Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2014
The first three tracks are excellent, then the live tracks are repeats of the first three within a bar or chord or two. It unusual in as much that his guitar playing sounds like someone thrashing around in the vain hope of finding the right key but when he does he seems to relish in it. Check out the Fake Jazz you tube video and Choade my dear also to give you some idea of what your letting yourself in for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2011
Not one to write reviews but having seen the previous critic giving this 1 star and comparing it unfavourably to Yoko Ono I though I had to act so that no one was put off buying one of the best albums of the year. It has a nice trippy feel veering on balaeric at times. Excellent.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2011
Don't believe the one-star review. This is a hypnotic and original album, which is a breath of fresh air. It's lo-fi sounding production is a beautiful aesthetic, akin to early Devendra Banhart or Gonjasufi. Personally, I cannot stop listening to it. If you like alternative music, this is definately one for you.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
This is a great album and in the current musical climate is a breath of fresh air as it is so decidedly noncommercial in conception and production. It is genuinely experimental and melodic at the same time, something that is difficult to do well. Think Robert Wyatt or Kevin Ayers solo albums.

The only criticism I would have of it is that sometimes the lo-fi bedroom production is perhaps too muddy and effected to the detriment of the melodies. However, the additional live CD is a lot clearer and more straight forward sounding and is actually my preferred disc of the two. It really shows off his guitar playing and singing voice a lot better in my opinion.

I have heard a lot of people comparing this album to older psychedelic stuff like Pink Floyd and there definitely is some influence in there but I think Conan actually has a much more unique voice and sound than most. Also when i saw him live I was very suprised by actually how quietly he sings and plays guitar. It's very unusual to here modern guitarists with such subtlety and control.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2011
This a wonderful CD - chock full of imagination and creativity, Puck-like enthusiasm and otherworldly melodies. It's slightly different, and it might take you out of your comfort zone at first, but it wont take long until you fall in love it.

Imagine the music Pink Floyd might have made if Syd Barratt hadn't lost the plot, and cross that with some obscure New Zealand Indie records from the 80's and 90's (such as Dadamah's 'This is not a Dream' - which he is clearly influenced by) and you are getting close to Connan Mockasin. Brilliant.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
This is a seriously modern psychedelic LP and is totally hypnotic, some tracks feel very much like Cans future days, pretty much genius
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Connan Mockasin is a visionary. He is one a vital part of music right now, not being afraid to push instrumentation forward even if it means being inaccessible to a large audience. Without a doubt this album will become a cult classic and go on to inspire generations to come. I know its inspired me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
I CAN'T BESCRIBE WHAT THIS ALBUM MEANS TO ME, I PLAY IT AGAIN AND AGAIN.
HIS VIOCE ,UNIQUE AND HAUNTING, FOREVER DOLPHINE LOVE FOREVER IN MY SOUL... I LOVE IT...A MUSICAL HERO IN A BARRON DESERT OF MEDIOCRITY..........
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Connan Mockasins lyrics may not be about sex, but his performance is. Especially the live versions. I just love him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
fast and good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)