Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2010
Coming from a Secondary point of view...
I found this book quite dissapointing, there are some great ideas which are somewhat lost in the comic style of writing which may suit some people but i just found really irritating. There are also lots of ideas that seem irrelevant for most teachers (like PE games and thumb wars) or would take so long that you'd lose 2/3s of your lesson to something that doesn't achieve anything academically constructive.

There is also a lot of padding: the first 3 are "say hello", "have a drink" and "get naked" (seriously!). Some activities will also leave most people looking like an idiot, so you have to be the right kind of teacher to be able to get away with them. These ideas are placed around some real gems and this book would have benfitted from retaining the fab insightful ideas and losing the '101 activity' target.

However, some of the activities i dislike may be great in a primary classroom. In that case, some disinction should have been made between primary and secondary/both activities to make the book a bit more navigable. Overall though, this book has moments of genius and is worth buying and sifting through for that reason.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2009
This book has been a god send and i use it regularly with my current year 7 pupils. On entry to the class there is a ten minute teaser on the board...most of which are taken from this book, and to date all activites have been a great success. This then allows me to log onto the computer, get books out etc.... whilst keeping the pupils entertained and more importantly on task and having fun!!!
I cannot rate this highly enough, a very well written and funny book...BUY IT!!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
Each of the activities in the book is broken into 3 sections: when, why and how. Some are ideal for the beginning of lessons, some are great ways to energise a flagging group and some are excellent ways to help the students revise and remember as a plenary.

They're all given clear reasons as to why they'd be beneficial in the classroom which range from: 'a superb energiser which is great for concentration, hand/eye coordination, group morale and is competitive has hell' to a page full of sensible reasons that are great reminders of what teaching can be about. The 'hows' are easy to follow and most of them don't take much preparation; those that do take a bit more to organise are well worth it.

The author's humour shines through at all times and I can imagine that his students always have a great time and learn more than they realise. It's fun with a purpose - there are lots of activities that encourage whole brain thinking, taking responsibility, challenging how we think and helping them remember their work.

It's obvious that an awful lot of work has gone into gathering all these ideas together and it really is a treasure of a book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2012
The concepts in this book are ideas to break up lesson, little engerising games. They are not ideas for teaching concepts and really are ideas you can get from google.

There is little educational applicability from this book. I believe it is for Ks1 and ks2, this book is not a secondary teaching book.

If you want a book to help you teach better try something like..... Doug Lemovs books. They will helpyour students progress in a lesson and help you become a better educator. This book is not helpful in my opinion.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2010
A good selection of activities to motivate and surprise a class. Some great ideas to dip in to - I'm not sure about the massage though (it could lead to a riot with my classes!)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
An enjoyable resource which provides a plethora of activities that can be easily used in the classroom. Excellent to dip into and pull out an activity for the class.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
Best little book of classroom tasks to motivate and delight a class. Have used some of these little gems and they work amazingly well. Top Marks!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
I teach primary age children. All age groups love these activities. Surprising results in performance after a few days for all abilities. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Some basic ideas, which I find may not work in the classroom for me. The ideas tend to be spread out over a lot of pages when the idea could be expressed in one sentence.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
I wish I had read the other reviews before I bought this. It was a total waste of money. Most of the ideas have no educational application or value whatsoever and are designed to make your classes really hyper. In my experience, most classes need to be calmed down not rocketed up. It is very obvious that the writer is not a teacher. Teachers should have more confidence in themselves and not allow their management to arrange for non-teachers to come to their school and tell them how to improve. How can a non-teacher earn a living from advising teachers? It's insane.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)