Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
148
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2014
I am somewhat puzzled by several people’s reactions to this album. Perhaps these stem from the fact that it is not as instantly appealing as 'In Rainbows', but that to me is part of its charm (and just goes to show that you shouldn’t judge an album on just a couple of listenings). To my mind it is only after repeatedly listening to it that the magic of TKOL becomes apparent. I think this comes from the multi-layered arrangements, and especially from the deceptively simple drum patterns. (In a Mojo interview after In Rainbows was released, Phil Selway commented that with the band’s turn to electronica and use of programming after OK Computer he feared he was becoming redundant. It is thus ironic that, with a partial return to electronica, one of the highlights of this album is Selway’s drumming.) From the minimalist piano intro to ‘Bloom’ to the gorgeous and multilayered ‘Give Up the Ghost’, this is by my standards simply a superb album; in ‘Codex’ it contains an exceptional piano-based ballad as good as earlier Radiohead examples of this genre (e.g. ‘Pyramid Song’, ‘Sail to the Moon’), and others tracks as good as anything in their back catalogue. All I can say is, if you’ve been put off by other people moaning that it’s not as good as In Rainbows (or for that matter people who haven’t ‘got’ Radiohead since The Bends or OK Computer), ignore them and give it a go. If you already own it and don’t play it, get it out again and listen more carefully.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Although I hear echoes of other bands here at times (Arcade Fire and Bon Iver come to mind) and so begin to wonder if it's Radiohead at their most cutting edge, it's an album worth replaying, with great moments and enough to distinguish it from other offerings. What Thom Yorke is on about most of the time I do not know, but it's fun trying to figure it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
A great album one of their best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
I'm not going to write a lengthy comment about TKOL. All I will say is that I haven't stopped listening to it since it arrived. I also love "In Rainbows" and "A Moon Shaped Pool", and I personally think that this is up at the top with those two. That's my personal opinion....after all, music is such an intimate form of communication, it's impossible to give an objective judgment. It either resonates with the listener or it doesn't, but that doesn't make it "good" or "bad". TKOL connected with something in me immediately so I give it 5 stars. Apart from that, good value for money and delivered on time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
Superb offering from the KINGS of the Unpredictable!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
An underrated and melodic offering by radiohead. Interesting beat running through the album, courtesy of Phil Selway's drums. Bloom is unlike anything previously by radiohead and sets the beat for the rest of the album. There are some instantly likeable tracks, for example Codex and Give Up the Ghost, and others that really grow after a number of listens, like Little by Little, which at first I found Thom Yorke's vocals a tad whiney, but after hearing it live with better vocals, started to really appreciate the song, especially the unusual out of kilter timing. The album has a dreamy trippy feel at times, summed up most by the final track Separator with Thom Yorke falling out of bed from a long and vivid dream to an almost George Harrisonesque twinkling guitar riff.
A great album that deserves repeated listens to really appreciate it. A definite 5 stars.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2011
I'm not a "Kid A" or "Amnesiac" hater like some reviewers here obviously are... to me those 2 albums mark one of the most powerful Radiohead periods in their career. A mark they never quite achieved again after Amnesiac.

King of Thieves was unbalanced and predictable in many aspects while "In Rainbows" was a great comeback of the band with great moments of genious here and there.

The band evolved from a "rock/indie with a twist" to exploring feelings, colors, sounds and even smells... music made abstract and getting shape in each owns feelings and emotions, that's the beauty of Radiohead, from "The Bends" to "Amnesiac" they are one of my top 10 choices for the greatest bands of all times.

The King of Limbs is a very strange album, difficult to get into (and that's not bad, on the contrary)... the problem is, when you start getting into it, you come out with the feeling it could be so much better (and even bigger).

My review track by track:

Bloom:

The opening track, setting the mood for the album.... i like to think of this as an intro, no genius here, some interesting voice/sound combos from middle to end.

Morning Mr Magpie:

One of the weakest songs in the album, interesting breath effects and rhythm, but gets tiring early with its weak lyrics and repetitive sounds

Little By Little:

Interesting rythm, again endless repetition.... nothing that stands out either in the lyrics or music variation.

Feral:

Another "intro" track imo... just like in Amnesiac first track, but a mere shadow in creativity, nothing gained, nothing lost.

Lotus Flower:

The "pearl" of the album, the beginning is simply genius and the one that defines the cover-artwork. The clap variations are priceless, the haunting sounds... underwater/extraterrestrial feeling... pure Radiohead here.

From this track forward the album starts gaining body and grabs my attention.

Codex:

Another pearl... hair rising track... together with "Lotus" this are the best moments on the album. Tom's voice always worked with the piano... and this melancholic piece of genius is simply marvelous. If you can tame your emotions and exorcise your moments of pain with sad songs... this is one of those you wont forget easily.

Give Up The Ghost:

I love this song... the way the haunting voice gives space to the subtle guitar chords.. and hangs in there while Tom's voice leads the way to another burnt sunset feeling... desolate... sad... and yet so attractively beautiful.

Separator:

A premature ending imo... nothing new here, most pop track on the album... cutting the tempo of the previous ones and leaving you with that sense of... lacking something.

All in all, if you loved "Kid A" or "Amnesiac" the second half of the album is worth a listen. If you only see "The Bends" or "Ok Computer" in front of you... you will hate this.

Since i like all the four albums (their golden age), its hard for me to see a band so important in my life giving us so little in terms of creativity and even size.

I think listeners deserved more, Radiohead deserves more.... 1 more year in production wouldn't have hurt, with a more elaborate first part and more tracks into it.

As it stands, its kind of a "Amnesiac" leftovers album, with 2-3 outstanding tracks and the rest just... bland... nothing standing out in remembrance (except for those 3 "pearls").

You can do better.... so much better than this.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
As described and arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
Only heard it twice. Think I'll like it - but as with most good music, I have to listen a few more times before I start to tap my feet...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Hawkwind are a much better band than these guys.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here