Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
9
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2017
Amazon's only sent me Sanshuro Sugata, superficially about self-discovery and judo.
It's a very underexposed digital remastering, almost making the film unwatchable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
totally happy with both the items ordered and with the Seller!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2011
The BFI have done a great job here - bringing together all of Kurosawa's early films together in one box set - six films on four discs. These films are generally considered to be Kurosawa's "apprentice works", made in very difficult wartime circumstances. As such, individually, they may be of primarily historical interest, but brought together as a collection they provide a fascinating overview of Kurosawa's development and Japanese cinema of the period. Although made in tough economic conditions, the films are technically quite accomplished. The prints are sometimes a little scratchy & ragged, but very watchable - it's a miracle they survived at all. The sudden switch from wartime patriotic propaganda to post-war American Occupation propaganda might be disconcerting, but doesn't seem as opportunistic as expected - the wartime propaganda is mostly rather low key, while the post-war films seem not so much pro-occupation as verging on the communist. Or maybe there is an underlying continuity in Kurosawa's cinematic style & sensibility regardless of ideology.

Kurosawa's debut "Sanshiro Sugata" (1943) is a martial arts film about the conflict between judo and jujitsu. Doubtless the film was extolling the militaristic "purity" of Japanese martial arts, but it comes across as sensitive & exciting, prefiguring the later famous samurai films. The climactic closing combat scene on a dark windswept hillside is really impressive. After this success a follow-up was demanded - apparently Kurosawa was reluctant & it shows, but after a slow start & some clumsy xenophobic propaganda "Sanshiro Part Two" improves, building to another memorable fight scene.

"The Most Beautiful" is about a group of women factory workers struggling to meet increased wartime production quotas. This is an unadulterated propaganda film & may be cinematically and historically interesting, but I imagine most viewers will find it hard to take. More accessible is "They Who Step on the Tigers Tale" (1945) a traditional Kabuki tale of lords disguised as monks trying to make their way to safety. The film seems quite strongly influenced by a classical "Noh" style. Made towards the end of the war, it had the honour of being banned both by the Japanese military government and then by the American Occupation authorities. In the accompanying booklet, critic Philip Kemp is lukewarm about the film & its mix of traditional & comedic elements, but I thought it unusual & interesting.

As for the post-war films, "One Wonderful Sunday" is an uneven love story but "No Regrets For Our Youth" (1946) is a real stunner. Starring Setsuko Hara in a role rather different from the Ozu films for which she is known, it is a melodrama about Kyoto University activists struggling against the militarists & going underground during the war. It surely goes way beyond what the American Occupation wanted, being a complex (if propagandist) radical leftist film. Might it even be said that Kurosawa himself "sold out", like some of the characters in the film, when he abandoned this radicalism at the end of the 1940s for "humanism" and more mainstream filmmaking?

Overall, the films in this box set are of obvious historical interest, but for the most part they also stand up quite well as watchable films in their own right. Well done BFI!
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Films:
Okay, so the four films as a whole aren't as memorable or influencial as Kurosawa's greatest, more respected titles, but they're still an enjoyable watch and an interesting insight into Kurosawa's early filmography. Though a select few are borderline propaganda (admittedly "The Most Beautiful" is, reflectively, 100% Japanese ww2 propaganda) - all films are entertaining. Personally I found The Men Who Tread on the Tiger's Tail to be the most enjoyable.

Contents (subtitles, extras, transfer quality),:
No image issues here, the subtitles are good, too. The extra's aren't great, however. A nice booklet is included, and some rare cut scenes from Sanshiro Sugata are also featured, but overall, for a BFI investment and project, I expected a little more for such a project.

Overall:
The lack of extras aside, I am utterly enthralled with this purchase: it's nigh on impossible to find a copy of The Most Beautiful and Sanshiro Sugata Part 2 in English, For approximately £20, you're spending £4 per film, which is a reasonable and worth-while investment. Don't knock this aside for cheap imports from Korea or China: this is all you need. The quality of film and subtitles will confirm this for you.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
don't know this is a present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
These are wonderful films. I didn't even know they existed. Charming, intelligent, beautiful. Enough to make me love lovefilm. signed by Howard's wife, but Howard agrees
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
All films are good and enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
I do like many films made by Kurosawa. And then I am curious about his productions in general.

I don't like this - also in general:
When I by collections of film the content of the collection it is not always written at the your homepage. I would like to know each title of the film in the collection before it enters my home address.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2011
The early films at last available to see. The basics of Kurosawa's films are there duty and family. I would recommend them.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)