Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2017
The clever mouse was a joy to read .I read it about 5 times. I've rated it 5stare because there are a lot of books on this kindle but this book is the best book it best by far
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
It's a really funny book and the pictures are lovely,I loved reading this book.It's amazing and Suitable for kids.

From Miss Joyce,9,OXOX
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
my six and a half year old daughter read this book on Kindle. she enjoyed it very much and described it as the 'excitingest' book she has ever read!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
This is a horrible book about a man, who is only trying to feed the birds in his garden, and a mouse who is a thief and a bully. Being a spiteful mouse and not content with stealing food, the mouse goes on the attack when the man tries to ensure that the birds, for whom the food is intended, are fed. He attacks the man for no reason. If he is so clever he could have gone on stealing the food without having to attack the man.

Compare this to something like The Gruffalo, where a clever mouse uses his brain to outwit bigger creatures who are trying to eat him. In that book the mouse is in peril and being bullied. He is clever in his defence and comes out on top, but does not attack or hurt anyone. The "Clever Little Mouse" is about a bully who uses his "clever" brain to attack someone who is trying to do something nice for the birds. The mouse's situation is not one of hardship where he is forced to steal. He is depicted as having a nice house and a good situation. He is not attacked and forced to defend himself. He doesn't even need to attack the man to get the food, he just wants to. Is this a morale you want to teach your children? If someone tries to protect their own property, or the things they are giving to others (in a completely non-violent way), you should attack them?

The clever author conveniently missed out the true ending where, having no food to eat thanks to the Mouse stealing it and the man no longer putting any out, all the birds migrate leaving the garden a barren place with no music or singing. The Mouse, now starving, is forced to seek food in the traps that the man has put out. Being malnourished and unable to think straight, he is no longer clever and is caught in a trap. (You may have got the picture that this Mouse is not a likeable character.)

Needless to say, I never read this book to my child. It may be very cheap, but I suggest you save your money and buy ANYTHING else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
Dreadful and not child friendly. Have deleted from kindle already. Will not buy from this author again. dont waste your money!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
It's not very well written, goes into too much detail about how the feeder is put in place and the mouse's cunning plan.... my 4 year old wasn't very interested in it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Didn't work at all well on my Google Nexus 7 tablet. Each screen showed an image and the text from the previous image.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
I liked it when the mouse set up the booby trap. The mouse was really clever when he used the skateboard and the bucket of water and I really loved him. I think other children should get this book because it is very good that someone wrote it. I think everyone should give it 5 stars.
James age 4 1/2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 July 2011
The story is nice, but it has been let down by the poor conversion to Kindle. The illustrations are on the amateur side, and don't align well with the text. Some pages have a picture and text, other have a lot of text, and some have just one line. This makes the flow of reading quite difficult.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
The story and the pictures in this book are incorrectly aligned so it makes it very difficult for children to follow. The constant flipping of pages back and forth to look at the pictures which support the text detracts from the pleasure of reading to children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse