Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
116
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2017
Personally i really enjoyed this film it's a classic oldskool ninja betrayal and revenge storyline with some great martial arts and lots and lots of blood spillages pretty much throughout. Although classic in storyline etc this film includes some more of the modern style special effects which makes this film stand out slightly higher in the the non realistic ninja film genre. Yes, a small amount of the acting is slightly poop but a lot of other films in similar genre categories have much worse acting within them than this film. Overall, it's not absolutely superb by any means but as a fast paced ninja martial arts film that's full of blood and dismemberment, the moments of poor voice acting isn't enough for myself to rate this movie less than 5 stars as it meets the genre so well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
I just watch this film, I thought it was very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
good buy, well worth it...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Best film ever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a no-brainer action flick and visual spectacle, Ninja Assassin is a cut above above other sword wielding martial arts films.

The film is very gory - delighting in over top, gushing blood, and limb and body part severing. In fact, the opening scene made both my flat mate and I jump out of our skins. In some ways in fact, this is almost some sort of martial arts horror; with the way the ninja hide in the dark and then pounce, delivering scares, and the afore mentioned gallons of blood.

Aside from the gore, Ninja Assassin is just an all out martial arts action. There is a lose sort of detective story and back story going on throughout the film, but really it's just all about the action - of which there's plenty, and which is pretty good too.

The fight scenes aren't outstanding technically, but they are dramatic and over the top in a sort of Hollywood way: with CGI effects used on weapons, and to create visually satisfying shots, splattering blood, and dramatic decapitations - that sort of thing. And as for the use of weapons, it's much more a martial arts film where steel is the focus as opposed to feet and fists, and the array of ninja weapons used are cool to watch.

Blu-Ray provides the perfect platform for all these effects. My copy was crisp, clean, and great to watch - giving you a chance to really take in all the effects and fights - even though a lot of them happened at night or in the dark. The colours were vibrant in the opening scene and in the monastery flashback scenes, and all in all, I think this format really compliments the film.

The acting leaves a lot to be desired but it's bearable. And I'm not sure if it was more down to the director, rather than the actors themselves, as all the cast seemed to be suffering from the same bad acting disease. The main character and his ninja lord do have a case for being a bit emotionless and stiff on screen though, as all during `training' it was drummed into them to be emotionless. It makes killing easier, see.

Ninja Assassins isn't the best martial arts film out there by a long shot. By a looooooong shot, but... it might be the best action-packed-no-holds-barred-hold-onto-you-seat-chain-weilding-gore-fest-martial-arts-flick about. So if you enjoy martial arts films and want a film that mixes something like `The Marine' and `IP Man' this could be for you.

I enjoyed it. My flat mate loved every second of it. I'm stuck between giving it 3 and 4 stars. I think it deserves about 3.5... overall, I'd score it at about 7/10. I'll be watching it again.

If this review was helpful please give it the thumbs up - if not, comment on why so I can do a better job for you next time. Thanks :-)
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
I've read quite a few of the reviews on this site and have to say it never ceases to amaze me what people expect why they buy a move like this. Just so we are clear, the film is called 'Ninja Assassin' and its about a secret society of ninja's who carry out assassinations for 100lbs of gold, and then I read reviews saying 'you have to suspend belief...' - you don't say!! It is not meant to be a true story and quite frankly if you bought this thinking it had any kind of basis in fact or you were looking for something deep and meaningful then more fool you, I would suggest you read the product description a little more carefully in the future.
Its not going to win any oscars and I fully understand that it wont be to everyones liking but I think its grossly unfair when people award 1 and 2 stars just because they failed to realise what the movie was about prior to watching it. My 5 stars may well be a little generous but I just wanted to balance the scales a little bit.
All I would say is that if you liked the scene in Kill Bill (volume 2 I think) when Uma chops limbs off left, right and centre in the restaurant then this is probably for you as the violence is not dissimilar although perhaps even a little more blood thirsty. As far as I am concerned its a good switch off movie to stick on when you've had a few beers and if thats you're kind of thing you'll love it, if you want something 'believable' then perhaps look elsewhere.
77 Comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you like martial arts movies you should love this one and especially on blu ray.

This movie is about a clan of ninjas who are trained from children for one reason, to become the ultimate assassins for hire.

Without spoiling it for you. . . .one of them escapes as he's sick of the life he's being forced to live but it's one of those once you're in you can never leave efforts! A bit like where I work :)

So, present day and he's an adult and still being chased down by the ninja clan he left! They never give up.The visual and audio CGI fest on bluray is brilliant. Whack your speakers up and prepare to duck, dive and dodge the hundreds of whizzing shurikens, Katanas, knives and Kurasigama (which he is rather tasty with!) and every other martial arts weapon you could ever think of! All great stuff indeed!

The speed and skill and stunts involved in the fight scenes and the number of combatants at any one time, ie-the bloke versus all the ninjas, is fantastic (in my opinion).

A great movie, you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
REVIEWED VERSION: 2010 Warner Bros. US Blu-Ray

Director: James McTeigue

Cast: Rain, Ben Miles, Naomie Harris, Sung Kang, Yuki Iwamoto, Linh Dan Pham

Production: US/Germany 2009

SYNOPSIS

The Ozunu clan is abducting children and turning them into assassins, one of them is Raizo (Rain), who eventually turns his back on the clan, after some of his friends are murdered by the clan. He ends up not only being hunted by the vengeful Ozunu clan, but also by Europol investigators
Maslow (Ben Miles) and Mika (Naomie Harris), as he leaves a bloody trail through Berlin, Germany, closing in on his former sensei.

