Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2013
THIS ALBUM IS EXCELLENT & THE BEST TWISTED SISTER ALBUM BEFORE THEIR SPLIT IN 1988 . IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN THE DEE SNIDER SOLO ALBUM & TWISTED SISTER SHOULD HAVE TAKEN A BREAK . AJ PERO HAD LEFT THE DRUM KIT BEHIND & THE DRUM STOOL WAS FILLED BY JOEY 7 FRANCO - THE MAKE UP HAD GONE . AND TWISTED SISTER LOOKED LIKE ANOTHER 1980s HEAVY ROCK BANDS .
ORIGINAL RELEASED ON ATLANTIC RECORDS IN 1987 IT HAS BEEN RE-RELEASE 25 YEARS LATER WITH A FEW EXTRA TRACKS ON DEMOLITION RECORDS / ARMORY RECORDS / SPITFIRE RECORDS .
CONTAINS THE HIT SINGLE ' HOT LOVE '

EXCELLENT ALBUM THAT'LL FIT WELL IN ANYBODY'S ROCK/METAL COLLECTION.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2006
Many TS fans have slated this album, but being a big big Sister fan, I have to thank my friend who lent me this album, as it was this that got me into Twisted Sister and all their other stuff. It may be 'pop'ier than previous albums, but it still has sing out loud anthems and sweet air-guitaring riffs, and an overall feel good factor. If you've not listened to the TS before, and have 'One Bad Habit' then listen to this album and 'Wake Up the Sleeping Giant' that is Twisted Sister.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
Their best album, even when they don't like it. TS say Love Is For Suckers is "too comercial" and the end of their carreer, but I'm not agreed. Excellent songs, party, what more can you request ?

My favorite album of this band without any doubt.
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2003
A lot, if not most, Twisted Sister fans disregard this album as commercial pap released as the band slowly fell apart. It's true that this release lacks the aggression and punk quality that was contained in the early releases, however I see it more as natural progression for the band rather than particularly selling out. This album would appeal to the Bon Jovi type punter who likes his/her rock a little bit poppier, and it has a distincly 80's stadium rock tang to it. That doesn't make it bad however - far from it, I actually think this is a great album. The title tune is a fantastic song and, despite problems with the band backstage, you can tell in the course of listening to the album that Dee Snider is still having fun. It's a shame that the band ended when they did, but I still classify this album as a great way to have drawn the final curtain.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
It was all over bar the shouting for Twisted Sister when 'Love is for Suckers' came out. Originally intended as a Dee Snider solo record the sound is somewhat of a departure from the rowdy offerings of the past. At its core it's a basic Slade/Kix/Glam Rock party record with polished production (with a big drum sound, that sounds gratingly a bit mechanical throughout) and a great POP art cover reminiscent of Saxon's 'Innocence Is No Excuse'.

But scratch below the surface and the ghost of Twisted Sister's past is not entirely buried. Kick off track 'Wake Up (The Sleeping Giant)' is a tub thumping call to arms for the US, great pulsating beat, great riff and thankfully uptempo - interestingly this song has been resurrected for the Twisted Sister Tour in 2012 and sounds monstrous live. Skip to the title track and you have Dee in defiant mood - again up tempo and delivered with some of the `bad attitude' which is the trademark of their earlier landmark albums. Similarly, the roller coaster song 'Tonight' which was the set opener from the final tour in the 80s, has a great riff work out and album closer 'Yeah Right!' does exactly what it says on the tin - you have to hand it to Snider, it doesn't get more dumbed down and basic than this (and I mean this in a good way).

The rest is a hotch potch of meaningless Glam party tunes which are inoffensive and would brighten up a barbecue on a summers evening. So, in summary - light, breezy, but not entirely ignoring the real Twisted Sister bloodline in places. The extras continue the Glam theme and have the depth of bubble gum - so not essential.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
And so this was the groups last album . Talk about ending on a high. For me the previous outing Come Out and Play was a major disappointment but on Love Is For Suckers normal service was resumed. This is highly polished glam rock/metal also showing influences from Van Halen, early Aerosmith and a lot of Alice Cooper. So what if many of the tracks are poppy anthems. It is feel good metal and I remember the first time I heard it, not being able to get the tunes out of my head. I Will Win ( one of the extra tracks on the 2011 issue) is a catchy, positive revenge themed song and one of the best in the groups repertoire.

This cd version from Armoury is boosted by four extra tracks and thankfully the sound is not as compressed or bass heavy as their reissue of You Cant Stop Rock n Roll. An essential 80's metal album from one of the most under rated rock acts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2000
Dee realy lets it rip on this album, surley the bands best album before their untimley split.
Every track an anthem, you will never tire of this album, even the guitar solo's leave you breathless & wanting more.
The opening track 'Wake up the sleeping giant' starts the album off as it means to go on fast,loud & unmistakingly T/S.
The track 'I want this night to last for ever' is a classic, you will want to play this in your car with the windows firmly down & the volume cranked up to the max
There are plenty of radio tracks on this album that makes it complete, buy this album & your nights will definitly last for ever! Rock on Dee.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
GOODBYE A.J PERO (R.I.P) HELLO JOEY 7 FRANKO .
GOODBYE MAKE UP - HELLO STREET LOOK . THIS IS 1987s TWISTED SISTER .
SOME PEOPLE SAY THEY SHOULD OF TAKEN A BREAK DUE TO TENSIONS IN THE BAND . OR DEE SHOULD OF RELEASED THIS AS A SOLO ALBUM ?
BUT IT'S UP THERE WITH YOU CAN'T STOP ROCK & ROLL / STILL HUNGRY . SHAME T.S NEVER GOT THE CREDIT THEY DESERVED ? AND HALFWITS CRITISIZED THEM AND CALL THEM KISS IMITATORS WHEN THEY ARE FAR SUPERIOR THAN KISS EVER WERE .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2008
its not very often i listen to any other music than Slade but this album is amazing. Forget things such as how it never charted etc. This album has great music. Stand outs are Hot Love, Love Is For Suckers, Wake Up, I Want This Night and the worse would be Yeah Right and Me And The Boys. I also realised that this album was released months later after Slade's wonderful You boyz make big noize and both albums have the song Me and the boys (although different). On the Twisted Sister track it used "me and the boys we make a big noise" which could be a slight copy there?
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
excellent final album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)