Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
488
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2013
I bought this for someone as a present as they wanted it for a while and the only ones they could find were expensive hardback copies. They were very happy with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
If you have not read LotR or The Hobbit, chances are you won't like it. But if you have, and are interested in the history behind Tolkien's two most major works, then you will enjoy and appreciate it. It is, however, a tough read by most standards; it lacks the light-heartedness of LotR and TH, and is much more depressing and gory. The language is dense, and reads like most old epic poems.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
l9ove the hobbit, lord of rings books have them all, was only one i had not read , glad i decided to read it, very good read, recommend to any lord rings fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
this worked really well as a present for my mum as she is a fan of tolkeins work, she enjoyed reading this book immensly and recommends it to any other fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
Brilliant background and scene setter for The Lord of the Rings, this book brings to life some of the references and characters mentioned in the trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2003
If you buy this book expecting it to be another "Lord of the Rings" or "Hobbit" you will be brutally disappointed. It reads more like a cross between a religious text and a history book. Relative to Tolkien's novels it is very uncompelling and does not fire the imagination in the same way. If you want stories that are similarly compelling and imagination-firing in their fantasy elements, I would suggest you browse Amazon's "Fantasy" books section and look for a highly rated novel there.
However, if you are a big Tolkien fan who is keen to learn more about the world that J.R.R. built so brilliantly, then this is a must for you. The detail Tolkien put into his world building is truly amazing. But bear in mind The Silmarillion is not a novel, and can be a heavy read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
Not a reader by any stretch of the imagination, but as an avid LOTR fan I thoroughly enjoyed this. Definitely worth reading if you'd like to learn more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about Tolkien's fantasy world. I urge any fans of 'The Hobbit' or 'The Lord of the Rings' to read 'The Silmarillion'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2001
If you liked the Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, then you must read the Silmarillion. It is an amazing book, such depth, such imagery. It really does seem like you are reading ancient mythology.
But it is difficult to get into. Get passed the first few chapters and hopefully you will be rewarded by a unique and amazing work of literary.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I came late to being a Tolkien fan, but, am making up for it now! Outstanding book and arrived in a timely manner and in absolutely perfect condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse