Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2017
One of the best bands of the 70's/80's with some classic line-ups. Quality musicians with quality song writing makes for a superb collection of just about everything through their short career.
Tribute band Limehouse Lizzy are the closest and best you'll get of "Lizzy" live, but this album will give you everything else.....just heaven.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
I could listen to this album on a constant repeat. Each track is so unique and powerful. What classics, I'll never tire of this wonderful music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
A good selection of tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
Loads of tracks you've forgotten about. You can't go wrong here. When you put this album on it will stay on till the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Spot on .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 August 2010
I was fortunate enough to see Thin Lizzy four times between 1976 and 1981 and they were just amazing in concert, best live act I've seen and I've seen a lot.

This 2 CD set is the best collection I've seen of their songs and I still play it constantly. I never ever get tired of the Lizzy and feel that they never received the recognition they so clearly merited. If you're unfamiliar with Thin Lizzy but just want some power driven, melodic rock, buy this and you'll appreciate the genius of the band. Their best known track is "The Boys are Back in Town" but there is far more to them than that. At last a collection that does justice to the wonder of Lizzy and, if you're not familiar with the band but love hard rock, this is for you.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
For all of us, there are certain groups or albums that define our teenage years and for me, Thin Lizzy was one of those groups.

From the initial "Whiskey in the Jar", through "Dancing in the Moonlight" / "Boys are Back in Town" etc etc, the group produced a solid string of hits with a strong baseline signature.

During those times the "Alive & Dangerous" album was the one to own and, in truth, they were probably one of those groups that excelled best on a live stage.
Sadly I never got to see them.

Phil Lynott had a troubled personal life (apart from Leslie Crowther being his Father In Law!) and there was always a sense of inevitability about his future.

This is an excellent compilation (& history) of a group with quite a few songs that I never tire of and still sing along to. They still sound as fresh (& relevant)today as ever which is testament to the quality of the songwriting & execution. The remastering of the tracks improves them further.

They were what they were - an honest band and what you saw & heard is what you got - quality and boundless energy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
Most of the songs are great but didnt like the live songs i much prefer studio made for cds
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2006
This is the compilation which defines the most criminally overlooked rock band in history. One of the greatest songwriters of the late 20th century, backed up by a troop of amazing guitarists, with Gorham, Robertson and Moore blasting out riffs and, more importantly, some of the greatest guitar solos ever throughout each song on this compilation. This band is a monolith of rock music and thankfully this compilation shows this very well.

my only quibble is that perhaps this shouldve been called 'the very best of' or something like that. In that case southbound and massacre couldve been added too, as well as the rest of the black rose album. The packaging is great also, as well as the music, and the story of lizzy is presented inside along with some great photos of the band etc, in fact the whole package is amazing.

For a new listener to thin lizzy, this album is something which is essential and which is enduring - most serious rock collections i believe should have this amongst them. Also, at such a cheap price here this would make an important addition to any collection and i honestly believe that you will enjoy this, trust me and buy it.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse