Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
43
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2012
This is a very likable collection of ballads by Nick Cave, for those who cannot take the crazy noisy songs he sometimes used to compose for the Bas Seeds the best choice. It compiles a collection of dark and beautiful ballads in the old tradition of the ballad itself: tales and stories about lovers, murderers and death together. My favourite tracks are undeniable "Stagger Lee", "Henry Lee" with the beautiful singer PJ Harvey and of course the all time favourite "Where the wild roses grow" with Kylie Minogue". A very likable album, too bad, it's only that short!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Not for the faint hearted but this is totally gripping for those prepared to enter the depths of the killer's psyche. Nick Cave grasps the words by the throat, twists the notes so they shriek with pain and terror, and yet there is a strange beauty in all this horror.
The musical experience is total; every note, every nuance is essential. Thrilling, compulsive, fantastic!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
The classics stand out like Stagger Lee, where the wild roses grow and Henry Lee. Some other fun with murder and music in others like The curse of Millhaven and Lovely creature. Works great as an album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I bought from here as finding this item was very difficult on the high Street the price was competitive delivery to the door saved on running around wasting petrol all in all cannot fault , a full five star service well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
stagger lee is so awesome , and thats just one track. A serious peice of music , deep and dark and wonderful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
Absolutely phenomenal, lyrics are a little odd, but that adds to the albums brilliance, with each song also a story, you can't help but listen to them over and over again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
obviously heard of him but metallica covered him so I bought this and its great but scary. a sick mind at work
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
I love Nick Cave and never tire listening to him. I can't say this is my favourite album, but I'm glad i added it to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Exceptional collection of ballads best known for the Kylie contribution but do not let that stop you buying this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2001
This album is an assortment of covers and originals. My understanding is that the tracks were collected over a number of years, and have been gathered together here as an album of murder ballads.
There are some great songs on this album, but there are also weak tracks - O'Malley's Bar goes on for aeons and other tracks like Crow Jane sound like they could have been around since The Firstborn is Dead (not necessarily a bad thing, but this doesn't help the album to gel as a whole).
Much has been made of fact that, in spite of it's morbid subject matter, this album is riddled with black humour - true, but this may be found in subtler forms in all of Nick's work. Some songs sound like a parody of how the Bad Seeds are often perceived.
This has been one of Nick's most successful albums, but is not one of his best. The greatest hits is a better introduction to any newcomer, showing the sheer breadth of lyricism and musical vision that the Bad Seeds are capable of. Here, they are restricted by the stifling task of producing a whole album of murder ballads and by material that has been culled from a range of times and places, with the result that this is does not stand up as self-contained album in the way that, for example, The Good Son, Tender Prey or The Boatman's Call do.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.