Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
44
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2003
As suggested, this is an entire series, consisting of 7 episodes on 2 cassettes, which covers each of the 7 deadly sins. A quite wonderful series, whether a fan of Pete P. or otherwise. The writing for starters is truly inspired/ & inspiring, touching on many subjects entirely connected with being a human being...subjects that matter, like love, death, friendship, family. Combine such emotive language with the delivery from a brilliant cast of actors & actresses(or are both just termed actors these days?), & you`ll be weeping like Niagra Falls. So, plenty of loo-roll is mandatory. Well worth the price-tag.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2001
I was surprisingly totally captivated by this series. The whole cast was fantastic. The characters of Len Green and Uncle Urwin were so convincing and the most effective thing is how Green seems to have represented the temptation to the sins and in return how Uncle Urwin would provide the wisdom and explanation. A joy to watch. Congratulations!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT! I SAW IT THE FIRST TIME ON TV MANY YEARS AGO AND NEVER FORGOT IT! PETE POSTLETHWAITE WAS ONE OF OUR BEST ACTORS ,HE ALWAYS HAD A CERTAIN INTEGRETIE , BUT I MUST SAY THE WHOLE CAST WERE GREAT THEY GAVE THEIR ALL! THE STORIES BASED ON THE SINS WERE INSPIRED. IT HAD EVERYTHING COMEDY TRAGERDIE ACTION WARMTH ,I COULD GO ON AND ON .IF YOU'VE NEVER SEEN IT TREAT YOURSELF TO ONE OF THE BEST SERIES EVER MADE! IT HAS PRIDE OF PLACE IN MY DVD COLLECTION. DAVE.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2011
The Sins explores the seven deadly sins through the experiences of Len Green, a career criminal. Sloth was particularly interesting in that this episode examined this state, concluding a rather different deeper interpretation than mere laziness. Len is a hero of sorts having to confront each week and somewhat understand or master these elementary conditions that befall us all.. Liked the fact that it was not moralistic and took a broader perspective of the human condition. Pity it took the death of Peter Postlethwaite to get this production onto DVD, more than a decade after its original television release. Highly recommended.
44 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2012
A few, very fine actors populate this tepid comic drama, which, certainly for me, sadly shows its age.
The episodes are loosely arranged around each of the `seven deadly sins`, and does contain the occasional dramatic sequence. However the actual plots, dialogue and storylines are comparatively weak leading to scarecly realistic or plausible scenarios. The writers surely missed a very good opportunity to employ the protagonists beyond fairly mild and cliched enactments. Instead each episode denouement deteriorates, irritatingly so, into moralising sentimentality, with the added `bonus` of cringing whimsical music accompanying the dialogue, ... yukk!!
Unfortunately this series fell between two stools, ... it should have been played either as a straight working class drama, or an all out comedy. Trying to combine the both lead simply to a somewhat mediocre offering. If you have viewed, and enjoyed the highly critically acclaimed BBC series, `the street` then you will almost certainly view this creation in a very shallow light.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love Pete Postlethwaite so when I saw this I was definitely going to have it. I wasn't disappointed. He is a man trying to go straight after a lifetime of crime but, it not as easy as he thinks it will be as others want to keep him crooked. This has many serious moments but also many comic moments and is well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
I caught this series running late at night and immediately became enthralled in the characters and their stories. i loved pete postlethwaite's character as ever an excellent performance and have been looking out for this series to be released on DVD ever since come on BBC!!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
No doubt it is very dated, but despite that it is a cracking series, Pete Postlethwaite is always a delight as is Geraldine James and the script makes you laugh and cry leaving you elated after each episode. It liberates the soul.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
Brilliant! Grows on you as you watch each episode - in the correct order. Hilariously comic, and deep and touching at the same time. The "grand finale" (please - don't watch it until last) is superb. Seven 50 minute episodes gives the cast a chance to really develop their roles. And what a brilliant cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Since this series of seven plays featuring each of the seven deadly sins in turn is neither a comedy nor a tragedy it falls, somewhat ludicrously, between the proverbial two stools. Considering that most of the acting is of a high quality, this is a great pity.

Worse still, the series grows more tedious as it progresses. In fact, at times, it becomes quite laboured. Discerning viewers may well ask: 'Where's all this getting us?' The fact is, it's a good idea which doesn't quite come off. Fortunately, many viewers will not be too bothered about this and will enjoy the splendid acting and play off between the various characters.

However, if you're tired of clichéd characters and predictable situations, this disc is not for you. Some people, however, will love it for all kinds of reasons and it's nice to think that they will. Because of this I'm giving it four stars and deducting just one to represent those who, like myself, will find it all far too contrived.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)