Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2017
Had to write a review having read some others.
I bought this cd quite some time ago, and i can tell you it is superb. The problem often encountered with bands like survivor is that the songs are a bit wishy washy and are recorded in a flat way, which makes for a very bland album. That is, if the recording was sharper etc. the songs would probably sound much improved, Also of course, Survivor were a fairly low profile band until Eye of the Tiger which of course was huge.The problem then is that a band suddenly propelled into the musical stratosphere are under pressure to keep writing and recording classic songs. The record company applying appropriate pressure to keep the momentum going. Not necessary here. The songs are all classy, and the recording is sharp. Indeed, there are some superb classic songs on the album. Survivor themselves have said in the past that they wanted to be seen as a rock band and not a rock ballads band, and this album is a perfect blend of both. If you havent heard it, your missing out, believe me.
Quite simply a classic album. In my opinion, their best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
Quite simply the best album by one of the most underated rock bands of all time. The sound and production are amazing. I would have to say that the recording is as good as I have ever heard. My fave tracks are `She`s a Star` (terrific guitar by Frankie), `Here Comes Desire` (very very catchy rock song), and `Desperate Dreams` (a single with a killer melody/hook). There are no filler tracks!!!
Mickey Curry on drums shows again what a class act he is and Jimi Jamison`s voice has never sounded better. This album should have been huge, I don`t know what the record company were doing but they really messed up by not getting behind this like they should have.
A timeless classic...........BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
Recruiting Jimi Jamison to replace the ailing Dave Bickler proved to be a masterstroke as his muscular vocals gave 'Vital Signs' the punch that earlier Survivor albums lacked. Following up that classic with the spotty 'When Seconds Count' meant that 'Too Hot to Sleep' had to be a near classic in its own right. And it delivers in spades!! The title track, 'Didn't Know It Was Love' and 'Across The Miles' are worth the price of admission on their own. The other tracks may pale by comparison to those gems but for any other band they would be stand out songs. If you can find a copy of the album at a sensible price, buy it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2007
This album is arguably their best ! Each track is classic Survivor with Jimi Jamison on lead vocals. 'Didn't know it was love' and 'Desperate Dreams' are the strongest tunes, followed closely by the title track 'Too hot to sleep' and the haunting 'Burning Bridges'. Well worth a listen !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
I have every survivor album - and this as got to be the best of the bunch (though Vital Signs is pretty close!).
After listening to the tracks on this album it got me thinking - are Survivor one of the most underrated bands ever? Unfortunately, I'm afraid this is the case ..... most remember them for the tracks Eye of the Tiger, Burning Heart - and maybe even American Heartbeat. But I think any Survivor listener will agree .... these are not really the best the've produced - though, pretty good in their own right.

I can't praise this ablum enough .... every track is an absolute gem .....

The one track that really stands out for me though is track 7 - Across the Miles.

This I find is a hidden classic .... a real tear jerker , sung from the heart. Immense and absolutely out of this world.

If your missing someone - and you can't see or hear them - listen to this - I guarantee if you listen to the lyrics properly, you'll be in tears.....

In conclusion ..... I would say if you only buy one survivor album, make it this !!!!!

STELLAR MUST BUY !!!!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
Well it was many years ago when i became a survivor fan, i had always liked the punchy sound of survivor, this album from 1988 proved to be their swan song, what an album! its sad to think this was their last until 'reach' years later! every track a class act!! no matter what mood your in this album has it. my favourite is track 1 shes a star!! turn that baby up its survivor at their most rockin!!! but as mentioned this is a class album from start to finish!! right that said im off to listen to it now!! well worth the price for a timeless band!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
I have to say that Survivor was and still is one of the unluckiest bands ever. After this great and tottaly ignored album they splet in 1989 and could never get back together properly for more than two decades. Problems, problems, problems !! The next album (Reach) was released in 06 or 07 after long delays.. Then they slow down again , and finnaly Jimi Jamison dies...! What tragedy.... We have to wait an' see what will happen next... SAAAD! !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
This Cd was ordered for a friend who has only just started to go digital. They are very pleased to now be able to listen to music that they have loved for years, but had to wait for radio stations to play their favourite tunes. This was a great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
Too hot to sleep, the "lost" Survivor album : one of their best, Jimi Jamison rules and the guys rock like beasts, check "rhythm of the city", more balls than an entire guns n roses album ! buy or die ! BUY OR DIE !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
Another excellent album from Survivor. Survivor at their best with a great combination of tracks. If you like Vital Signs then you'll love this album too, a must buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)