Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
170
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2011
Full of mind-blowing and fascinating facts and theories. It's difficult to dismiss the author's proposition that advanced civilisation dates back thousands of years earlier than is currently the "official" view and that these early civilisations may have been virtually wiped out by the catastrophic flooding and volcanic and earthquake activity accompying the ending of the last Ice Age.

But I do wish the book had been properly edited. It is full of repitition and is not presented in any sort of logical order. It could have been 30% shorter. Nevertherless well worth reading.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2004
Fingerprints of the Gods seems to be the type of book that is either loved or loathed, either convincing people utterly, or leaving them mocking its credibility. I don't particularly stand in either camp.
Although many of the theories are interesting, and even possible, they are probably not the answers to the mysteries highlighted and the questions asked. Just because there are flaws in accepted Egyptology, that does not mean that a race of super humans built the pyramids.
Hancock raises some very good points, and finds fascinating correlations in the themes of ancient myth. Unfortunately the conclusions he comes up with leave many more questions than you were faced with in the first place, and seem a bit too far fetched to be totally credible. His opinions may point to a different truth than that accepted by the close minded members of the archeological and scientific community, but in taking things too far into the extreme he will not be taken as a credible source by those he seeks to challenge.
The ideas put forward left me with the same feelings I have when reading conspiracy theory websites or books - it all seems possible, but when all weighed up after the event it just all seems too unlikely to wholly believe.
FOTG was definitely an interesting read, but rather than changing my life, as others have stated, it just changed the way I view ancient prehistory and the way it is perceived by modern scholars.
11 comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 July 2007
Whether you subscribe to Hancock's theories or not, there is no denying that this is an excellent read, thoroughly well-researched and written in an engaging and involving way.

Personally, I felt that the book should have sought to ask some of its questions without then feeling the need to speculate wildly to answer them. Nevertheless, it is a fascinating read and this new edition is worth the money even if you have the original.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2000
To ask questions and seek for answers is a solely human trait - trait that lead to great discoveries and meteorite speed of technical and intellectual progress of modern times. However, to spread new knowledge and theories, if they contradict accepted conventions is equally difficult: it's a "prejudice" of all highly developed societies to acknowledge that their theories on creation and development of civilization might well be wrong or that it's finally time to doubt them. History numerously proves that it's easier to reject and ignore than to refute. This book can be rejected or its theories refuted, but it can't be silently ignored.
As the headline for this book I can mention author's words: "I'm just following the science where it leads me... If my findings are in conflicts with their theory about the rise of civilization then maybe it Ò time to re-evaluate that theory".
Indeed, some aspects of the book's topics (eternal questions of "who are we", "who were our ancestors", "what is the message of ancient civilizations", "what stands behind stupendous monuments of Incas, Mayas, Egyptians", "why ancient mythologies have so much in common", "are civilizations cyclic and are we heading for a disaster'' etc) made me wonder, some I didn't quite grasp (e.g. part on solar equinoxes and solstices, precessions of earth and ecliptic cycles), a few seemed to be a little farfetched, but overwhelming flow of new information made me eager to investigate further, to doubt the facts we usually read in textbooks and also to express support to the author by writing this.
It was a genuine pleasure for me to read a very comprehensible and persuasive account on travels, research and evidence Mr. Hancock carried out. I truly admire his courage and devotion. His theories are fascinating, logical and stand on the basis of new (or old, but "unnoticed") facts and research carried out by various scientists in archeology, astronomy, geology and anthropology.
Although I have a great interest on research and new theory, I hardly belong to the credible lot and flow of info during last couple of years (especially all the "year 2000" craze), taught me to view very critical all these pseudo-scientific and simply laughable theories. This author is not blabbering some nonsense that Pyramids were built by Martians or were used to pump water, or that Ice Age was caused by a nuclear explosion or that dinosaurs died of flu.
But 4 stars account for the ending of the book: theories, however persuasive and alluring, were left hanging in the air, and singular message suddenly became supreme: that there was a civilization, equal in development to our own, although different in thinking, ca BC 11 000 that wanted to warn us about a recurring natural catastrophe. It seems we've had enough of this "last judgment" staff, even if it's going to occur. To my opinion, other questions initiated by the author were of much more interest.
However, the book should definitely be read as a tribute to spread quest for truth and knowledge in the name of the progress of our own civilization (oops, do I sound like Fox Mulder here?)
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
This is about the only book of its type which is convincing enough to leave you worried at the end of it! Without giving anything away, read this with an open mind and try and ignore the one fault ever-present in this author's work: his failure to employ a ruthless editor to trim out the fat and constant repetitions which mar the book's readability.
The theories and alternative explanations of past civilisations and climate change are so well argued that the book still gets five stars. If only Mr Hancock could control his own verbosity, it would merit a 6.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2000
Hancock provides some rather exciting correlations between ancient South American and Egyptian cultures. He hopes to unite the cultures with a "missing link" which he fails to provide substantial evidence for. This, however, is not the main flaw of the book. Hancock can hardly be expected to provide concrete evidence for that lost civilization when he has located it on the frozen continent of Antarctica!
The tragic flaw of the book is his insistence on reckoning these ancient cultures with the astronomical phenomenon of procession. While it is a fact that ancient cultures used their knowledge to trace the heavens, it is doubtful that they had an advanced knowledge of procession. Deviating further from possibility, Hancock insists that ancient cultures used the language of procession to make their mark in history. Finally, if you use Hancock's own 'scientific' calculations, you will discover that the current processional cycle does not match with the cultural evidence he gives in the book.
It is an interesting book and not without merit. One must be reminded that it was written before the dawning of the year 2000 and has a forboding sense of the 'coming doomsday.' If nothing else, the book will at least promote further thought about our beginnings and the technology we have somehow forgotten.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
This book is so well researched and thought through, it should be compulsory reading. No wild speculation without foundation, but reasoned and realistic. No assumptions passed down and accepted from the ignorant. