Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
101
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The front cover of my dvd case says 'A dark wondrous poetic tale' and that's exactly what it is. I'm sure some film buff will correct me and tell us all that it's based on some long forgotten silent movie by a director we've never heard of but to me this seemed completely original and fulfilled its description of wondrous. The storyline is simple, whilst the world sleeps our dreams and nightmares are fought over by good and evil potrayed here by the Storytellers and the Incubi who inhabit an alternative world. One night a random character called 'Ink' kidnaps a small girl and takes her into this alternative world as a sacrifice to the Incubi so that he can be accepted by them. The story follows the Storyteller's efforts to rescue her and what is going on in the real world. The fact that this may be low budget never becomes apparent through its intelligent use of sets and effects. The film is presented in full screen and the soundtrack is moody and significant. This film may never get a box office release and I suspect a lot of viewers wouldn't get it anyway. If you like a good story then buy it and see for yourself.
22 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
Ink is not for everyone. But it is for an awful lot of people, and you're probably one of them. Made on a budget of $250K, you'll be in wonderment over what has been achieved. Yes there's a overly long latex nose, but even this has a purpose (cue the directors commentary...).
But lets not focus on that, as many of the other costumes, set-pieces and effects are staggering considering the aforementioned budget.
Not convinced? Well, after viewing you will be, as during the film you'll be captivated by its beauty, action and developing plot. What appears to be sometimes random silliness or strange events will all make sense at some point, especially the end. Thats if you're lucky (or clever?) enough to get it the 1st time around. I have seen it a number of times (approx 8) and only just given it a rest, and im not your average serial watcher.
I feel I should include a warning though, so here goes: If expendables was your top film of 2010, do not buy this, it probably won't be your cup of tea (or can of artificially flavoured fizzy drink). Action yes, but there is a brain to be engaged in this experience.
Because for the viewer, there are lessons to be learned in Ink, and what better class can one take than a bold, poetic, creative and very well acted 107 minutes of film. Lets not call this a movie, lets stick with film.
I know I have not really explained much about the storyline, but why bother? If you crave some plot information above some healthy risk then read another review, as frankly im tired of trailers showing me way too much these days.
Oh yeah, the soundtrack compliments too, its a perfect haunting fit.
So what you waiting for, this independent film deserves your money and time.
Are you still here, the buy button is to your north..
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2011
I bought Ink on one single recommendation from a stranger on a forum here on Amazon. I've never been so pleasantly surprised by a blind movie purchase in my life!
Ink is an independent film, not with an enormous budget, but it doesn't stop it from being an incredible film with gorgeous visuals. You can see how much work went into every single second of this film. This movie stands out among everything else I've seen in a long time. Absolutely unique. The acting was fantastic, especially the acting from the young girl Quinn Hunchar, playing the character Emma. The ideas were original, the characters interesting, and the plot was engaging. And the ending... prepare for one hell of an ending. And some of you will need to keep some tissues close... A description on the back of the package compares the movie to Brazil, Donnie Darko, The Matrix, Dark City, and Pan's Labyrinth. I would definitely group it in with those films, although it is not a ripoff of any of those films at all.
Quick synopsis: there is another world, a dream world where two sides are fighting to control our dreams. Some our bringing us pleasant dreams, and others, the incubi, are bringing us nightmares. A battle ensues over the soul of a little girl named Emma, trapped in their world while in a coma... and the deciding factor falls on two men: John in the waking world, Emma's father, and Ink, a rogue warrior in the dream world, fighting to rid himself of his scars and shame.
This movie is absolutely incredible, please do yourself a favour and check it out.
33 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
A good independent film made on a low budget with contributions from hundreds of people --What's not to like?
Well in places it looks like a made for TV film with poor lighting and inconsistent dialogue. The soundtrack is basic at best and some of the acting wooden. The special effects are creaky and several scenes are disjointed;(like early Dr. Who!!)
It's not the Matrix or Inception but it has merit in terms of its ambition and plot.
For me, to get this movie made for less than $500,000 is a monumental achievement when one considers the money wasted on efforts such as Transformers and Wrath of the Titans.
Some of the film reminded me of Mirrormask and perhaps Pans Labrynth where Dark & Light are in conflict with a young girl at risk.
In my opinion it is worth viewing
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2016
This is a good attempt at something different, a kind of cross over of fantasy and science fiction. Yes it does fairly obviously have a low budget, and does show strong influence from the Matrix films and maybe some 80's fantasy movies like Willow, Dark Crystal. It does try to be something different, and have some interesting elements, things going on with the script.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Certain films can touch both the heart and soul. They don't come around that often, but this is one of them. Started to question why I was watching it at the begining, but was pulled in by the class acting, everything came together, I was pleased I watched this. To be honest I can't fault it. Watch and enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
I highly recommend this film -
Visually it is stunning- some beautiful camera work and use of light tone and angles.
made on a small budget- but every frame has used as much as it could and in the end has created a film that is enchanting- mysterious and captivating.

Synopsis-
As the light fades and the city goes to sleep, two forces emerge. They are invisible except for the power they exert over us in our sleep, battling for our souls through dreams. One force delivers hope and strength through good dreams; the other infuses the subconscious with desperation through nightmares. John (Chris Kelly) and Emma (Quinn Hunchar), Father and Daughter are wrenched into this fantastical dream world battle, forced to fight for John's soul and to save Emma from an eternal nightmare. Separate in their journey, they encounter unusual characters that exist only in their subconscious. Or do they?

Ink is a high-concept visual thriller that weaves seamlessly between the conscious and the subconscious. Ink has been hailed as the new "it" movie and compared to cult classics Brazil, Donnie Darko, The Matrix, Dark City and Pan's Labyrinth

Believe the hype-
this is a movie to own.
And a Director to watch out for.-
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
This film was put together on a budget of £250,000. It features no big movie stars or fancy special effects. For some reason none of the major studios wanted to get involved with it so Jamin Winan's own independant film company produced and distributed it to independant cinemas, the DVD market and video on demand websites. This movie is a testament to the ongoing value of indie cinema. These obscure film makers are the ones who provide much needed relief from the big budget, often predictable blockbusters with the big stars and fancy special effects......... and so...... to the film.

Ink is a real gem and for the aforementioned reasons flew under the radar. Having also seen 'Frame' it's clear that Jamin has a very particular style. The different palettes and coloured filters he uses in addition to some of the whacky characters, costume and general strangeness all puts one in mind of Terry Gilliam and one of his creations. That is no bad thing in my book as Terry is also a great film maker and has always had a singular vision.

Jamin has obviously got a wonderful imagination and in this film explores the world of dreams where the souls of the dreamers are fought over between the 'storytellers' and the 'incubus', the good versus the evil. The inner voices that battle within us in every day life are given a voice within these two groups, the positive and hopeful voice battling the negative and pessimistic one. The main characters, a city trader and his young daughter are at the heart of this battle. Beyond this the audience is left to unravel the story for themselves. The plot is definitely not spoonfed to the audience there being only a few occasions where the plot is expositioned for 30 seconds or so before reentering the strange and bizarre dream world. Unfortunately, this extreme ebb and flow between dialogue and no dialogue was a little jarring for two thirds of the film before it improved and got the balance right in the last third. This won't be to everyone's liking as it requires patience and some effort to stay with it. The pay off, however is worth it.

I have to give credit to the 2 leads who play the father and daughter. His performance was quite moving in places and throughout had to display a fairly wide range of strong emotions and uncomfortable parental situations. His part was certainly believable and it didn't take long to invest in them and really care about what was happening to them.

It might seem strange that in a film about loss and grief, and that wasn't a revenge movie, that there would be some pretty good action sequences........ but there was! The choreography was quite balletic and because they existed in a fantasy dream world it just worked really well.

I expect in years to come, if not already, 'Ink' will have a cult following. If you give this film a chance you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Yes this film won't be full of mind blowing Matrix effects but it has a solid enough story to help look past that. I really didn't expect much from this film when I bought it and just thought I'd give it a bash. Its pleasently surprising, the bad guys are odd but do have an air of fright about them. Ink is a decent enough character as well, hes also quite odd... its just an odd film to be honest but is worth your attention as its a very good odd film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
A real oddity this; what appears initially to be a dark and twisted fairytale actually ends up as a straightforward tale of one man's redemption. There is some strong language throughout so I certainly wouldn't rate this as 'kids' movie', however I can see the appeal to a teenage audience, as there is a decent blend of action and ideas. I agree however with the reviewer who described the film as 'soulless - it's quite hard to engage with what's going on and I didn't feel the characters warranted any kind of emotional connection with the viewer. Overall an interesting idea with a mixed execution.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49

Need customer service? Click here