THE PROS & CONS

NINJA ASSASSIN is in my opinion a masterpiece in the ninja genre. A very Americanized ninja movie, but a masterpiece nonetheless.
Yes, it features unrealistic over the top CGI gore and splatter effects, but it works as long as you do not take it too seriously and enjoy it for what it is - a great action movie.
Never mind that most actors playing the ninjas are Korean or of Korean descent rather than Japanese, they all do a decent job. Rain as Raizo is pretty good, not an Oscar-worthy performance, but that's not what action movies are all about, now is it. His martial arts performance looks great however and I prefer seeing him than Iko Uwais in THE RAID.
British actress Naomie Harris does much better as Europol agent Mika. I also liked Ben Miles as Maslow, both agents give believable performances and are well-cast.
The fight choreography is superb and the fight scenes look amazing, so is the excellent cinematography by Karl Walter Lindenlaub, especially the scenes in the dojo.
NINJA ASSASSIN is the second film by director James McTeigue, whose debut was V FOR VENDETTA. I like his style here, well-paced and action-packed, but the story (by Matthew Sand, screenplay by J. Michael Straczynski and Matthew Sand) does not take the back seat.
I liked the way the ninjas are portrayed - just like shadows with much mysticism, bordering on the supernatural (like I said before, do not take this film too seriously!).
I really enjoyed NINJA ASSASSIN and if you are into this genre, I am sure you will LOVE this film.

ON A SIDE NOTE

- produced by Andy Wachowski and Lana Wachowski (THE MATRIX)

- J. Michael Straczynski (creator of BABYLON 5) co-wrote the screenplay. He was hired by the Wachowskis to completely rewrite the script six weeks before filming started because they were not satisfied with the original script

- Rain was a Korean pop star and had no martial arts training prior to NINJA ASSASSIN

- the fight scenes were staged without wires or digital finetuning except for shadow-blending VFX

BLU-RAY DETAILS

Feature running time: 98:40 mins. (uncut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 / 16:9
Audio: English DTS-HD MA 5.1 , French 5.1, Spanish 5.1, Portuguese 5.1
Subtitles: English SDH, French, Spanish, Portuguese
Extras: The Myth and Legend of Ninjas Featurette (18:56), The Extreme Sport of a Ninja (10:07), Training Rain (9:52), Deleted Scenes (7:43), Warner Bros. BD Live Feature, Trailers to other movies
Region: Region Free

Picture quality: 4/5
Audio quality: 4/5
Extras: 3/5

The picture is sharp and detailed and looks great, albeit not flawless. Great DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 fares slightly better and is quite impressive.
There are three featurettes which are interesting for one-time viewing and the 7 mins. of deleted scenes, but overall the extras fail to impress.
A good quality blu-ray nonetheless.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
I wasn't expecting anything, I've become so jaded with films, that I really go in with zero expectations anymore.
I only want one thing from my movie, and that's to be entertained. Any time the movie starts making stupid mistakes, insulting my intelligence, that entertainment is lessened. Poor scripts, boring dialogue, bad acting are just some of the things that ruin so many films these days.

Action movies just seldom have any of the hard to put your finger on magic of the 70s and 80s action movies. Sometimes these managed, despite some bad dialogue and less than stellar acting, still turn out to be hugely entertaining.
This movie, reminds me of the good old days. Yes, so some of the dialogue leaves a little to be desired, but fortunately, there really isn't a whole lot of it, enough to just provide what's needed to convey the story.
Yes this is a story that's been done before, but damn it, it's one of those ones that gets you behind the protagonist and wanting to see a just demise for the antagonist.
And that's it essentially I think. So many much higher budget movies, provide poor actors with poorer dialogue, and you simply just don't care what happens to anyone. Worst case scenario, not only do you not care about the protagonist, you don't even care about rooting for the antagonist either, and when cast members are summarily offed, you couldn't care less.
Thankfully, in this movie, yes some mediocre acting is involved, but the ones that matter, specifically the two that matter, I DID care about, and I did want to see someone get his, and someone else be the one to ensure it happened.

Every time something with a sharp edge, or pointy tip connects with something that isn't indestructible, it's an over the top joy to behold, just like the good old days, only here, done in a somehow more believable fashion. I say "somehow", because you and I both know, that if a splinter gets in your toe, it doesn't bleed in a manner that has you fearing for your life. Every time a flesh wound is inflicted, blood flies like a major artery was opened up. Every time a shuriken misses it's target and hits a wooden post, that post splinters apart, sending deadly wooden projectiles that look like they may do the job the shuriken set out to do.
Limbs are severed cleanly, with a satisfying fire hose worth of blood, heads fly and even torsos separated from the rest of the body. Because it doesn't focus on any of the mutilations occurring for more than a split second (due to the fact that so many happen so very quickly during any given fight scene), the high level of gore somehow doesn't seem unnecessary. It's all just a gloriously over the top action movie, and I WAS ENTERTAINED!

I loved it. What's not to like? There's ninjas, blood, more ninjas, more blood, some kind of plot involving a lot of ninjas over the last 1,000 years, flying limbs, flying scenery, flying blood, shurikens, swords, chains with knives on the end and ninjas.
If that's not enough to persuade you to give it a look, then I don't even know why you are reading this, since in the title, it's pretty clear that this movie may include something about a ninja. It is aptly titled.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)