Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
Beethoven: Diabelli Variations, Op. 120
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 15 October 2014
Absolutely stunning performance of this wonderful piano work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2011
Have been looking for a good version of this great music for a while now.
Initially bought the much-lauded Anderszewski Virgin recording and could not get on with that at all.
Too idiosyncratic to my liking. It certainly has personality, but I very much doubt it is the composer's...

As a Richter fan then got his recording on Regis / Alto and could not get past the very poor sound quality.
I am just not one of those people who can listen past the terrible sound of it. In contrast I do like the old Rachmaninov recordings of his own concertos, but in this case it is not just a muffled or veiled sound, but the piano almost sounds like it has not been tuned properly. No doubt a recording issue, but a fatal problem for me.

Paul Lewis let's the music breathe and live with a beautiful toucher and excellent recording. This really feels like the Beethoven I was looking for and the modern grand used certainly does not get in the way.
Wonderful music that might even have got Beethoven's nod of approval if he had been around to hear it.
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2011
this cd grows on you as you listen to it in the background more and more
the pieces are mostly very short and one may not always be aware that one piece has finished and another one has started
it flows
a good cd for piano enthusiasts when you wish to have a background stimulating bit of music going on whilst reading or doing other things?
the pianists' ability to play the piano cannot be ignored
very high standard of ability only to be admired
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2011
When I bought the Kovacevich version I felt that the Diabelli variations were not for me : too abstract and dry.
Paul Lewis has changed that. I now enjoy them as much as many of Beethoven's sonatas, Paul Lewis's versions of these also being rather wonderful : equal to the old Richard Goode set.
I have only recently got this CD, and am surprised that it has not received more extensive praise.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2016
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2013
Paul Lewis has become an expert on Beethoven's piano works. His performance in the Diabelli variations confirms his position as among the finest performers today. Anybody whoo appreciates Beethoven's piano works will appreciate this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2014
Little to say about the greatest composer and is work. Maybe not one I shall listen to quite as much as the string quartets .. but SUCH wonderful music.
Fantastic playing from Paul Lewis - to go with the CDs of Paul Lewis and the 5 piano concertos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2013
His sensitive interpretation and flawless technique are unparalleled and retain wonderful freshness so that one can listen again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)