Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2017
A brilliant box set which includes Kubrick's most memorable films on seven discs along with a bonus documentary film about the filmmaker narrated by the great Tom Cruise, who starred in Kubrick's final film Eyes Wide Shut, also within this set alongside A Clockwork Orange, Lolita, The Shining, Full Metal Jacket, 2001: A Space Odyssey and Barry Lyndon on region 2 Blu Ray, restored into high-def condition with DFS remastered sound, tons of extras, commentaries and anything else you could wish for from one of the best film directors of all time, within the Stanley Kubrick Visionary Filmmaker Collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Superb seven movie Blu-Ray set plus an extra disc of high quality documentaries at a superb price.
Stunning five star unreserved review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
Some of Kubrick's greatest films (but not all of them included I am afraid). Good restoration and a fairly good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
Great collection, sadly all the great films aren't there but I'm happy with the box set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
A good mix of classic movies. I last saw A Clockwork Orange at a cinema in 1987 in Israel; it has aged well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
7 Stanley Kubrick films in 1 box set for £20! ? Great value and 2001, Clockwork, Full Metal & Shining included.

My only gripe and the reason this didn't get 5 stars is that Sparticus probably Kubrick's most famous film and his Dr. Strangelove aren't included in this set, I know it's probably down to different production companies having the rights but it would have been good to have a 'ultimate' Kubrick box set with his best films all in the same place
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
If this was twice the money I'd still recommend. Sure, this set may not include some of Kubrick's earlier work (*cough* Dr. Strangelove *cough*). But the fact is that it DOES include 7 of his certified masterpieces, all on blu ray, in one set. This is great for those who've been aching too see these films in HD and for those who want to get into Kubrick's films for the first time; and to be honest they're aren't many better ways see these films. I haven't seen a single film in this set that I didn't love or at least appreciate its beauty or their acting prowess. If you love Kubrick or just love films in general; this is an absolute steal!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
This is a fantastic deal for a fantastic box set but sadly the fact that it no longer comes with the hardback book does disappoint me but it's still very good.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
It appears that this is the European version of The Shining ('1.66:1' in width) so is a bit cropped compared to the wider American original, and also about 25 minutes shorter than the US version too. More importantly it's the DVD transfer on a blu ray disc.

It doesn't have a proper menu-screen either - it's basically been done on the cheap. The DVD-to-hires 'upscaling' on my Blu-ray player gives people's faces an almost S-VHS like appearance - ie sharpish in outline but smooth and a bit undefined in feature. It's frustrating if you are getting used to a good blu-ray image.

People are saying only 2 of these discs are genuine blu-ray his-res transfers, and the rest are DVD transfers placed onto blu-ray discs (ie the BD-ROM discs this box consists of). Is this why the whole box costs "only" 15 to 20 quid? This copy is going straight back to Amazon anyway. It's not "good value" unless you get what you think you are paying for.

All these 5 star reviews - honestly!? I was completely taken by them. Either the manufacturers have pulled a massive switch at some point, or people should be more careful before they review things on this site. The movies are good of course they are, but that's not the point is it.

Update - As someone pointed out, my player's 'DVD-Blu-ray upscale' facility couldn't have kicked-in as these are all Blu-ray discs whatever is on them, so the digital 'up-conversion 'I strongly suspect must have been pre-processed. Apparently this version does have better colour etc than the DVD - just not the detail you normally expect on Blu-ray and it does look a bit smoothed-out. It could be that the standalone The Shining blu-ray for sale at the moment is exactly the same copy, and If that is the case I'll increase the star rating a little, as it's this would be the best (European) version on offer. Also, to be fair I didn't actually send this set back to Amazon in the end - it probably is worth up to £15 (its 7 films after all), but I don't think it's worth the £23 it currently is now.
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
I've twice been disappointed by the quality of manufacture of this box set. Both original and replacement were faulty. Discs not loading at all, playback freezing and stuttering, menu screens not operating...Such a shame but perhaps the price was too good to be true :(
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse