Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2015
Already have the first book in this series and it is very creative, imaginative and informative. Things I never knew I could cook in a slow cooker! Handy size too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
An Excellent little book with loads of tasty recipes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2016
nice and easy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
great product would recommend, i was and am very pleased with my purchase and the arrival time.Good value for your money.And arrived well within stated timescale
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
If you are looking for meals where you put all the ingredients in a slow cooker this is not the book for you. 90% of the recipes require you to cook many of the ingredients in a frying pan first. It has some lovely recipes and maybe useful to some however the book was not for me. As a busy working mum I want to be able to throw the ingredients in leave to cook and come home to a home cooked meal.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
Many people will buy this book for the same reason that I did - because I am a slow cooker fan who enjoyed "200 slow cooker recipes", the previous Sara Lewis book in this series.

What are the main advantages of a slow cooker? In my opinion they are fourfold:
To be able to put everything in one pot.
To be able to start the cooking in the morning before going out either for work or enjoyment and return home to find the meal ready.
Not to worry about precise timings for an extra hour will not ruin the food
To slow cook the many meat cuts that benefit from this method.
However, recent slow cook books seem to seek ever new ways to use a slow cooker that do not relate to these advantages. This new Sara Lewis book is no exception.

The book has seven sections, listed below with the number of recipes in each section:
Soups 16
Light bites & everyday suppers 19
Short-cut suppers 14
Vegetarian 13
Food for friends 13
Puddings 17
Drinks & preserves 10

That is a total of 102 and each is accompanied by an excellent colour photograph. The 200 figure in the title is reached by the variations listed at the end of recipes. For example, cider toddy becomes three recipes by giving variations for gingered cider toddy and citrus toddy. Many of these 102 recipes seem to demonstrate the variety of uses of a slow cooker rather than illustrate its main advantages. For example, warm lentil and feta salad involves cooking puy lentils, red pepper and tomatoes and adding them to feta cheese and salad leaves. And what about baked eggs on toast? That takes 40-50 minutes to cook but I cannot see the advantage of using a slow cooker in this case. And is it necessary to use a slow cooker for mulled wine, cranberry mulled wine or mulled wine jelly?

Many of the recipes require the use of dishes or ramekins to place in the slow cooker, whilst others do not produce complete meals. The recipe for fish pie requires you to cook the fish in a slow cooker, to boil and mash potatoes separately, to put the potatoes on the fish and then put it under the grill. Venison puff pie involves cooking the venison in a slow cooker and then putting puff pastry on top to cook in a conventional oven for 20 minutes. Asian glazed ribs require the ribs to be cooked for 8-10 hours and then put on a tray with a mixture of honey and soy sauce and grilled for 10-15 minutes. To be fair these are the most extreme examples.

This book, which is well written with clear instructions, will appeal to those who are looking for recipes are that are not run-of-the-mill (such as chillied beef with chocolate) or who want to test the versatility of their slow cookers with recipes for soups, fish dishes, puddings, preserves and drinks in addition to the more common recipes. It does not appeal to me as much as the author's earlier "200 slow cooker recipes" but it is being sold at a very affordable price.
11 Comment| 179 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Love all these books great recipes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2016
Receipe's are great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
great recipes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
200 recipes of things to cook in the slow cooker, this book contains some things I would not of thought of using a slow cooker for eg. apricot conserve, mulled wine and hot toddies. Some new ideas and some basic standards, worth giving a look at if you need ideas to get more out of a slow cooker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)