Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2012
There are a few designers that create something that is timeless and this is one of those designers. Yoji goes into a deep way of thought which is priceless as it give you a afterthought, his fashion is not a slave to what's in one season out out the next but what is timeless. This DVD is something worth watching time and time again as I found my self learning so much.

The creating of the DVD is old school keeping in mind it's from 94 which may as well be a 100 years ago as we have moved so fast in the quality of film making since then but never the less i love it for the words of wisdom from a Master In Style and Fashion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm more interested in film than fashion and this DVD was part of my ten disc Wim Wenders 'Collection'.

Japanese fashion designer Yohji Yamamoto is the focus of this documentary by the German film-maker. He returns to Tokyo, Yamamoto's Tokyo and his fashion studios to see him at work. The thrust of this docu is to be about the Spring fashion show in Paris, in which Yamamoto is taking part.

The title 'Notebook On Cities & Clothes' is so called as Wim always sees far beyond the periphery of what is ordinary, what most people see. This is what makes him and his docu's so fascinating. Both he and Yamamoto compare cities, how cities can be nation-less, "I don't feel Japanese, I feel I'm a Tokyo-ite" says Yohji. Natural comparisons between Paris and Tokyo get discussed too.

Wenders' is never afraid to try new techniques to supplement his visual palette and here he found (this is 1989) that filming the designer at work with normal 35mm film was both intrusive and cumbersome, whereas video was not. The downside, at least then, was the quality, though he's keen to agree but is sure which direction both the industry and his work is going, equipment wise.

Wim will show and run up to two or three small actual TV screens within the main one, showing a general scene, one with the person narrating and another showing that same person working. It never looks too cluttered and without the computers of today must have made syncing them quite tricky.

Yamamoto is happy to chat and philosophise on camera. He seems most at ease leafing through books of old black & white photos of Japanese working people and their practical, working clothing, their faces and body language telling their stories, not the garments they wear. He'll then later compare the Japan of today (well, 1989) thinking that anything it wants and chooses can be simply bought.

If you're a big fan of Yamamoto, or Wenders, you'll give it a higher score than I did. It's naturally dated but remains interesting, rather than riveting viewing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2011
The film is a must for any fashion or film lover. Two genius minds combine and the differences and similarities between the two are revealed. Great for anyone interested in design and passion in the post modern world.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Very, very disappointing..... Yohji Yamamoto is an amazing designer and well work looking at....but not through this film....it was totally dominated by the film maker and only by the film maker's eye and opinion in how he showed YY, which I am sad to say it didn't credit either person at the right level....the way the fashion designer worked and his revelation of his personal feelings and history were fascinating, but not shown clearly enough ...the collections he designed were stunning and ravishingly beautiful, but again shown in a muddle of information and over the top filming obliterating any audio or visual comprehension to understand or enjoy the contents.
The technical quality of the video disc, by which I mean the filming was tragic and impossible to watch, extremely poor quality and therefore un-watchable....however tried to make some sense of it...but appalling the whole way through in technical quality and ideas of telling the story of a most interesting designer....I can appreciate the effort made to give a personal slant on the film, but it didn't do the job for me and would have preferred a straight forward view of a clever designer, allow him to show himself, he was subtle and I think would have been a deeper nd more sensitive film.
If the film maker needs to showcase himself in a different way, okay, but not in this way it's like fight of two personalities, which didn't sit comfortably together and therefore not a successful film...separate it out and begin from there.....of course in 1994 it was no doubt groundbreaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
I was expecting a film about the work of Yohji Yamamoto, whose wonderful and original fashion design I so much admire, but the documentary seems to be more about Wim Wenders (the film maker). There is a really intrusive and grating soundtrack which often drowns out the insightful remarks of this brilliant designer and the irritating split-screen format of much of the film reduces Yamamoto as he speaks and also the catwalk shows to a tiny part of the screen. For me this film is a pretentious failure - hugely disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
one of the finest desgigner biographies ever made. I'd recommend it to any fashion fan. Insightful, full of unseen footage, and moving; a great portrayal of one of the masters of Twentieth Century fashion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
when you take one fashion icon and one great director you get a fantastic product. Two people with a brilliant mind but unfortunately not a businessmind. Both of them went broke but came back. See the most fantastic clothes filmed by someone who loves it all.
thank you Yoshi and Wim.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
the dvd was delivered very fast and as a yamamoto lover the content was absolutely satisfying, outstanding footage from the fashion world in the eigthies and nineties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
Yohji Yamamoto shows you how to style the clothes from the cities ideas from the world.A good fashion documentary. He would do anything where it is at the right time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
Yohji Yamamoto is the fashion-worlds intellectual pro primo. Which makes this documentary a must for fashion writers & readers in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)