcetera, but applied to the wartime situation. Highly recommended - the sort of film you can watch repeatedly because atmosphere is as important as plot.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2015
glorious they don't make em like this anymore
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2011
Having wanted to see this film for more years than I now care to admit, it was a thrill to see credits
start to roll that looked like a Blu-ray. It is that good looking and well preserved! The story is sort
of a precusor to the very famous "Dead Of Night", a tune up before the race, so to speak. I had to buy
a $50.00 all zone Panasonic from Bombay Electronics (big and shameless plug) to watch this but how many
times do you go around? The British are putting out "Night Of The Eagle" and an improved version of
"The Thing" so don't sit around shackled to the whims American executives. If you like vintage Brit
ghost movies as much as I do, you are in for a treat in this "House".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2015
One of my top ten films of all. Very well acted and directed. A gentle story of the times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)