Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 May 2017
Great Product I bought to use with Reaper running on Windows 10. However it does need setting up and there's conflicting advice on the web of doing this for Reaper. After following these instructions it worked perfectly:

All you have to do before connecting the nanoKONTROL 2 to your computer is hold down the SET MARKER button along with the main RECORD button, and then plug in your USB cable. This will load the template for Cakewalk Sonar. You’ll notice the record button blinks a few times after it’s connected, to let you know you’re in Sonar mode. Although that template is designed for Cakewalk Sonar, it works perfectly for Reaper, if you set Reaper correctly:

1. Start Reaper of course… and then go to Reaper’s PREFERENCES (CTRL-P), go into Control Surfaces (left menu, near the bottom).

2. Click ADD and Reaper will ask you what kind of Control Surface Mode…. choose “Mackie Control Universal.”

3. Then choose your MIDI input and output to be “nanoKONTROL2”. Done.

Now, once you’ve exited Preferences, you’ll see that the nanoKONTROL2’s buttons respond perfectly in Reaper… all mute/solo/arm record buttons work for every track, the faders work for the track volumes, and the knobs work for the track panning. You’ll also notice the transport controls (RECORD, PLAY, STOP, REWIND, FF) all work in Reaper as well, and of course.. the SET MARKER and marker left/marker right buttons all work, too.

If you have more than 8 tracks loaded (say, 16, or 24), you can use the TRACK < > buttons to navigate your track groups
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2017
Works well in GarageBand, you'll need to install the driver from the korg site. If you were wondering about the settings making your track settings jump about when loading different projects, then worry not, the control doesn't change unless it is latched - for example your track volume is at 0% on the control surface but the volume is 50% in GarageBand when you open it or saved it last time. It won't change until you move the slider up or down past 50% at which point it latches. This was the main question I had and was unsure of - hope it helps someone.

Update - first one I had was returned after it stopped working randomly in garageband. Worked on another mac fine. Korg support weren't very knowledgable.

After the recent big garageband update, I reordered on a punt and pleased to say it's working as before.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Absolutely love this product. Plug and play more a less with a few tweaks in Cubase. Would say it's not for the heavy handed type as the switch are a bit loose fitting. Home studio with care, works perfectly. Smashing it at a live dj set, not so good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
This is a very good product. It was easy to setup, construction looks solid enough and the size is truly great for a small space or for carrying around.

However, I bought it primarily for mixing in Cubase 5 and after hours upon hours of searching the web I can't find a solution to the simplest problem: as soon as you touch a fader on the Nanokontrol, the Cubase fader simply jumps to that value. This completely invalidates this device as a mixing controller.

I've read that other programs have a catch-up feature in which the value in the software fader doesn't move until the physical fader hits that value and then the physical fader sort of "catches" the virtual one. But Cubase doesn't appear to have this feature.

So, great piece of hardware, but do check if it's appropriate for the use you want to give it and the software you'll be working with.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
This USB controller is great for the money. It's not got flying faders, it's not an Avid artist mix, it doesn't make tea, but as a device for creating MIDI for your virtual instruments I can't recommend this enough... All the buttons are completely assignable using the software can be downloaded. Build quality is satisfactory for price.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
I have owned the NanoKontrol2 for 3 months now and I absolutely love it.
It's logical layout is made up of 8 columns each containing a fader, rotary encoder and 3 buttons. It also has supposed transport controls to the left.
The quality of the components though isn't too great, the faders and encoders do feel light and plasticky. However for £44 I really don't care. The controller allows me to program lots of MIDI control.
It's layout is optimised for programming in DAWs however I have only programmed it within Traktor. Using it in two modes - a sample deck player and an FX controller. It works absolutely great and its size means I can pick it up while using and get really creative!
For those starting to want to own some hardware of their own, this is a great option. And for those who want to expand the boundaries of control it is also a great addition.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
I use this in conjunction with Power Mixer software to individually control application volumes on my Windows 10 PC. There are plenty of tutorials online about doing this.
It's an excellent bit of kit that does exactly what I need it to and looks great on my desk while doing so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
This is a very portable, handy little MIDI controller which does exactly what I need it for;

- Extra controls to control FX in an Ableton Patch
- Portable controller to take about with me

But for gods sake, as soon as you get it, glue the slider pots down.

I take it around in my bag to practices and whatnot, and they've all started coming off and getting lost.

I understand they're cheap sliders for a cheap controller, but they aren't exactly 'durable'.

No other complaints though, works well in any situation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Used with Garageband and mainstage - was very easy and great fun. Particularly easy with garageband.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
If space is limited or you want to have something easy to pop into your bag, this is a great little controller. Build quality is better than other mini controllers I've used. Super piece of kit
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)