Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
54
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2014
a tour de force of bad taste
and horrific humour
for all the family
shocking sketches inter-cut with boyle's unique brand of
evil stand up
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
This dvd is hilarious.Recommend it to anyone,That's another Frankie Boyle dvd to add to the collection.Great value for money.Quick fast delivery
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
boyle to me is everything that is right about 21st century comedy, edgy,in your face, cut throat and thats what i like. This series is strongish , the stand up is good although i have heard bits before. The sketches are head in hand shock worthy but the head can stay in the hands at times with their average feel. Some of the sketches are top drawer though. Boyle is a genius in many many ways but sketches may not be his thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
The stand up parts of the DVD are very good. The sketches are dreadful. Not funny at all. I am a big fan of his stand up. I would fast forward through the sketches as I did in the end. The stand up parts are good and I couldn't sit through the sketches as they were that bad. I'm unsure why he went in this direction. 2 of his 3 stand up DVDs have been superb and this one was a mistake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Bought for my hubby as an extra for xmas as he loves frankie boyle,and with the amount off laughter i heard coming from the living room on xmas day i guess he loved it lol,not my type off comedian tbh but he loved it and thats the effect i wanted for him,great delivery also as it arrived in time for xmas when it wasnt meant to come till middle off january
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 May 2012
It should come as no surprise to anyone that Frankie Boyle is one of the most controversial comedians working the circuit today; with his harsh demeanor and angst fueled one liners he has gotten quite a reputation.

Ever since leaving Mock the Week; Boyle has gotten much more attention from media outlets for his outrageous comedy routines and it has to be said not everyone is a fan of; so please do bear that in mind if you are thinking about purchasing this DVD, because this DVD is a completely different beast to the comedy sitcoms/productions that other contemporary comedians are doing at the moment.

This is Frankie Boyle completely uncut; lacking the restraints placed upon him by the BBC while working on Mock the Week: if you thought his jokes were racy in that show then you are gonna be in for a shock with Tramadol nights as this takes his trademark brand of shock humour to eleven.

Tramadol Nights is a conventional sketch show with segments of stand up thrown in between.

The stand-up parts are standard confrontational fare as you would expect from Frankie and not everyone will resonate with the material: The jokes are harsh and do push the boundaries of taste frequently; so If you like that sort of comedy you are well catered for here; everyone else though will find Boyle's act difficult to digest.

The sketches are warped and twisted; again some viewers will find them very hard to stomach with the subject matter that they tackle; Some of the sketches are funny, and some of them aren't.

The general problem i find with Tramadol Nights is i find it somewhat disjointed and undisciplined; and i think this is partly because of the unrestrained nature of the show. With Frankie having free reign to make the jokes and sketches as shocking as he likes; this leads to some of the material falling flat on its face. Some of the sketches gained little more than murmur in some cases from the audience; and this i think is because some of the sketches try way to hard to be funny by pushing taste way too far.

Tramadol Nights is an interesting comedy experiment; though it isn't an example Franky at his best. For the money i still recommend getting the Mock the Week DVDs instead or any of his solo stand up dvds as they are much better.

3 Stars
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
shame some of the scenes were cut out of the dvd but overall great show and highly recommend it to any frankie boyle fan. be warned though. this is frankies show not mock the week no censorship on any jokes. their is a reason why it was cancelled after the first series because of so much hatred from easily offended morons
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
Got this for a bargain on Amazon.
This is a must for any fans of Frankie Boyle.
Be aware this will offend people who don't get the humour of Frankie.
The Magic wee hing has to be one of the funniest sketches I've ever seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
Laughed.. A lot... Not very PC but very funny
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
There was a lot of repeated material in the stand up part which if you get the DVD's of the tours isn't so good. The sketch parts were different and I thought original and I was pleased with this part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse