Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
66
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2017
Its a b-movie, so it was never going to be brilliant, but its ok for what it is. What does make me laugh is the blurb on the back which says "Stunning special effects". They are awful quite frankly, and the 3D serves actually no purpose either.
Its all pretty predictable, but it is relatively enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
Its an ok move but did they have a budget of $100? CGI is so bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
DVD OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Got here quick just what I needed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
As you may have guessed from the cover, this is another car gone bad movie. This car not only can repair itself, but can change into another type of vehicle. The low budget aspect of this film only allows us to "see" the morph once. Most of the time we just see it as one car one moment, then when the camera goes back, it is suddenly a different car! Oh the magic of cinema! Unlike Christine this car kills indiscriminately.

When the car was in an accident it is towed to the police garage where the night crew must combat the vehicle. Shannon Beckner stars as Tilda, a female mechanic with a jobless boyfriend, a nephew (Ryan Kennedy) who also works at the garage and their overbearing boss, Ray (Oded Fehr of various Mummy and Resident Evil movies ). We all want to see him die next. He provides the inner conflict within the crew because harmony in battling a man eating car isn't enough drama.

Tilda comes to work in her tank top and puts on a dark blue work shirt. After an incident involving said car, the blue work shirt suddenly disappears and she is back in the tank top. Oh the magic of Anchor Bay movies!

(Plot spoiler?) They manage to get the hood pried open and lo and behold we have the film's meager special effects as we see some sort of creature lives under the hood. They surmise this creature has evolved while living along side of a road, to the point it can change forms for hunting humans. Ray doesn't want any help hunting this creature, and prefers that the garage mechanics do it to the dismay of Tilda. Melanie Papalia, as the secretary is the other eye candy of this film for those who like fish nets.

The acting was good considering the weak plot and being an Anchor Bay movie. No Mercedes were harmed in the making of this film.

No sex. No nudity. I don't recall any F-bombs, but don't hold me to it.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Since the dawn of time the creature's have lived alongside man-kind undetected, they prey upon man's
natural instinct of curiosity.
One of the creatures currently disguised as a car becomes involved in a smash with another vehicle and
is taken to a garage.
What happens has been witnessed by one of the garage staff members, has it's cover been blown ?
Two of the staff have already fallen victim, to the shape-shifter, a man-eating car ?
Now the being has a need to finish the job, there are four remaining prospective victims within the
premisses.
The remaining staff have seen a little of what the creature does to it's victims, they decide to try and
prepare a trap for the unexplainable predator.
Trouble is, the prowling creature has so far out-thought it's intended victims.
Trapped inside their place of work they'll need another plan of action if they are to survive.
Though a low budget offering it's actually an okay watch (not to be confused with the 'Stephen King'
classic 'Christine')
It does have a few tense moments and will almost certainly hold your attention.
Picture and Sound Quality is Good (The disc has both the 2-D and 3-D version)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 February 2012
The latest `horror bad guy' to grace our screens is a car - a car that kills people. Um, and that's about it. I could leave the review there. If you can deal with that concept you may just like the film.

Said nasty car is trapped in a large garage (certainly not your average Kwik Fit) with people who, for some reason, are equally trapped IN with it as it is with them. I watched Shark Night 3D recently - a film about killer sharks. Now, the thing about sharks is that they're kind of constricted to water and not too good on land, in the air and anywhere else. Hybrid is a bit like that. A car is only really good on flat roads, but, luckily for the metal monster, our hapless heroes find every excuse to sort of run around a bit in front of them.

It has all the horror clichés you've seen in all the other horror films out there. It's pretty daft and the acting is questionable - certainly in the first third (I was contemplating whether it was actually a foreign film and had been dubbed, but you get used to it as it goes on). You have the sensible woman, the daft plank who wants to catch a monster car instead of leaving, cell phones that don't work and an ensemble of unlikeable characters who you won't miss when they start to attack a large metal beast with a bit of wood (or something equally questionable).

If you've seen a film where a beastie stalks a load of slightly inept people, you've basically seen this. If you fancy seeing idiots stalked by a car that sees the world as if it was a Predator alien, give it a try. Now, if you'll excuse me, I'm off to buy a bike.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 February 2016
 This 2011 fantasy sci-fi horror [aka: Super Hybrid, aka: Hunter] focuses on a malicious shape shifting car that devours its victims but when it is involved in an accident it is towed to a police precinct garage where they soon realise it’s not a standard car and it’s not long before it starts killing the mechanics as it tries to find a way to escape.
If you expect this to be a ‘Christine’ or ‘Duel’ clone, it isn’t. For a $13,000,000 budget it’s got some good features like the ‘infra red’ type view from the car and is well filmed, maintaining a high pace throughout. Some of the gung ho rhetoric lets it down, but the acting is good overall and considering its set in a multi-level garage, this generally keeps you on the edge of your seat. Just pay attention to the explanations and it doesn't seem so ludicrous a concept, most critics don't seem to have listened.
The single disc opens to 3 trailers before going to main menu offering play, scene selection and special features [which is only a single trailer! And don’t watch it till after you’ve seen the film].
This has some tense moments and a good eerie sound track which adds to the atmosphere. It may lack gore and buckets of blood but it doesn’t need them and still has some jumpy moments and as a 15 rating this has to be a ***** on entertainment value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
This film has to be taken as you find it. It's about a car that kills because its actually an alien life form that can change shape. It is explained in the script that its similar to a sea creature that can mimic its surroundings but its very daft indeed.

Anyway, the car is in the garage for repair but it repairs itself and starts killing off the mechanics. There is enough to entertain over the 90 minutes but its not going to win any Oscars. There is a twist at the end after the car/alien has been destroyed.

There was some character development between two of the characters but it goes nowhere and seems intrusive because you don't get a happy ending.

Of course all these characters had to do was run up the stairs and they are safe. But I guess there would be no film if they did that!

Extras: Trailer
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Hybrid is a good film it may not be to everyones taste but personally I enjoyed it, yes its dumb yes the acting isnt going to earn the actors oscars but thats not what or why I enjoyed this film. The film reminds me of other vehicluar horrors such as "The Car, Duel, and lest we forget Christine", which is no bad thing the movie was made with next to no budget but there was still an eerie suspense to it the 3D dosent exactly put the TV through its paces but there are some nice touches I did feel though that given a larger budget and better cast this film would have been better hence 4 stars. Movie gets 4 stars for pretty good film, average 3D but the price less than £4 has to be a winner!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)