Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
27
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I've felt that of late that John Foxx has been releasing albums that are variations of the same theme.
What a pleasant surprise then to hear his latest offering in collaboration with Ben Edwards. Each track is tight, snappy and holds the listener in a 4 minute grip. Foxx's early influences & peers are to be found throughout with 'A falling star' reviving a Brian Eno era Roxy music complete with Brian Ferry style vocals. The closing track is for all the world a re-take on the classic Kraftwerk track 'Europe endless' and everywhere are haunting similarities with the 'Reproduction' & 'Travelogue' Human League outpourings and even OMD feel to be lurking behind many tracks. Once you've played this through a few times there's fun to be had looking out for the many homages & nods to the early pioneers of the serious synthesiser scene.
While all similar the tracks are still all inventive and often startle with their ability to mix the heavy, white noise of analogue synth with bass lines that thud through your head and drive everything along at a fair old pace.
Every one of these ten tracks is a song for the lost generation of the late 70's and 80's who wanted their pop heavier, more serious and demanded a level of skill that eluded just about everyone who made the charts with very few exceptions.
I would have gone nuts for this back then and am not ashamed to admit it moves me still. All praise to Foxx who has so skilfully returned to his roots and even his old keyboards and yet still managed to produce an album that feels fresh and new in style while leaning heavily upon a past to be proud of.
If you want to remember just how it felt when you first heard 'Metamatic', 'The man machine', 'the pleasure principle' or 'Travelogue' then look no further. Ten tracks of nostalgic delight & wonderment await you.
44 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
John's best work for sometime sees him return to the analogue age of sublime electronica that will have you addicted to the album from the very first listen. Reminds me of raw old skool Ultravox through to the established eerie sound and fantastic Metamatic. Not a bad track here and easily a brilliant 5*
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
This is an excellent album. It has the freshness of the real "Ultravox!" And also seems to capture the essence of "Metamatic". Having said this the album has a very contemporary feel with excellent production, thoughtful arrangements, lyrics that only John Foxx could write and nice grooves - it does look back, but with the interest in creating something new and fresh. I have the vinyl copy that is nicely packaged (would have been a nice touch to have included download codes, but it is reasonably priced compared with some vinyl releases) so thanks John for an album with an excellent artistic vision. I have also purchased the second album so will review soon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
I have been a fan of John Foxx since the very first Ultravox album and the song The Garden is one of my all time favourites. Here in New Zealand our record stores are nearly all top 40 trash so I was so thrilled to see John continues to make music through this amazon site. This is the 4th album I have purchased and I am glad I did, it ticks all the right boxes.Right from the start I enjoyed Shatterproof and it is the last song The Good Shadow that quickly became my favourite. I would recommend this to any John Foxx fan its fresh, with complex tunes and just enough hooks to pull you in,Hope one day he will make it to Christchurch for a live gig.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
How about his best period. Let's not forget that it is a collaborative work with Benge who deserves the accolades as well. Everyone who likes their bleeps served with human emotion....order this now and never look back.
I challenge anyone out there to come up with a track as beautiful as A FALLING STAR. According to a recent interview with Foxx, he might be sitting on another album's worth of material recorded during these sessions??????
Please release soon, beauty like this is really needed in this world. I take walks and listen to this album, and I just keep going and going and replaying and replaying and appreciating what it is I see out there. Truly wonderful and I doubt anything will beat this release this year.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
Interplay is the first album from John Foxx and The Maths - a collaborative affair with synthesiser guru, Ben Edwards. After four years of instrumental and collaborative releases or compilations, Interplay sees a welcome return of John Foxx's often overlooked talents as a vocalist and lyricist.

Interplay opens with "Shatterproof", a dark and menacing affair. "Catwalk" boasts a typical Foxxien cinematic lyric. The upbeat "Evergreen", echoes early Depeche Mode, and provides a timely reminder of what a damn fine pop lyricist Foxx can be when he wants. "Watching a Building On Fire" features a duet with Ladytron vocalist Mira Aroy. One of the other many standout tracks is "Summerland", possibly the most addictive track on the album, with Foxx's harmonic vocals soaring out of your speakers during the chorus. "A Falling Star" is another key track and the most moving piece on the album.

Close followers of Foxx's work will find many of the lyrical themes reassuringly familiar, although musically, although Interplay is no nostalgia trip, bearing little resemblance to Foxx's previous work. At just 42 minutes in duration, Interplay is an ideal length and easily accessible. Analogue synths have never sounded so relevant, and this feast for the ears is testament to the longevity of these classic machines.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
John Foxx never fails to deliver and this time its with The Maths. This is what synth/electro music is all about melodic,Hypnotizing and this time heavy on the Bass. On listening you can hear influences from Kraftwerk and Depeche Mode to name just a few. This is fast becoming my album of the year so far and I can't wait to hear some of it live at the Troxy along with Motor,Mirrors and Gary Numan on the 2nd April. A real treat Thanks John Brilliant "TAKE YOUR MEDICINE"!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
I have been a fan of John Foxx since year dot... mostly he always impresses and delivers excellent material.This this album is simply majestic and anyone who likes electronic music should buy it.... quite simply it knocks spots off the the latest offerings by Blancmange and Human League (who I also admire)...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
Another album that goes in a different direction musically. Some of the tracks need to be listened to attentively as they do meander in various directions and the same sound wise. But, I think this album will get to grow on anyone who takes the time to spend time understanding it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
I pretty much have every Foxx disc going back to the Ultravox days and this is a great addition to the collection. I've really enjoyed the recent Louis Gordon collabs...there's a different vibe on Interplay, maybe due to the old-school analog instrumentation, but, well, it's John Foxx...same themes since forever, same great voice, etc. Maybe I could contrast this to the Louis Gordon collabs by saying it feels a bit less forced. If you like synth-pop, this Foxx reunion with his old gear is a no-brainer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.21

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)