Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2015
A brilliant story on how to brothers fall for the same girl and she doesn't realize she's been compelled. After finding out that Damon and Stefan are fighting over her will Elena be forced to choose
cant wait for more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes books about Vampires. Beware though if you like the television programme The Vampire Diaries the books are not quite the same. The main three characters have the same names but that is about it. Although Elena and Stefan do fall in love the characters have different personalities and families. Still a very good book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Amazing book, great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Its ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
I originally began reading the series as a result of the TV series. However, by the time I began reading these two I had long forgotten the TV series and was really loving the books. The end of the second book left me wanting more, thus I was really eager to see what was to become of Elena.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading them. You see Damon's character develop further, the strength of Stefan and Elena's relationship, and you see the brother's join forces to fight against a larger evil, which is certainly refreshing.

Other reviewers have compared these series to the Twilight series. I believe that you should take both books for what they are and certainly not compare them, they both have their strengths and weaknesses. I have enjoyed both series enourmously and certainly recommend anyone to read these books, you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2009
Vampire Diaries volume 2 carried on from where the last book suspensefully left you hanging. With many twists and turns between Elena, Stephan, Damon, Matt, Meredeth and Bonnie its a definite read. Its not one of those books you can just pick up and hope to understand without reading volume 1 though. Happy reading!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Once again L.J Smith does a fangtastic job with this series. I personally think it will end up being a timeless classic in years to come. Reading it honestly I never kept thinking that this is so wrote in the 90s but it wasnt noticable. apart from the lack of technology really. but i love this book. I continue to reread the orginal series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
i like the fury (book 1 of the second book) i wouldn't say the story was gripping, but the struggle (the 2 of the second book) was a bit to much for me,

i feel as she should have ended it with the fury, as it gotten abit to unbelievable even for a book about vampires lol,and that saying something as i love twilight and the southern vampire mystery books,

but i've still ordered the next book as i do want to see what happens to Damon, (how sad) but im in no rush for it, not like i was for alot of other saga's ive read,

i wouldn't say these books are a waste of time, but i would class them as light reading

*sorry for grammer and spelling*
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
This book picks up the story right after the end of book 2. Elena wakes up to find herself turned into a vampire. Damon and Stefan come to her rescue and help her to adjust her new life. After Elena settles herself, the gang soon find themselves in the middle of turmoil in town. Strange events start to occur in the town and it seems an evil force is behind this.
It turns out that Katherine, who turned Damon and Stefan, faked her death to reunite the brothers hundreds of years ago. Her plan failed and she is angry at the brothers for their growing affections for Elena. She managed to kidnap the brothers and Elena. However, Elena fights back and both Elena and Katherine die during the fight. The story ends with Elena dying in Stefan's arms asking the brothers to promise to take care of each other.
The story of the Dark Reunion begins about 6 months after Elena's death, told from Bonnie's point of view. Elena's friends have come to terms with her death and gone back to their normal life. Stefan and Damon on the other hand have left Fell's Church and live in Italy.
In one of her "spell playing" session, Bonnie receives message from Elena from the other world warning her of trouble coming to Fell's church. Bonnie summons the brothers as mysterious murders begin to occur in the town. Not too long after that, they come face-to-face with Klaus, the evil force that is behind all the mysterious events. Klaus has come back to revenge for Katherine's death. The brothers find themselves powerless under Klaus who is much older. At a crucial moment of the fight, Bonnie calls out to Elena who appears with the spirits of the Civil war soldiers. They take Klaus away and Elena is given a second chance, and she returns as a human.
These two books are quite good read and lots happen in them. I do like the part where Elena trying to come to terms with her "new life" and she gets to understand how Stefan feels as a vampire.
We know from the very beginning that Damon and Stefan are not in good terms with each other. However, gradually we can see how they are brought together by Elena and start to behave more like a team.
The books are mainly told from Elena's perspective but in book 4, we have Bonnie as the narrator. In this book, the author has expanded a lot more on Bonnie and Meredith and we know more about these main characters directly from "the horse's mouth", as oppose to from Elena. We also get to know some new characters such as Tyler the werewolf.
They are definitely good read and give good ending to this first series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse