Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
130
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2006
This is the compilation which defines the most criminally overlooked rock band in history. One of the greatest songwriters of the late 20th century, backed up by a troop of amazing guitarists, with Gorham, Robertson and Moore blasting out riffs and, more importantly, some of the greatest guitar solos ever throughout each song on this compilation. This band is a monolith of rock music and thankfully this compilation shows this very well.

my only quibble is that perhaps this shouldve been called 'the very best of' or something like that. In that case southbound and massacre couldve been added too, as well as the rest of the black rose album. The packaging is great also, as well as the music, and the story of lizzy is presented inside along with some great photos of the band etc, in fact the whole package is amazing.

For a new listener to thin lizzy, this album is something which is essential and which is enduring - most serious rock collections i believe should have this amongst them. Also, at such a cheap price here this would make an important addition to any collection and i honestly believe that you will enjoy this, trust me and buy it.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2004
I already owned the Wild One : Best Of, which is good, don't get me wrong but this Greatest Hits package has a broader selection of songs from the greatest band to come out of Ireland apart from maybe U2, who were heavily influenced by Lizzy anyway. Notable inclusions on this album which I was pleased about were "Wild One", a gem from the "Fighting" album, Lynott's solo material, "Dear Miss Lonely Hearts", "King's Call" and "Yellow Pearl", which I was mostly unfamiliar with before I bought this album. Another inclusion I was pleased with was "Black Rose", an epic of spiralling Celtic guitar riffery from Moore and Gorham. Songs taken from "Live and Dangerous", Emerald and Rosalie are superb albeit to be picky I would have gone for the studio version of "Emerald" for sheer impact. One song which didn't make it onto this package was "Massacre" which was sadly never a single but was sheer quality, this can be found on the "Johnny The Fox" album as well as a more powerful version on "Live and Dangerous". So if anyone has the slightest interest in Thin Lizzy, buy this album for starters then I would recommend, "Fighting", "Jailbreak", "Johnny The Fox", "Bad Reputation", "Live and Dangerous", "Black Rose" and "Thunder and Lightning". DON'T HESISTATE, BUY IT
22 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
Thin Lizzy are an Irish rock band formed in Dublin in 1969. Two of the founding members, drummer Brian Downey and bass guitarist and vocalist Phil Lynott, met while still in school. Lynott assumed the role of frontman and led them throughout their recording career of twelve studio albums. Thin Lizzy's most successful songs, "Whiskey in the Jar", "Jailbreak" and "The Boys Are Back in Town", were all major international hits which are still played regularly on hard rock and classic rock radio stations. After Lynott's death in 1986, various incarnations of the band have emerged over the years based initially around guitarists Scott Gorham and John Sykes, though Sykes left the band in 2009. Gorham later continued with a new line-up including Downey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 August 2010
I was fortunate enough to see Thin Lizzy four times between 1976 and 1981 and they were just amazing in concert, best live act I've seen and I've seen a lot.

This 2 CD set is the best collection I've seen of their songs and I still play it constantly. I never ever get tired of the Lizzy and feel that they never received the recognition they so clearly merited. If you're unfamiliar with Thin Lizzy but just want some power driven, melodic rock, buy this and you'll appreciate the genius of the band. Their best known track is "The Boys are Back in Town" but there is far more to them than that. At last a collection that does justice to the wonder of Lizzy and, if you're not familiar with the band but love hard rock, this is for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Still icons of rock. Even now you can get the live presence of the 'black Irish rose' by listening to this album. Not all the songs wre hits, but the power of the group in live performance beggars belief. Raw, unadulterated power and fantastic guitar riffs complete a memorable journey back. We will not see their like again. Buy it and see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 January 2014
This band had my interest very early on. I just love The Boys Are Back In Town. Every other record listed here also, for me, has the same significance. I don't do concerts these days. I sit here listening to my beloved old songs that I can choose at will to buy on Amazon's fantastic music platform.

I spend much of my time browsing favourite songs and albums. I've used a shorter version of this album in my radio days. This one has all those tracks I used to play, and more. There are 34 moments of musical magic which erupts from the very first song here, and carries on right throughout the album. Man, you'll never guess what's playing now. Goosebumps are sprouting! Dancing In The Moonlight is another old favourite.

This is definitely one album not to be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
For all of us, there are certain groups or albums that define our teenage years and for me, Thin Lizzy was one of those groups.

From the initial "Whiskey in the Jar", through "Dancing in the Moonlight" / "Boys are Back in Town" etc etc, the group produced a solid string of hits with a strong baseline signature.

During those times the "Alive & Dangerous" album was the one to own and, in truth, they were probably one of those groups that excelled best on a live stage.
Sadly I never got to see them.

Phil Lynott had a troubled personal life (apart from Leslie Crowther being his Father In Law!) and there was always a sense of inevitability about his future.

This is an excellent compilation (& history) of a group with quite a few songs that I never tire of and still sing along to. They still sound as fresh (& relevant)today as ever which is testament to the quality of the songwriting & execution. The remastering of the tracks improves them further.

They were what they were - an honest band and what you saw & heard is what you got - quality and boundless energy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ireland seemed an unlikely place from which a group like Thin Lizzy would emerge - we all had an image of Irish music based on traditional folk and country music. Van Morrison (and his short-lived group Them) had ventured from the Emerald Isle into rock music and made a significant impact, but he seemed to be a one-off. Thin Lizzy changed all that, firmly establishing Irish rock music as a significant force . The Boomtown rats (with Bob Geldof), U2 (with Bono), the Undertones (with Feargal Sharkey), the Cranberries and many other Irish groups have followed Thin Lizzy in making a major impact on the world rock music scene.
Thin Lizzy first made an impact with a hard-rocking version of a traditional Irish folk song, Whiskey in the jar - it made the UK top ten in 1973. If you've heard the song performed in a more traditional style (perhaps by the Dubliners, who typify the traditional image of Irish music), the cover by Thin Lizzy may come as a bit of a shock, but the song sounds great whether performed in a traditional way or by Thin Lizzy. However, that track wasn't really typical of their music. Thereafter, Thin Lizzy abandoned their Irish heritage altogether and focused exclusively on rocking hard but it took a while for them to establish their career.
Three years after their first hit, Thin Lizzy returned to the UK top ten with The boys are back in town, which is much more typical of their sound and was the first of fifteen UK hit singles that Thin Lizzy had between 1976 and 1983, during which time they also made the UK singles chart with an EP. Only two further hits after The boys are back in town (Waiting for an alibi, Killer on the loose) made the UK top ten but several others made the UK top twenty including Don't believe a word, Dancing in the moonlight and Do anything you want.
The first CD of this compilation begins with those fifteen UK hit singles between 1976 and 1983, together with their 1991 hit (Dedication) ant three other tracks. The second CD begins with Whiskey in the jar. The remainder of the second CD contains selected album tracks and some solo recordings by Phil Lynott. Overall, the second CD is not quite up to the quality of the first but it's not far behind.
This is the best Thin Lizzy collection out there. If you like hard rocking music, you'll love this.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
GREAT MUSIC, I WOULD NEVER BUY THEIR STUFF IN THE PAST, SAW A DOCUMETARY, WHICH SHOWED PHIL LYNOTT IN A 'HUMAN' LIGHT INSTEAD OF THE ONE SIDED LECHEROUS,BAD BOY THE MEDIA ASSIGNED TO HIM, GREAT COMPILATION
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Quite simply, the only Lizzy compilation you'll ever need. All the greats are here, from the catchy ones I've known since I was a wee small boy, to stunners more recently discovered. From melodic charmers to scintillating metal tunes.
In my opinion, the jumbled up order helps, rather than a chronological walk-through.
For forty-somethings like me who've always known Lizzy, or inquisitive younger rock fans eager to try this band, this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)