Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
325
4.4 out of 5 stars
Akira [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 May 2012
This is a region 2 and a fantastic purchase. There is a audio difference from the 1rst english dubb. but i am still very happy with my purchase and the price is awesome. A++
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2016
Got this 2 weeks earlier than expected! It is in top condition with no scratches. I watched the movie a few days ago and it was certainly stunning. I was a little scared at first because the disc was loose and bouncing around in the case when I received it, but it is perfectly fine, thank you very much!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2016
A classic! Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
Fab collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
classic anime movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
Every time I watch this film I love it a very good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
Update: Wednesday 12th April 2017
This review was originally intended to bring clarification to UK Blu-ray collectors regarding the specifications and content of the 2016 Triple Play CE release of the 1988 Japanese anime film Akira. It has now expanded to cover the April 2017 Standard Edition BD, the score, the Manga (graphic novel/Japanese comic book) as it relates to the film and finally a series of suggested purchases (according to each customer's personal preference or needs) for Standard Definition DVD options. Also there is a brief subtitle comparison. I have carefully indicated the intended group of customers or my intentions throughout the review. This is meant as a basic guide. Each potential customer must make his or her own personal choice(s).

Good luck to you all.

PRODUCT REVIEW:
Over the last 25 years Akira has reached legendary status here in the UK.

Personally I prefer the Manga (graphic novel) but it is still a fantastic film that stands up well to repeated viewings.

This 2016 Triple Play Collector's Edition set from Manga UK has FINALLY addressed the many shortfalls of all previous UK VHS, DVD & Blu-ray Disc physical media releases. This 'new' BD release also fixes the "Window-boxing" problem customers commented on in relation to the transfer on the 2011 Manga UK Blu-ray Disc releases.

Purists should note that no multi-angle option exists to view the original Japanese opening title logo & text or closing credits. These are presented in English only.

Since 2001, I have chosen to watch the Japanese language version with the translation used by Pioneer (Geneon) & Madman on their local DVDs not playable in the UK. This 2016 UK BD uses this but also adds on-screen text, signs etc. (as on Funimation's American 2013 Region 1 DVD & A BD releases). This is a real improvement over our UK Dubtitles problem. So, the 2016 UK BD wins points there!

In previous Manga Entertainment UK releases the original 1988 Streamline Pictures/Kodansha (Electric Media?) English Dub was either Dual-Mono or 1.0 Dolby Digital with a Full-Frame 1.33:1 version of the film. The 2016 UK BD (not the 2011 DVD) has this with the Widescreen HD version of the film as a Dolby TrueHD 2.0 Stereo Surround track.

The 2016 UK BD carries forward all content from Funimation's 2013 release. Bringing with it just about everything except Akira: Production Report from the previous Pioneer/Geneon 2001 US DVD. Our 2011 SD DVD includes the Streamline Pictures version of the documentary, narrated by actor Dave Mallow. This gives us everything any self-respecting anime/Akira fan could ever need on this two disc set.

Why only four stars you ask? Well, the Digital Copy code included with the pack is for iTunes (redeem by the 31st of October 2021) and the SD DVD isn't even a new one either. This pack contains the 2011 Region 2 PAL UK DVD with new matching disc artwork (Tetsuo). The 2011/2016 SD DVD release did not contain the English Pioneer (Geneon) Dolby Digital 5.1 surround mix found on the earlier 2002/3 UK DVDs, opting instead for a standard 2.0 mix; this is pretty much standard for DVDs licensed after Geneon Entertainment USA closed its doors, e.g. the Manga UK Lupin III: The Secret of Mamo DVD from 2008. Coupled with Manga/Animatsu Entertainment's usual lack of accuracy regarding technical specifications on the cover/box - I'd say that justifies losing a star. Not quite perfect. But... really close.

When the item arrived my heart sank (figuratively of course) the Manga UK case said DTS-HD Mater Audio 5.1 English presumably in reference to the 2001 Pioneer (Geneon)/Animaze dub and also DTS-HD Master Audio 2.0 Japanese. I had to open it to find out the truth of it all. It's all good. Dolby TrueHD for all three audio streams.

The Collector's Edition -
Release Date: 28 November 2016
EAN (Barcode Number): 5022366879347
ASIN: B01J6D2ENW
Akira: The Collectors Edition - Triple Play (incl. Blu-ray, Region 2 PAL DVD & iTunes Digital Copy code in pack)

This was later given a cheaper, simpler Standard Edition BD (no fancy packaging or SD DVD; lacks Akira: Production Report) -
Release Date: 10 April 2017
EAN (Barcode Number): 5022366950749
ASIN: B01N19K2ZO
AKIRA: Standard Edition + iTunes Digital Copy [Blu-ray] [2017]
Notes: 1 disc Blu-ray plus iTunes Digital Copy code inside. Redeem by 31/10/2021. Blu-ray Disc is identical to the 2016 version. Manga Entertainment UK still have not corrected the information on the back cover (five months later there is simply no excuse). BD audio is as described in this review - Dolby TrueHD and not DTS-HD Master Audio.

Casual readers can stop reading here, thank you.

The 2016 Collector's Edition packaging does look beautiful (Katsuhiro Otomo artwork) and is quite sturdy in keeping with recent Manga/Animatsu Entertainment Collector's Edition BDs. After you get past the slipcover and card outer-box you've got the standard BD case with tray for the DVD copy. The BD cover-art is reversable. Inside are four art-cards, a fold-out poster and the redemption instructions/code for the iTunes Digital Copy.

The (UK 2016, Manga 25 Years) Collector's Edition BD starts as follows: -
Copyright Warning
Kodansha Logo
Manga Logo

Top/main menus (four options) - Play Movie, Scene Selection, Setup, Extras
Pop-up menu options from within the main movie - Main Menu, Scene Selection, Setup, X (exit menu & return to the film)

Blu-ray Disc video codec/format: MPEG-4 AVC
Blu-ray Disc main feature aspect ratio: 16:9 encoded 1.85:1 original theatrical aspect ratio
Blu-ray Disc main feature soundtrack(s):
English Dolby TrueHD 5.1 (2001 Pioneer/Animaze Dub)
English Dolby TrueHD 2.0 Stereo (1988 Streamline Pictures/Kodansha English Dub in Dolby Stereo Surround)
Japanese Dolby TrueHD 5.1 (2009 BD Remix)
Blu-ray Disc main feature subtitles: English Full (Japanese Script English Translation plus on-screen text/signs); English on-screen text/signs only

BD Bonus Features -
Akira Sound Clip featurette (19:22) - A look at the creation of the score of Akira with the Geinoh Yamashirogumi and composer Shoji Yamashiro (a.k.a. Tsutomu Ōhashi creator/designer of the 2009 Japanese Hypersonic Audio track). Akira: Sound Clip (1988) has optional US Streamline English Narration by actor Dave Mallow and is divided into seven sections. You are also given a 'Play All' option.
Director interview (29:11) circa 1988 given on the completion of Akira (previously released in 1993 for the Pioneer Laser Disc).
Storyboard Collection [HD] (30:58)
The Writing on the Wall English translation of graffiti [HD] - previously seen as the 'Capsule Viewing Option' on the 2001 Region 1 US DVD release. In short, this includes stills of ALL graffiti rather than just what we need for location/affiliation or story purposes.
2 original trailers [HD] (3:11)
3 original commercials [HD] (1:22)
Restoring Akira featurette (11:01) - A three part look at the 2001 restoration of the picture, updated English dubbing (English Voice Over) and English 5.1 Audio mixing for the release of Akira on Region 1 DVD and in US cinemas from Pioneer (Geneon). Features interviews with actors Wendee Lee (Kei, 2001), Johnny Yong Bosch (Shôtarô Kaneda, 2001) & Joshua Seth (Tetsuo Shima, 2001).
Glossary text of definitions for various terms used in the film.
Funimation's 2013 US trailer [HD] (0:55)

BD Bonus features audio codec/format Dolby TrueHD 2.0 (some Japanese, some English)
Note: English subtitles are available for Japanese language Director interview and trailers but oddly not for the version of Akira: Sound Clip (1988) when the English language V/O narration is turned off.

The Region 2 2011/2016 PAL SD DVD (720x576)
SD DVD Audio options 2011/2016:
English Dolby Digital 2.0 (Pioneer/Animaze 2001 dub)
Japanese Dolby Digital 2.0 (I assume this is still the 1988 Japanese original Dolby Stereo Surround Theatrical mix)
Japanese Dolby Digital 5.1 (2009 Japanese remix)

SD DVD Subtitles: English (not quite Dubtitles but not 100% true to the film either) - a small improvement over the 2002/3 Manga releases.

SD DVD Bonus Feature: Akira: Production Report (1988) - Streamline Pictures English V/O Narration version (Dave Mallow, Carl Macek, Svea Macek)

Regarding subtitling - Over the years I have purchased many copies of Akira on VHS, DVD or Blu-ray Disc but also have an old recording from a short season of anime films shown on BBC2 in the '90s. There are subtle differences between them.

Kaneda in police station (two line reference) sick mother excuse -

1991 Island World Communications Video (not yet labelled as being from Manga Video) Collector's Edition Subtitled VHS (very hard to read) with a totally different translation: -
Kaneda: "She's feeling much better, thanks."
Policeman: "So she took a trip on a bike?"

1990's BBC2 TV Broadcast in Japanese with English subtitles: -
Kaneda: "She was over the worst last night"
Policeman: "Well enough to ride a bike?"

1988 Steamline Pictures English Dub: -
Kaneda: "Huh? Oh, she's feelin' much better now. [sarcastically] Thank you Officer."
Officer: "Quite a recovery, [equally sarcastic] maybe she can pick you up?!!"

Pioneer (Geneon)/Animaze 2001 English Dub plus 2002 & 2003 Manga UK DVD Hard of Hearing DUBTITLES: -
Kaneda: "Fortunately the worst is over. She cleared the hump"
Policeman: "She cleared the hump, huh? What next, a triathlon?"

2001 Pioneer (Geneon) Region 1 NTSC DVD, 2001 Madman Region 4 PAL DVD, 2013 Kodansha/Funimation Region 1 NTSC DVD (I don't have Region A Blu-ray Disc playback but my machines can play Region 1 DVDs) & 2013 Kodansha/Funimation/Madman 25th Anniversary Edition Blu-ray Disc AND also the 2016 & 2017 Kodansha/Starz/Manga Blu-ray Disc English Subtitles all read as follows: -
Kaneda: "Luckily, she made it through the worst of it last night"
Old Man "Pops" Policeman: "And I suppose she's made it over the mountains on a bike by now?"

2011/2016 Manga UK PAL SD DVD (half-and-half sort of Dubtitles): -
Kaneda: "Fortunately the worst is over. She made it"
Policeman: "Is that so? What'll she do next, a triathlon"

2011 Manga UK Blu-ray Disc (these subs could/may be based on the Bandai/Honneamise US disc that I don't own): -
Kaneda: "Fortunately the worst is over. She cleared the hump"
Policeman: "She cleared the hump, and you left her for cruising, huh?"

The 2016 UK BD gives us a better chance to understand the intent of the Japanese language even if, like me, you cannot speak it.

After 15 years of waiting fans of the original English dub can hear it while watching a decent quality widescreen version of the film. Also 15 years later we get the subtitles the Yanks & Ausies/Kiwis have had on DVD since 2001 but now with additional on-screen text translations (from the 2013 Funimation releases).

This is it. Finally. After twenty-five years the UK gets the release it deserves on this particular 2016 (& 2017) Blu-ray Disc. Crank up the volume and immerse yourself in Akira in whole new way!

An excellent BD A+, highly recommended.

A must purchase item for any true anime fan or collector.

Four out of five stars!

Enjoy!

Creator Katsuhiro Otomo stopped work on his manga (Japanese comic book) while completing work on the film. It does stand well enough on it's own but can also be seen as a cinematic re-imagining of certain elements of what we now know as the first two volumes (and on to volume 3) of the graphic novel. I have always looked upon this as one-third of Otomo's intended story. By manga volume 4 it goes so far beyond the movie that If you do enjoy the 1988 anime film then I highly recommend that you read the manga. It only gets more interesting as it continues.

Akira Volume 1 (Akira (del Rey))
Akira Volume 2 (Akira (del Rey))

That said, I first read Akira in Manga Mania (a magazine published by Manga Entertainment back in the '90s) and have not yet purchased the full set of six graphic novels.

A hardcover 35th Anniversary Manga box set is due in October 2017 (ISBN-13: 978-1632364616; ISBN-10: 1632364611). It is available for pre-order. Presently the price is just shy of 100 pounds. Amazon does say it is in English but has the original Japanese art (not flipped and re-touched) and right-to-left reading format.

