Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2012
I was keen to see how one of Ozu's colour films held up in high definition. The transfer is fair, but still affected by age and source issues - there's some print damage, heavy grain, some instability (particularly on cuts during scenes). But overall there's a little level of detail on display than the DVDs of Ozu's films and this really allows his unique style and composition to shine. It's really a beauty to behold.

Most of Ozu's films are quiet and slow-paced, but for some reason I found this more transcendental and melancholic than his others - perhaps because it came so late in his career. There's a distinct world-weariness to the central characters and a sense of mortality that's less present, in my view, in his earlier films. It makes for quite a mature and rewarding experience to watch.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
I believe this is one of the most enjoyable films I have ever watched. A masterpiece of observation and understatement with tremendous good humour intrinsically linked in there. I am not going to outline the plot other than to say, like all later Uzo films it is a magical description of everyday life with understated drama and all the better for it. You simply have to see it and wind yourself into the Japanese psyche which is entirely different from the the cliche they appear in many instance top be laboured with.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
Always a delight from this Japanese master, best served in a mellow mood with wine and a cosy armchair.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Item arrive in good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
According to the (short but informative) booklet, the original title of this film means 'The taste of Sanma', where Sanma means mackerel pike. The film was made in 1962 and is Ozu's last. I think it may be my favourite. All the Ozu elements are there: the usual actors, the theme of marriage, the influence of Western culture, relations between generations in post-war Japan. Despite using the same actors (in different roles) and themes through the films, they never become tedious. In 'An Autumn Afternoon', a father (played by Chishu Ryu) living with his grown up (24 yrs old) daughter and younger son is gradually convinced by his friends that the daughter should marry. The daughter is not too interested, she wants to take care of dad, and the father is dependent on the daughter like a housewife. I don't know why this is my favourite Ozu, maybe because the elements are here blended in perfection, and the mix of comedy and sadness (marrying away the daughter is not an easy thing for Ryu). Here is also the bar scene where patriotic war music is played and made fun of, Japan having moved on from the rule of Hirohito and towards consumerism.
The world Ozu conjures from his usual actors, and also using the same studio props as in other movies: the office, the corridor, the home etc, is quickly drawing the wiever inside. I become involved in the social play, problems and relations and they make me forget that the same actors and setups are re-used. This world is also very patriarchal: the men have their (more or less important) jobs and they meet every night at bars for sake and whiskey, discussing how to manage their families. But at the same time, Ozu uses strong women who sometimes put fathers and brothers in their place and make fun of them. Anyway, the insights in a different culture is fascinating.
The picture of this Blu-Ray is amazing, of course it will never look like a new film with sharpness and so on. But it looks sharp enough and with nice film grain, and the subtle colors used in early colour films. If you have the slightest interest in Japanese film, or in Japan, or in cinema in general, you should watch this.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
This was a good DVD recording and the sub-titling was also clear and easy to follow. The booklet which came with the disks was very useful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
The last film by Ozu is one of his major masterpieces - and the copy in blu-ray magnificente. A must!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
I couldn't pay these disks on both Blue-ray player and PC!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)