Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
2,106
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews(3 star). See all 2,106 reviews
on 11 July 2017
short seasons but gave it another go and bought season 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
so far so good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
This is really entertaining fantasy and with obvious shades of Tolkien in its general concept. The only thing that really blows me away, in the worst possible sense, is the rampant misogyny. Even the strong female characters are made subservient in one way or another. What is it with these big-budget series adaptations? Do they think their only demographic is men aged 18-40? Get the memo; women are your most creative audience and it won't hurt to give them some cerebral consideration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
will not get any more as they are toooooo violent and gruesome and display a weird concept of the way to treat women.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Okay but nothing to rush home for, too much gratuitous sex scenes, began to grab my attention toward end of season one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
I finally got round to watching Game of Thrones, on Blu-Ray I got as a gift. I am not really convinced. The acting, costumes and sets are excellent, the story line has potential and there are some intriguing fantasy elements that ought to be given some more focus. I am indifferent to the sex and gore. The main problems are the story line and the characters, unfortunately neither rises above your average soap. I may watch further seasons if and when I am bored and have nothing better to do, but so far it hasn't pulled me in all that much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
don't really see what the fuss is about. cruelty, bloodbaths, nudity and not a particularly enthralling story.
series 2? maybe, if I have nothing else to do. I am not curious to see the outcome. each to their own I guess.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
This series is a complex production with about half a dozen intertwined stories as is typical in literary sagas. While it makes reading the book a wholesome experience, I found only a few of the stories interesting in the series (in particular the subtle central government politics and the bellicose queen of dragons). There are otherwise many long and useless parts and I had to skip over some of the stories that are utterly boring (minus one star) such as: the Bran and Hodor saga, the little life of Samwell Tarly, the flashbacks in season 6. Most of the battles are quite poorly done. The dialogues are well written. The cast of a 1000 celebrities is really excellent. The series is worth watching for two extremely good performances: the ever absolutely delightful Emilia Clarke and the sublime Peter Dinklage. Several others are nothing short of superb: kudos to Conleth Hill, Lena Hadey, Iwan Rheon and Aidan Gillen. Sadly, there is one really bad actor in the lot that stands out like a goat in a bar: why did they give Kit Harington such a big part is beyond me (minus one star, literally he is so bad that I skip over his parts). He is playing a considerate, half wit, impulsive and violent character who is treated as a hero, surely a sign of the times. But he plays it badly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
What was all the fuss about?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
When everyone told me this series was 'brilliant' and 'one of the best ever' I should have known I was headed for a bit of a fall. Although enjoyable I can't quite see why people are so enthralled with it.

The series is certainly well acted with an excellent cast. The costumes are magnificent ranging from luxurious to mangey. The special effects are really good with stunning locations. There are some amusing and moving moments. The plot can be predictable at times but there are enough shocks and surprises to keep you interested.

The plot takes a while to get going. I didn't really 'get into it' until the fourth episode, partly because there are so many characters and areas to cover. This does make keeping track of things, including character names and relationships, difficult. There are some violent bits which I found okay. There is of course quite a lot of bad language too but I feel people could get used to that.

My main gripe with this series (and I would be giving it a much better rating and higher stars without this) is the amount of nudity and ridiculous sex scenes. The scenes added nothing to the plot or characterization, they were not romantic or entertaining, they were cringe-worthy and embarrassing. Some were completely non-sensical. Sometimes this series came across as more pornography than a fantasy/medieval saga. I lost count of the number of scenes where men were talking about war and were suddenly interrupted by giggling women walking in from the back with their breasts out. In a couple of episodes I feel I've seen enough flesh and fornication for a lifetime. And don't get me started on the amount of incest taking place!

Overall I enjoyed this series but admit to being disappointed about several aspects. If just a couple of things were changed it would be much stronger. I would recommend renting before purchasing as I feel there are many people that would find this series uncomfortable viewing although I know many would love it. If violence, swearing and large amounts of nudity/sex aren't for you I suggest you avoid! Maybe I'm just old fashioned. Despite this I can't deny I'm curious as to how series 2 works out...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)