Soundtrack collectors should be aware that Akira is a cinematic oddity. You must be careful what you attempt to buy. In terms of availability and convoluted history it is pretty close to being Japan's answer to the Blade Runner OST by Vangelis. The version fans are looking for would be the album Symphonic Suite AKIRA performed by the Geinō Yamashirogumi and composed by Shoji Yamashiro (a professional pseudonym of Tsutomu Ōhashi). This is available via third-party Amazon UK Marketplace sellers.
Barcode Number: 4988002300945
ASIN: B00005GXAG
Symphonic Suite AKIRA (Soundtrack) [Audio CD] [Japanese Import]

Region 2 Standard Definition DVD collectors interested in the 1988 anime movie of Akira should probably consider future-proofing their collection and buy the 2016 Triple Play release IF you don't want or need the 1988 Streamline English dub.

Throughout this review I will keep heaping praise upon the 2016 UK Manga Entertainment release but this section is all about choice for Standard Definition DVD collectors.

You've got to ask yourself if you really care about the English dubbing?

Do you prefer to hear an 80's Ninja Turtle (Cam Clarke) as Kaneda on the '88 English dub or a Power Ranger (Johnny Yong Bosch) as Kaneda on the 2001 version? Do you want a very faithful dub (Pioneer) or something with a bit more life/energy to it (Streamline)?

If you find yourself gravitating towards the 'classic' retro style of the 1988 English dub then Akira: The Ultimate Collection, a 2003 double disc DVD pack from Manga Entertainment UK is your only (vastly inferior) Region 2 PAL option.

Note: The 2003 Ultimate Collection DVD box says 2.0 Stereo for the '88 dub but it is actually encoded as a Dolby Digital 1.0 Mono (sound is output via the centre/dialogue speaker if played through a Home Cinema system). The Streamline dub is a 4:3 encoded 1.33:1 version likely from the old 1991 VHS source. It doesn't look great!!

Akira - The Ultimate Collection [1988] [2003] [DVD] 2 discs, both dubs. WARNING English SDH DUBTITLES for 2001 dub
EAN (Barcode Number): 5022366201247
ASIN: B00009MGHU

At this point in time, most UK Akira fans should go for the 2016 Triple Play rather than be extremely disappointed with any previous Manga Entertainment releases for this film.

Alternatively you can buy the April 2017 standard edition of the Blu-ray Disc together with any previous UK DVD release for the Production Report. But do note that the 2011 SD DVD has the 2001 Animaze (Pioneer/Geneon) English dub and not the fondly remembered Streamline English Dub (hence my previous recommendation to SD DVD only customers). Customers whose players can handle DVD & BD should really buy the DVD as well if you love the film for the inclusion of the Production Report. At the time of writing this doing so would save any potential customers a wee bit of money.
Akira [DVD] [PAL] [Region 2] [2011]
AKIRA & Digital Copy - Standard Edition [Blu-ray] [2017]

Region 2 only SD DVD collectors (without access to a Multi-region DVD player) need to be made aware of the fact that unfortunately, absolutely no good local Region 2 UK SD DVD release actually exists at this time.

Should you wish to watch the film in Japanese with English subtitles they are all really dodgy on DVD. Your choices are limited to English SDH Dubtitles (2002/3 DVDs) or slightly stilted (in places), poorly flowing translations (2011/2016 DVD). The 2011 subtitles on DVD were neither one thing nor the other. They did not serve as Dubtitles or a useful easy to read fresh translation of the Japanese script. They just sit awkwardly somewhere in-between those things.

Of course since the 2002/3 UK DVD English SDH subtitles follow the script for ‘new’ 2001 Pioneer English dub some customers may be able to live with this. It is close enough to the Japanese but still doesn’t get my support. Ask yourself how often you will watch the film in Japanese? If you aren’t particularly bothered by all of this then you may wish to revisit my earlier Region 2 recommendation of the Standard Definition DVD 2003 Ultimate Edition DVD box set. This had the most SD DVD content by including both English dubs.

This in turn brings us back to the 2016 Collector’s Edition for consideration. The 2016/17 Blu-ray Disc is the only UK option for those who really wish to watch the film in Japanese with English subtitles. SD DVD collectors would then at least own a disc just in case they upgrade to the Blu-ray format in the future. Plus not everyone cares about or even likes the ‘classic’ 1988 Streamline Pictures English dub not present on the 2011/2016 DVD anyway (Blu-ray Disc only).

I have not purchased the stand-alone 2011 UK DVD since it was contained within the DVD/BD Combo-Packs released in 2011 (Steelbook) & 2016 (Collector’s Edition) respectively. I do own it but never choose to play it.

At that point the main question becomes one of languages. Are you likely to watch an English version or the Japanese, remembering than all current UK Region 2 DVDs are of no real value for this. Hence the future-proofing argument I’ve been making throughout this review.

You'll get no personal recommendations from me, more like problem solving suggestions.

I haven't willingly chosen to watch a Region 2 Akira DVD since I bought the Australian Region 4 (not coded for the UK) release from 2001; it used the Pioneer subtitles as seen on the American DVD released in the same year.

Earlier in this review I chose to compare subtitles from various versions of Akira that I currently possess. The BBC broadcast script is pretty good but is unavailable on any form of physical media release we as potential customers can buy. Otherwise the Pioneer (Geneon) translation has always served me well. This has never been used on a Standard Definition DVD disc of Akira released here in the UK by Manga Entertainment.

Manga Entertainment UK never quite managed to get it right. This is still true of their local Region 2 DVD edition of the film today (2017). No decent DVD subtitles for us here in Britain! Shameful.

I’ve given Region 2 DVD buyers much to consider and I hope this has been of assistance to you.

This final section is aimed at Standard Definition DVD collectors without a Blu-ray player but who do have a Multi-Region machine (Regions 1-8, worldwide disc playback from any SD DVD Region).

Due to amazon placing limits on the number of product links I can place in this review I have chosen not to do so for my Multi-Region recommendations.

The ASIN or barcode number can be copied and pasted as required to locate the specific items you seek.

As of 12 April 2017, I own 18 copies of Akira on physical media - VHS, DVD or Blu-ray Disc.

Prior to 2013 I would have recommended the 2001 Madman Entertainment Region 4 PAL SD DVD for including both dubs (APN: 9322225007086; ASIN: B000CCKRF4). It should be noted this was licenced through Manga so used the same old Dual-Mono audio we had on VHS.

As of 2013 what I actually suggest to Akira fans with equipment capable of playing Region 1 SD DVD discs, but who want the best content, is to buy three different editions from the United States. They represent the absolute best that Standard Definition DVD can offer in terms of audio, subtitles and bonus features. Two Pioneer/Geneon editions (2001 Dolby & 2002 DTS) plus one from Funimation (2013 with both dubs).

1.) Funimation 2013 25th Anniversary Edition, Region 1 (locked) Double DVD set
Release Date: 12 November 2013
UPC (Barcode Number): 704400094194
ASIN: B00ENNBZ68
Notes: This includes Standard Definition versions of the content from the US 2013 BD. Akira Production Report (1988) is not included and some stills galleries are not carried forward from previous Pioneer/Geneon US releases. The main feature disc DOES include the 1988 Streamline Pictures English dub in Dolby Stereo (Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo Surround) as well as the 2001 Animaze (Pioneer/Geneon) dub in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround & the Japanese language version in a 2009 Dolby Digital 5.1 remix. Subtitles are from the 2001 translation with signs/graffiti (as on the 2016/2017 UK Blu-ray Disc release).
Also released as a three disc Region A (locked) and two Region 1 (locked) DVD/BD Combo-Pack (UPC: 704400094187; ASIN: B00ENNA62W). I bought this because at the time it was cheaper. At the time of writing this review there are only pennies in it, so it makes no difference! Please keep in mind that these discs are not Region Coded for standard UK players.

2.) Pioneer/Geneon 2001 Double DVD Special Edition, Region 1 (locked)
Release Date: 24 July 2001
UPC (Barcode Number): 013023156890
ASIN: B00005MAM2
Notes: This is a THX Certified DVD release. Does not include the original 1988 Streamline Pictures English dub. Does have the 2001 Animaze dub. Features 'new' 2001 English subtitle script from Pioneer's translations to accompany the original 1988 2.0 Dolby Stereo Japanese language track. Capsule viewing option in-movie braching to stills of signs/graffiti translations (later used for the 2013 The Writing on the Wall feature). Bonus disc features all extras. Akira: Production Report is presented in the original Japanese language with English subtitles (no English audio option is given). Extensive stills/publicity/storyboard galleries. Also released in a Limited Edition tin box (UPC: 013023153790; ASIN: B00005BJPO). Not Coded for standard UK players - a Multi-Region player is required.

3.) Akira Japanese DTS 5.1 Version, Region 1 (locked)
Release Date: 03 December 2002
UPC (Barcode Number): 013023172692
ASIN: B00006LPEY
Notes: Sound remixed by Shoji Yamashiro (Tsutomu Ōhashi). This is the best SD DVD DTS 5.1 surround mix I have ever heard. A truly wonderful experience in which to immerse one’s self for two hours! A+ This DVD features the same Pioneer 2001 Dolby Digital 5.1 English dub with the 'new' cast. 2001 Pioneer English subtitles for the Japanese language script. Highly recommended. This DTS release contains no bonus features at all. Not Coded for the UK - a Multi-Region player is required.

