Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
79
4.9 out of 5 stars
Eric and Ernie  [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 February 2011
Genius writing, genius casting, particularly in regards to the actors that portray Eric and Ernie at various ages, (Daniel Rigby could well have been channelling the spirit of Eric Morecambe, scarily similar). Best programme of 2010.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2011
The film is a brilliant production. Well done to Victoria Wood for coming up with the idea and pushing it through and for her performance. All the leads were great and did a good job of showing us the highs, lows and disasters of Eric & Ern's early career.

The DVD is well produced in a workmanlike way. The one thing that would have made it better would have been if "Behind The Scenes - Eric and Ernie" has been included.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Absolutely hilarious, within minutes you think you watching Eric and Ernie themselves,Victoria Wood is perfect as Eric's Mum
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 4 January 2012
Without doubt one of the finest dramas I have ever seen. It was so good that I didn't want it to end.

THe portrayal of Eric and Ernie by the actors was spooky and there were some nice touches, particularly with the casting of Vic Reeves as Eric's Dad. Victoria Wood was also excellent as Sadie and I really felt for her when E&E said, "thanks, but you've done your bit now" over a cup of tea in the canteen.

Brilliant stuff and it was great to catch it again on New Years Eve. Well done BBC and Victoria Wood. Stunning stuff.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
We saw this on the tele, both me and my wife enjoyed it but we couldn't find it on DVD locally, my wife is a big Victoria Wood fan, the cast are absolutely superb as is the story, any Morecambe and Wise fans will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
I just had to add to all the other positive reviews of this excellent drama. These were real portrayals - not impersonations. At one point I turned away from the Tv and it was just as if it was the real Eric and Ernie's voices I could hear. Congratulations to all concerned.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Excellent story about the greatest (in my opinion) double act EVER. Superb casting of Eric & Ernie when they're young and old. All the mannerisms are there and having read all of their books it's a true depiction of their rise to fame.
Credit also to the late Victoria Wood and Jim Moir (Vic Reeves) playing Eric's parents.
Never get tired watching it....superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
love it. love them. love M&W... LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE ........
u can tell Victoria wood made this with affection and love. adore her for it. love the little boys playing them in the beginning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Fantastic story telling the background of comedy greats Morecambe and wise

Perfect casting very enjoyable to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
Sure a pleasure to watch, charming, funny, informative and quite sad in some parts. Perfect casting, especially Daniel Rigby, who played a young Eric Morecambe PERFECTLY. Also Bryan Dick as Ernie Wise was spot on, too. I recommend this to any Morecambe & Wise fans.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)