Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
185
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2003
This is one of the all time great car racing films.
The car racing scenes are some of the best ever filmed.
It doesn't have a great dialogue but its a must for all Le Mans
racing enthusiasts and petrol heads!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Yes alright, McQueen is my hero so I'm biased. I'm also a massive petrolhead so I was always going to love this. The great thing about the blu-ray is the 'making of' feature, with Steve's son giving some really interesting background on how it was filmed. If you're not really into cars or racing, you probably wouldn't enjoy it as much but I'd say it's still worth a watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2004
There have been many films that purport to be about this sport, but only this film and Grand Prix (1966) are written by those who have a love and feel for the sport. Le Mans simply oozes understanding of sports-car racing from every pore, and is evangelical in its wish to share the romance of Le Mans, and its immortal protaganists of 1970, the Porsche 917 and Ferrari 512. The only thing wrong with this film is that it was aimed at too narrow an audience to be a commercial success, and preached to the converted, but as a monument to the passion of Steve McQueen for his subject, and as a film that understood motor racing, it has no equal.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
Le mans is a terrific racing film. The shots of the cars speeding down the track is amazing, never would have been aloud today. The movie makes you feel like your actually watching it at the track. The driving is skillfull and the final lap is a very tense showdown. However, there isn't much content in speaking just some waste of time saying "would you like some coffee" but it is a race so you can't really do much of a story with lots of speaking. Though the outstanding shots of the Porsche and the Ferrari crashing is amazing. Le mans has allot of feeling and emotions which I think is very good and adds to the effect of what the drivers are feeling when they have crashed. Le mans is a great film for car mad people like me but not so much for McQueen fans because of the the little speaking. Overall Le mans is and excellent exciting movie, I highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
I watched this with my wife one Friday evening, both tired, and she made it to the end .... If you are into sport cars, like me, this is undoubtedly entertaining. Sure there is not much dialogue (most of it comes from the race presenter over the loudspeaker in the background!) and the mouth-shut attitude of everyone is a bit pushed to the limit, and unrealistic actually. The plot is basically not existing. However the movie delivers very well the feeling of the race and provides historical shots of cars and places that now have changed. Again, fully enjoyable if you like cars. For Porsche lovers, to be noted, the long tail models used here can be found at the Stuttgart Porsche museum.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
Great period feel to the movie. I watched it years ago and this Blu-Ray version on a big TV is fantastic. With a soundbar or external speakers, the sounds are fantastic. I love the editing and flashback / rewind slo-mo effects. Admittedly the sub-plot is fairly thin, but it is a racing movie after all. However, the scenes away from the racing are well played and do add to the overall atmosphere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
This is just a classic racing film. There'sa very small romance sub plot, but it doesn't get in the way of the action. The filming around the track is very atmospheric, with shots of the fairground and people sleeping in their cars before the race. Just a great film for racing and Steve McQueen fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
Amazing film that really captures the spirit of the race. But if a pointless sub plot with the love story, but you can put up with that seeing as you're never more than a few minutes away from the racing action, which is mixed between real footage of the race (McQueen driving as well as drivers like Jackie Ickx) and staged driving on the closed track, no cgi or anything. Even the crashes are genuine, just with body's of different cars on cheaper chassis rather than sacrifice the decent ones. Brilliant film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
The ultimate attempt by Hollywood to capture the ethos of what many people consider to be the most famous motor race in the world. Steve Mcqueen put his reputation, and by most accounts all of his money into making it as accurate as possible. To gather actual race footage, he got permission to run a Porsche 908 in the race, with the Panaflex film camera mounted in the modified nose. unfortunately nobody really understood the forces exerted on a car's bodywork at high speeds, and apart from some shots at the very start of the race, all they got were hours of footage of the white line on the Mulsanne straight as the air pressure bent the cars nose, and the camera mount downwards. With the loss of this dramatic footage the impact on the public was much reduced, and thus it was not a commercial success. But for the true petrolheads the chance the watch and hear Porsche 917s and Ferrari 512s howlling onto the mulsanne straight makes this d.v.d. a must for any collection. The plot is familiar, a driver seriously injured in the previous years race comes back to try again, a sub-plot where he starts a relationship with the widow of the driver he crashed with the previous year, was put in in an attempt to give the w.a.g.s who have been dragged along to see the film, something to get interested in. To sum up, don't expect Oscar winning plot, dialogue or performances, but if you are into motor racing and sports cars this should be right up your street.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
A very good film that becomes magical if you immerse yourself in it and not just watch it; so banish all noise in the house and other sorts of distraction, sit down in your favourite chair with your favourite beverage and take yourself away with it.

Whether like me you are old enough for this to be nostalgia or whether this is history on the screen it's a fascinating portrayal of a time when there were very few safety considerations, for the crowds as well as the mechanics and drivers, and the cars were much simpler and raw. It takes me back to the 1970s, standing on earth banks at Brands Hatch feeling the ground vibrate under F1 or GT Cars.

We could get a bit picky: the continuity goes a bit off after the 'unfortunate incident'; the script and acting consists mainly of meaningful looks and someone deciding whether they would like a cup of coffee but these are small points compared to the action scenes and tremendous on-track and in-car filming. The sound reproduction on the BluRay is fantastic. My favourite clips were at the start where we first see and hear the 917 into and through the S de la Foret curves and in the rain watching the 917 twitching under breaking at the Mulsanne hairpin and sliding as it accelerates away; perhaps I should get out more.

Not quite the all-round entertainment of Senna and sometimes when watching I want to shout "Get on with it" but a solid film to relax with; perhaps it is defined by the line "..... and you can out-brake the Ferrari".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)