Happy hunting!
1616 Comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
I am not sure if I am in the minority but I am one of those who prefers the original English dub. I wish this was an option on the blu-ray as while I don't mind watching in Japanese (prob the best way anyways) this is one of those films I want my son to watch one day and I would prefer the original dub.

The transfer itself looks amazing, a small amount of grain as to be expected from an 88 movie but some of the palette really stands out.. The scene where the guy gets shot by the cops (before the child screams and shatters everything around him) struck me almost as much as the first time I watched it..

Abridged version = A truly beautiful and mind bending film, mired by lack of original English dub.
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Anime is a genre which has had a stronghold on Western countries for over two decades. Throughout this time we have been introduced to many great incarnations of this form of Japanese Animation (Japanimation), including Dragon Ball, Pokémon and Naruto. However, anime has been in Japan since the early 20th century so why did it take so long to get to us? To make anime appealing to a fresh audience, what was needed was something new, something unique, something violent! Akira was thrown into this world.

July 16th, 1988. A gigantic explosion obliterates the city of Tokyo, Japan, triggering World War III. Thirty-one years later in the year 2019, the Japanese have reconstructed the city into the gargantuan metroplex that is Neo-Tokyo. From above or at a distance, it may seem like a technological achievement; however, delve further into this realm of concrete behemoths and you shall see the beast rear its ugly head. Crime of all types infects the city, corrupt officials & politicians buy their way to the top, riots are a daily occurrence in the general public and biker gangs (b's'zoku) fight for dominance in the streets.

Kaneda Shotaro and Tetsuo Shima are members of such gangs; in their case, they are members of Kaneda’s gang: The Capsules. Sporting his red jacket with the illustration of a capsule pill on the back, Kaneda leads his friends, who are also his goons, in a battle against the Clown b's'zoku. One night during a clash, Tetsuo crashes into Takashi, an esper with psychokinetic powers, and ends up taken in by the military. Upon the discovery that he has the same psychokinetic powers as a previous government experiment, codenamed: Akira, Tetsuo is taken in by Colonel Shikishima of the Neo-Tokyo military for experimentation and the hopes of turning him into a weapon of mass destruction. Joining a guerrilla force with his new girlfriend, Kei, Kaneda must recapture Tetsuo before he loses control of his newfound power and makes Neo-Tokyo E•X•P•L•O•D•E!

Based on his original manga (Japanese comic) series of the same name, director Katsuhiro Otomo agreed to make a film adaption of Akira, providing that he had the most creative control over it. Akira was produced on an extremely high budget (for an anime film at the time) of ¥1,100,000,000 (almost £6 million adjusted for inflation) and, because of the large sum of money, several companies had to be involved in production in order to forward it to the animation studio. This vast amount of funding allowed for the animation to be more detailed and vibrant than any conventional anime. Typically, mouths on anime characters were (and sometimes still are) animated before the voice actors recorded their lines, and very simply too, which gave them a "hinge mouth" effect. Akira broke this convention by pre-recording the actors’ dialogue and then the scenes were animated so that the lips would sync with what the characters were saying.

Akira was a revolution in Japanese animation and a perfect introduction to anime for the western world. This cyberpunk, action flick includes powerful voice acting (both in Japanese and English), amazingly detailed animation and backgrounds (all hand drawn), smooth use (albeit a small use) of CGI and fight sequences which are chock full of fluidity! It has been highly regarded as an influence on modern anime and manga by Japanese manga artists and animators alike and even some western directors; The Wachowskis regard Akira as one of their influences while directing The Matrix (1999).

In conclusion, Akira was very successful upon its release and has continued to be so for the past twenty-eight years, with many cinema and DVD re-releases in both Japan and the West. It is revolutionary, it is extraordinary, it is completely amazing! I have watched this movie many times over and it never goes stale; it has stood the test of time extremely well! I highly recommend this to any Otaku, fan of animation, a person who wants to try anime, somebody who loves good movies or somebody who loves a great action movie! This is one motorcycle ride you do not want to miss!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Good film a little bit different from the mainstream stuff. The story line was quite good. I enjoyed the gore in the film and was nice just to watch something a little bit different.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse