Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
197
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2015
A light hearted ROM com which has a interesting cast and ideas of modern life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Surprisingly good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Cute and funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Let us make no mistake about this film. It is a five star chick flick. There won't be a woman with a dry eye in the house. But face it, "Friends with Benefits" was hands down a better movie. For sensitive guys, it is about 3 stars.

I am not an Ashton Kutcher fan by any means. However, I have developed a little more respect for him after this film. Ashton and Natalie have been friends since they were 14, off and on. They come from wealthy families. She becomes a doctor and he follows in his father's footsteps and works in the film industry. When Ashton discovers his dad's new girlfriend is his ex-girlfriend he gets drunk and calls every girl in his cell phone until he gets laid. He ends up with Natalie and they make an arrangement to just be "friends with benefits."

Natalie is a the one who insists on the "no relationship with strings", just a sexual arrangement as she works weird hours and needs to relax. Ashton apparently has the equipment to help her relax. As all chick flicks go, we know how it turns out, the fun is watching it get there.

I actually had a few LOL moments, especially the "period tape." The movie keeps a good pace and doesn't have boring scenes. Sex, some crude language, and Ashton's nude butt.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Whether a man and woman can have sex and stay "just friends" is cliched territory but this film is so much better than I ever thought it could be. It's not your typical romcom and it lacks that sugary coating that you usually get with this kind of film. It's a funny film yes, but in an indirect kind of way; you're getting the story and getting to know the characters and it just happens to be funny. It's not laughs just for the sake of laughs.

You'll have seen Ashton Kutcher in this kind of role before but you can't complain really - he does it so well. You get both the male and female perspective which makes the film all the more enjoyable. There is a bit of role-reversal too with Natalie Portman's character being portrayed as more 'the man' in the relationship and it is her idea to start the 'no strings attached' relationship. I can't understand people criticizing her though: yes she's a little uptight and she has her guard up when it comes to love but that's the point - her character HAS issues and the film is as much about her journey as it is about anything else.

The peripheral characters are a mixed bag (some of them are oddballs really!) and bring a bit of additional entertainment to the proceedings without being distracting from the main story. The whole film is really well put together - it's an 'observation' type of film and it manages to achieve a nice balance between romance, comedy and drama.

Overall, the film gets a thumbs up from me - it's a light-hearted, feel-good film that made me smile and giggle. There are a few extra bits provided on the DVD - the director's commentary is very easy listening. It's a shame there is no additional commentary with Ashton & Natalie and the 'alternate ending' referred to by the director is actually nowhere to be found in the bonus material. There are a few deleted scenes though and a nice featurette which includes the cast and crew and a bit more on the story of the film - pretty standard really but it's always nice to get some bonus material, than nothing at all.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 January 2015
I didn't like this film at all and count it as one of my most disappointing viewings ever - and that came as an unpleasant surprise, considering the names of actors and the director. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

Emma (Natalie Portman) and Adam (Ashton Kutcher) unwillingly keep running into each other - until one day they get really close... Emma however is reluctant to the very idea of a relationship and asks for a "sex only - no strings attached" common operation. Adam, who is much less cynical, agrees nevertheless and we can totally understand him - after all, this is Natalie Portman who asks, for God's sake! Of course, things will not go as smoothly as it is supposed.

The general idea wasn't the easiest thing in the world to be handled, I must give that to the director. But Ivan Reitman, even if he didn't make a really good film since "Ghostbusters" in 1984, is an experienced veteran and he could definitely do better than that.

The scenario is weak and the potential of both main actors is wasted. There is a couple of jokes, but they mostly turn around Adam's dad, an aging playboy played by Kevin Kline. For the most of time this film is definitely NOT funny - and that is rarely good news for a comedy. As for the romance, well, there is hardly any - I saw more romantism in some butcher shops...

I give this film two stars only because I generally like Ashton Kutcher (I found him particularly good in "Butterfly Effect", "The Guardian", "A lot like love" and even in stinkers like "My boss's daughter" and "Valentine's day") and of course I would watch Natalie Portman in ANYTHING... But this not-funny, not-romantic, occasionally vulgar film was for me a TERRRRIBLE DISAPPOINTMENT, nowhere near the quality of "Notting Hill", "While you were sleeping", "When Harry meets Sally", "Love actually" or "Must love dogs" - gosh, it wasn't even anywhere near the level of "A lot like love" (a lesser, albeit honest film). I am glad that I rented it instead of buying. AVOID!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
I enjoyed No Strings Attached as an easy chick flick because I like the actress and actor in their roles.
She's out of my league - didn't really interest me as the plot is not convincing enough.
I found I love you man quite boring and obviously added to sandwich the others as a triple pack.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
After watching the trailer for this I was quite excited to see this movie. At first it just seemed like a movie about two people who were 'Friends with Benefits' but then their feelings develop into something real. It is quite unpredictable and predictable at the same time because you know what the ending is but you're not sure how they're going to get there. This movie is different because it's not the guy with the commitment issues, it's the girl. It shows that women don't need men to feel good about themselves as Emma (Portman) is an independant woman who thinks that she doesn't need a relationship with a guy. At first both Emma (Portman) and Adam (Kutcher) use each other for sex but then they both realise that they have stronger feelings for each other and are falling for each other. However, head-strong Emma refuses to admit this, thereby breaking Adam's heart. After a period of separation Emma finally realises that she needs Adam because she is in love with him and she finally admits her true feelings. They get together (officially) and all is well.

This is one of the best rom-coms I've ever seen because it's different. The plot-line is unusual but it still gives you that warm fuzzy lovey-dovey feeling. I highly recommend it because both actors are great, it is incredibly funny and this film is unique. If you're bored of rom-coms because you think they're all predictable and are the same then watch 'No Strings Attached' because it changes the stereotype of the romantic comedy. It shows that sometimes women are the stronger ones in the relationship and struggle with their feelings. It is fresh and new, watch it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
I love Natalie and Ashton, and the whole FWB idea resulting in love so this movie was a must watch for me! I was very disappointed though. I feel like it could have been much better. If you really like the idea of it, watch the Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake 'Friends with Benefits'. It's a similar idea and so much better. I loved that one.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
Unfunny, could have been better, just s contrived boring, self indulgent mess, and that applies to both films. Although Morning Glory does it seems portray what is wrong with corporate news in america, which is replicated in the UK. So as a satire is not bad, and worth a watch, but overall is dissapointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)