Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
8
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2011
With a string of big hits and a successful first album making the leather-clad, pants-wearing Suzi Quatro pretty much a household brand for rock and roll rebellion outside of America, the pressure was presumably on to produce another rocking screamer that would continue the momentum. The result - 1974's `Quatro' - is, like many "difficult" second albums, disappointing.

Though again sporting slick rock production and a number of compositions from the Mike Chapman/ Nicky Chinn team, this effort sadly replaces the song-writing of Quatro and guitarist Len Tuckey with a host of covers of 50s and 60s staples - though they are, admittedly, stirlingly executed.

Chapman and Chin contribute `The Wild One', `Too Big', `Savage Silk' and the bubble-gum stomp of `Devil Gate Drive', all of which Quatro commits to with screaming melodic zeal, while adding three more big hits to her catalogue. But the covers are mostly too boringly chosen to really showcase her talent. `Keep A-knockin', `Trouble' and `Shot of Rhythm and Blues' tend to leave her sounding a bit like a female Elvis impersonator. Though, `Move It' is a driving, adrenaline-fuelled rocker and the soulful rendition of `Hit The Road Jack' is an unexpected and brilliant surprise. While Quatro/Tuckey were not at their rock best with the boogie-styled `Klondyke Kate' and `Friday', the heart-achingly tender ballad, `Cat Size' is not only a high point, but it helps make `Quatro' worth a purchase.

The whole thing has an update-the-50s-with-a-modern-70s-polish feel. But, other than in her obvious powers as a rock interpreter, `Quatro' lacks any real stamp of Quatro as an artist. In fact, its dearth of self-penned work, in addition to the continued pro-written singles, is probably one of the major reasons rock commentators discount her as a serious artist.

That said, this Cherry Red 7t's remaster package is superbly done. It sports the original British song list which opens with the slow version of `The Wild One', long missing in action from CD, a particular bonus for Australians (the Australian version opens with the rock version). The inclusion of the Quatro/Tuckey b-sides (including the outstanding `I Wanna Be Free') also serve to flesh it out and elevate the collection above the limits of the original album.

This is a bit warmer than the previous Australian remaster (2004) and sports the added bonus of very interesting liner notes, full original cover art and a collection of the various covers of the singles when they were originally issued around the world. It is fantastic to see this treatment being given to Suzi Quatro's 70s recordings. Let's hope it continues with `Your Mamma Won't Like Me' and `Aggro Phobia'! Very much worth a purchase, if mainly for the cover art and to finally have the epic slow version of `The Wild One'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
About time, The Wild One slow version gets on a re-issued cd in the UK.

I would say all the European Suzi fans are happy about that. This cd sounds great remastered as does her debut album, both re -released March 2011.

Just waiting for Rock Hard Suzi's 1980 album to be re-released and remastered hurry up 7t's! :) ask Suzi herself about this she owns the rights to it!

Well done 7t's with the whole cd. Great pics and story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2011
This Cd re-realsed is certainly a welcome addition to your Suzi Q collection, and with the extra tracks it makes even more of a great value for money spent purchase.
The first Cd is also available to buy, so purchased them together for a full on trip down memory lane.
I do hope they will put out the other RAK Cd's also for the complete collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
I have been listening to this album Quatro by Suzi Quatro since 1974. At first I listened to it on RAK Records (perfect vinyl of the 70's), then much later on BGO (CD). Then I ordered this remastered Cherry Red Glam 7t's CD. I was looking forward to receiving this disc, and then I received it at last, and began to listen to it. And suddenly instead of habitual, quick, beautiful The Wild One I hear for the first time some awful, slow, absolutely uninteresting to me version of this song. The real The Wild One presents among the bonus tracks on the CD, still my disappointment was great; if I knew I would never bought this CD. Whatever they say, whatever whoever say they spoiled one of my fafourite albums making it's first song this slow, awful version of The Wild One, sounding like somebody's cover version. Amazon should have warned in their description that it is not the usual British version of the album. It is very unfortunately I will have to program my player every time when listen to it to make the real The Wild One the first song of the album.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
As we are seeing more and more in music today. Artists are putting their own stamp of approval on songs that where great and can be great again.

Some might think or say that this album is disappointing to the first one because of all of the covers, but I take the view that it was in a line of alot of great rock n roll albums that helped cement, the trade mark name that we gave this little lady when she started in 1973 "The Queen of Rock n Roll"

This second album of Suzi's titled "Quatro" adds flavour and texture to her style and shows us what the first lady of rock can acheive and she also again shows the men of the music business, that chicks can rock just as good as them even with a small dish of blues on the side.

Thanks for reading...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
With a string of big hits and a successful first album making the leather-clad, pants-wearing Suzi Quatro pretty much a household brand for rock and roll rebellion outside of America, the pressure was presumably on to produce another rocking screamer that would continue the momentum. The result - 1974's `Quatro' - is, like many "difficult" second albums, disappointing.

Though again sporting slick rock production and a number of compositions from the Mike Chapman/ Nicky Chinn team, this effort sadly replaces the song-writing of Quatro and guitarist Len Tuckey with a host of covers of 50s and 60s staples - though they are, admittedly, stirlingly executed.

Chapman and Chin contribute the rockers, `The Wild One', `Too Big', `Savage Silk' and the bubble-gum stomp of `Devil Gate Drive', all of which Quatro commits to with screaming melodic zeal, while adding three more big hits to her catalogue. But the covers are mostly too boringly chosen to really showcase her talent. `Keep A-knockin', `Trouble' and `Shot of Rhythm and Blues' tend to leave her sounding a bit like a female Elvis impersonator. Though, `Move It' is a driving, adrenaline-fuelled rocker and the soulful rendition of `Hit The Road Jack' is an unexpected and brilliant surprise. While Quatro/Tuckey were not at their rock best with the boogie-styled `Klondyke Kate' and `Friday', the heart-achingly tender ballad, `Cat Size' is not only a high point, but it helps make `Quatro' worth a purchase.

The whole thing has an update-the-50s-with-a-modern-70s-polish feel. But, other than in her obvious powers as a rock interpreter, `Quatro' lacks any real stamp of Quatro as an artist. In fact, its dearth of self-penned work, in addition to the continued pro-written singles, is probably one of the major reasons rock commentators discount her as a serious artist.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
Thank you i loved it we love old ones like Suzi
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
It was excellent. The CD came on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)