Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
160
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2017
I loved this and all of the spooks episodes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Good if you like series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
not my cup of tea could not understand the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Couldn't be more pleased.!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2006
Spooks is a fantastic series, and season 2 was simply awesome. There are some amazingly tense episodes, such as the VX gas episode, and the finale leaves on the edge of your seat, waiting for for season 3. The characters are developed from the first season as you see how the spy game takes its toll on their personal lives.
Spooks is kind of similar to 24, but runs at a slower pace without losing the tension. The script is measured and deliberate, with a limited amount of jargon. The focus is on the story and characters, with gadgets used sparingly and never dominating this superb series.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
I have to say that is a great great series! its filled with relay intense and varied episodes!
The way that you see development of characters is very well done and the way that it all feels very realistic is much better than the latest few series (8 and 9) as they feel like a team of super hero's saving the day every time, where this series is much more human and true to life!
However i felt that the way the dvd were produced let them down at bit. As none of the dvd were numbered you never knew exactly which episodes you had on each disc and I, personally, got very confused.
Also the navigation menus were quite hard to navigate and the intro to that get repetitive with the same bit of video every time you play the dvd!

but over all a great piece of tv, just not such good dvds!
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2004
Since watching Spooks from about half way through series 2, I have loved every single episode. I straight away got hold of the first series boxset to catch up on all I had missed.
The only disappointiong thing about this is that it seems to have taken so long to come out that I was losing all hope of it ever being released!
The story lines are brilliant and the characters are equally as great.
What I think makes this programme so good is that it shows the more realistic side of the secret service..the side James Bond could never really get away with! It's realism is what helps make it so good because of the fact that you can actually believe that there are people who do this job for a living.
Buy it and if you haven't got the first series, get that too because they are both just fantastic!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
The DVD menu system gives a clear indication of this show's target audience; essentially the "video game generation". That isn't meant disparagingly, and I must declare straight away that younger members of our family absolutely love this series. For an "old fogey" like this viewer, "Spooks" doesn't have quite the same appeal but, nonetheless, it does what it does well and provides an entertaining diversion on evenings when there isn't much on the gogglebox (which, these days, means most evenings!)

One requirement on the part of the viewer will be an ability to take the whole thing with a pinch of salt (or even a whole packet full!) The stories range between the fairly implausible to the totally far-fetched, but that doesn't really matter as "Spooks" is at heart an old-fashioned adventure series, designed to take the viewer on an exhilarating ride to an exciting climax. When it sticks to this brief "Spooks" works very well, but it is less successful when inserting scenes about personal relationships; these are rather cliched and break the overall flow. Also, occasionally, the programme tries to explore the moral ambiguities and political issues which face those involved in spying, but this is done in an embarrassingly simplistic way. You need a Graham Greene or a John le Carre to do this properly, and the writers for "Spooks" are definitely not in that league!

"Spooks" is served by a hard-working, competent cast who manage to breath a fair amount of life into what are mainly two-dimensional characters, and they deserve special praise (particularly Peter Firth) for managing to keep a straight face when delivering some of the riper dialogue. The makers also make use of every dramatic cliche in the book, as well as unashamedly referencing famous scenes from blockbuster films (spot the idea nicked from "The Godfather" in the penultimate episode!), but it's all done with great panache and, for the most part, very well paced. It is not going to place much demand on one's intellectual faculties, but "Spooks" is an entertaining romp and it is easy to see why it became so popular.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2007
Season 2 of Spooks starts off in explosive fashion as you'd expect. The first episode sees Tom struggle to keep his work life separate from his home life and when one blurs into the other Tom's girlfriend Ellie and her daughter Maisie are caught in the middle.

Season 2 of Spooks is a round-robin of terrorists, hacking, robberies, suspicion and lies......basically it has it all. Each episode is gripping in its own right but episode 10 (the finale) is of course the one that leaves you begging to know what happened next. Infuriating isn't it? I won't spoil the surprise but will suggest that if you enjoyed the painfully short first season of Spooks then you should order season 2 and get your Spooks fix pronto.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)