Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2014
I love Sherlock Holmes - whether in print or on screen. Being too young to have watched the Basil Rathbone TV versions, nonetheless the Jeremy Brett version of Holmes for me is the definitive TV version of Doyles' masterpiece. Benedict Cumberbatch/BBC do a fine job, but they reinvent the stories & characters a little too much for my taste.

That being said, which of the 77p (at the time or reviewing) collections do I buy. Previously, I had the Holmes stories in their free, public domain format, but the option to get a collection of all the stories, in the correct order & from the Doyle estate was too good a chance to miss!

I looked at this collection & a number of the others & finally decided it would either be this version or the Maplewood Books; 2 edition (29 May 2014), ASIN: B00DCD53C2 and proceeded to get both sampled to our Kindle Touch.

As good as the Maplewood Books collection was, it didn't come up to this one. In this edition, you not only get the full Table of Contents navigable from the Kindle - with no omissions/issues as reported in earlier reviews (as with Maplewood), but you also get some nice "real book" enhancements with Doyle's signature & some lovely illustrations. I felt that the typography was also superior in this version.

No doubt about it, if you want all of Doyle's Holmes stories in easy to read, organised format for your Kindle device or app, then this is the collection to go for.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Excellent stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
Read the whole lot, even the short stories at the end that don't feature Sherlock and found them highly entertaining. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Read the books as a youngster and now I can enjoy them again on my Kindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
It goes without saying that the Sherlock Holmes stories themselves are superb; if anyone has not read them I strongly recommend they do. However the Kindle version has some failings that I feel bound to point out to would-be buyers.

1. As another reviewer has commented that for some reason the stories contained in the books `His Last Bow' and `The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes' aren't indexed in the table of contents, which is rather irritating if you want to find one of them and can't remember where it lies. This is further compounded by having some of them out of order. In most cases this will not matter much, but here there are some which have to be in a particular place because they allude to earlier stories.

2. It has a small number of illustrations, which is nice, but none of the maps and handwritten messages that can be found in the printed copies of the books are there. Not the end of the world, but the maps in particular were included for a reason: to help the reader follow the story. To omit them while including other illustrations seems rather odd to me.

Having said that, at under £1, it makes a very good buy, and benefits from the usual features of an eBook: text whose size can be altered to suit the reader's eyesight and so on. Just a bit of a shame about the above points: I hope this may one day be rectified by the publisher.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
This eBook really needs to be considered in two ways: first, whether the Holmes stories and novels are a good read, and second, whether this is a good packaging of them.

The stories and novels are, in truth, something of a curate's egg. The characters of Holmes and Watson are brilliantly drawn, while the people they encounter give an insight into the 'types' (retired colonels, distressed gentlewomen etc) who populated England around the turn of the 20th Century. The mysteries are intriguing (how did the murderer get away without leaving any footprints on the other side of the moat?), Conan Doyle's style is surprisingly brisk for the period, and the action surprisingly physical at times, with Watson not shy of packing his revolver on a dangerous mission.

However the stories often seem too short, and to involve little more than Holmes being presented with a mystery which he instantly solves before being quickly proved right (this could be a context problem, as they may have seemed different when read as a quick bite of Holmes from the pages of Strand magazine). That said, they're addictive and each one can be read in a few minutes, so they're ideal for dipping into. The four novels, on the other hand, show that Conan Doyle was perfectly capable of pacing himself for a longer format, and read very well. The best is the Hound of the Baskervilles, which thoroughly deserves its classic status.

As a packaging exercise, this eBook has two flaws. The first is a big one; the lack of individual contents-page entries for the stories in the last two collections ('His Last Bow' and 'The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes'). This makes it very hard to find individual stories (although I suppose you can bookmark them once you have), and is fairly unforgiveable given how little work would have been involved in adding the links while preparing the book for publication.

The other flaw is that in some collections the stories are out of order - in most cases this doesn't matter too much, but in the 'Return of Sherlock Holmes' collection it does, since 'The Adventure of the Empty Room' contains the actual reappearance of Holmes after his supposed death at the hands of Moriarty, and really should be the first in the set (but isn't).

All in all a terrific, enjoyable and surprisingly modern read. At this price you can't complain too much about the presentation, but since there is another collection available for the Kindle at a similar price, minus the Tales of Terror and Mystery but with contents-page links to all the stories, it might be worth looking at that one too.
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
I wanted a cheap and complete version of Holmes for my Kindle and this book delivered. A note that the errors mentioned by earlier reviewers (some books listed in the Table of Contents not hyperlinking to the stories) have now been fixed; the ToC is now fully interactive. A good collection with excellent format, except for paragraphs not being indented for some reason.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
Conan Doyle's masterpiece needs no review from me - like Coca Cola Holmes is a 'brand name' known world wide. This edition is well presented with pleasing illustrations, but why on earth are two of the collections (His Last Bow and the final Case-Book) not indexed like the others? For those who know the canon this is not a problem but newcomers (lucky people!) may not realize that there are 20 stories hidden away behind these two headings. Everything is here however and although this work is all in the public domain and available elsewhere it is convenient to have the complete works in one file at a reasonable price. The text is nicely justified and laid out better than the free versions I have seen (fills the Kindle screen well). Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
For some reason the publisher has removed all paragraphs which makes it very difficult to discern conversations, etc.

I amend to say that it is filled with misspellings and misprints too. Not a worthy collection by anyone's count. Please buy another copy elsewhere, otherwise you will endure the murdering of a classic collection by a heavy handed printer!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse