Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2016
as a guitar player returning to the piano after 27 years, with the intention of finally learning to sight read, this book has proved invaluable. Ive been reading for half an hour to 45 minutes daily for 2 years, with slow, steady progress, and remembered my teacher showing me this book years ago and decided to give it a go just to mix up my practice a bit. I now do half hour of reading this book, then half hour of reading pieces and in one month my playing has improved. not a huge amount, but I am starting to almost anticipate whats coming next.
If your trying to learn the almost impossible task of sight reading piano, or any instrument for that matter, id say this book should be top of your list. I've started practicing scales to these rhythm's too, just to relive the boredom, and its working great! defo buy again if I lost it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Very dry even for my tastes. Soon lost interest. But I can see how its useful if you have the mental discipline and focus to stick with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
This is an essential book for improving your rhythm reading skills and as a contemporary guitarist on a music degree it's been invaluable for expanding my grasp of complex and syncopated rhythms.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2008
This is THE essential book for learning to sight read rhythms. It is designed for people who have a basic knowledge of reading notation though, and the explanation isn't fantastic if you don't have that basic knowledge. However if you DO have a basic knowledge of rhythms then practice your way though this book stamping the beats with your feet and clapping and vocalising the rhythm. This book made me a rhythm guitar player. And it can make anybody who puts the hours in also a brilliant rhythm reader on any instrument. IF YOU'RE SERIOUS ABOUT PLAYING MUSIC WELL, THEN BUY THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
Bought this as a present for drummer boyfriend and he has found it invaluable tool in maintaining and developing his drumming skills e.g. sight reading, phrasing and time keeping. A must buy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
This is the absolute must. Easy to read and most educational. Each exercise is written out four times with the different notation variations of the same rythm thus allowing the student to see every possible written variation of the same rhythm. Each page concludes with a resume of all exercises.

My drum teacher recomended and taught me from this book and I now recomend and teach my students from this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
This is clearly an extremely rich resource of rhythms, up to very complex and sophisticated figures. By the time you can play all of this by sight, you can confidently tackle the hardest music.

Why only 3 stars, then?

- There is practically no explanation. I cannot see how beginning or intermediate musicians could handle this without a good teacher. So it's not a self-study book for newbies.

- There are no sound demos for you to check for correctness. OK, it is an old book. In the meantime, there are similar books which do offer this, and with more information.

- It is written in single-pitch notation throughout. Normal for drummers, OK for bass players. Possible for melody instruments (in principle, one can practice rhythm in its purest form, devoid of melody, or one can make up melodies with the patterns), but then it is a very dry affair which will turn off all but the most determined readers.

- There is a certain structure behind the countless exercises, but not a very apparent one

- It starts with already quite challenging patterns. No slow and soft approach, beat 1 of exercise 1 already has a rest ...

I would recommend other books for melody instrument players who need a solid introduction to "modern rhythms".
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
All musicians should read this book at some point in their career. The book itself contains notated rhythms that can be used to build up your level of reading and sight reading. The rhythms aren't voiced, meaning that they are plain rhythms to be applied as you wish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2017
A drummer's dream book. Might be difficult to understand for a new reader, but with help of a drum teacher all will become clear. Drum notation is a fascinating subject and this book will certainly help the aspiring drummer to develop his/her sight reading skills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2002
First the bad points. There is hardly any explaination at all in the book. It merely has two pages of text before it dives in to the exercises. There is also this dubious bit about sixteenths in jazz. This book suggests that they too are 'swung'. Plenty of others say play them straight. Basically the book is a set of rhythms arranged to deal with eight notes, triplets etc etc. Each exercise deals with all sorts of possible combinations. The trouble is that they don't represent the sort of stuff you would expect to have to play.
My preferred method for the book is to practice say four bars in a loop so that this might replicate an actual passage of music rather that the twenty or so bars that comprise each exercise.
It's not that expensive and saves you the effort of writing the stuff out yourself but it's a pity that it didn't offer more help.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)