Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
61
Misfits - Series 1-3 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 October 2017
Excellent item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2017
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2015
Superb box set of daftness.full of laughs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2017
One of my favourite tv series I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2012
"Misfits" is one of UK's weirdest shows, weird but brilliant! Three seasons of 6 or 7 episodes, a Christmas Special, and loads of funny interviews in this box. The writers capture our present youth offenders in a hugely funny way,at the same time in impressive authentic settings and language. Amazon frowns at the use of many **** words in a review, so I won't do it, but it is safely to say that you must NOT invite tweens or parents or anyone else with the Political Correct Syndrome to a viewing.
The rest of us will enjoy this delightful sending-up of a Heroes superpower-mania as directors and writers give some weird, if not cruel twists to the notion of superpowers handed over to youth offenders. And when you're finished by Christmas - I did it in three days - you're ready for, let's say "Being Human"Being Human - Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD]. Both shows, by the way, owes a lot to the Buffy universum, and all the better for it. The US movie "Chronicle" makes a stab in that direction (if you've seen it), but that is comparing Mary Whitehouse with Russell Brand; you get the idea.

The only reason I gave it four stars is because the Nathan character is replaced in the 3rd season; you realize that the show may be a perfect example of ensemble-playing but it is Nathan's freewheeling offending style that kept the business glued together. The foul-mouthed identical twin character(s) that replaced him in season 3 is/are a bit over the top.

Apart from that, just buy the damn box! And maybe keep those divorce papers handy. Or a box of kleenex. By the way, aspiring to a job of supervisor of superpowered teenagers is not a good career move.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2013
If you ever were a fan of the superheroes and villains this would be a great thing for you. This is honestly some of the best portrayals of the minds of ordinary people who're suddenly faced with the responsibility of all kinds of powers.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2013
Enjoyable and completely out of left field. Probably not good viewing if you work in the probation service.

A group of community service participants in the wrong place at the wrong time. Outside a community centre when a storm hits, hit by lightning, all develop strange powers. The main characters should be wholly unsympathetic yet almost from the outset you find yourself liking them, caring about what happens to them and fascinated to see how their powers developed. Even the character who is a total jerk somhow gets under your skin.

Interesting plotting plays with traditional sci-fi ideas such as the Grandfather paradox, I really enjoy the way that the original powers of the characters mirror or enhance their normal everyday personalities. The shy quiet one who is ignored by many suddenly has the ability to become invisible, a beautiful girl already used to using her looks to get her own way is suddenly irresistable if touched. (More a punishment than a blessing).

Genuinely good and interesting, no series 4 which has just aired, but with an almost total cast change by this stage I wonder if this set doesn't represent the best of Misfits.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2013
Buy this box set as it covers all the best characters from the series'
1 & 2 are by far the best and i still wet my knickers when i watch it now-the characters are hysterical!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2013
Would recommend this DVD to anyone who's a fan or not! Great packaging and hours of entertainment love it can't wait to get next series
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2011
When this first came out it was quoted as "The British version of Heroes", well it wasn't. What i liked about this was they have powers but they're not going about being superheroes, each episode is about other people who have powers and discovering more about the misfits background story. Season two gets better as they learn more about their powers but with Nathan (Robert Sheehan) leaving not before he did a webisode called 'Vegas Baby!', he took most of the witty shocking comedy with him. Not to worry as he's replaced by new character Rudy not as funny and with a crap power season 3 went a bit down hill (was still good).
With sex,on the edge of your seat comic lines, heres hoping for all the usual Bu-Ray stuff as well as the webisode.
33 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Misfits: Series 2 [DVD]
£2.64
Misfits: Series 5 [DVD]
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here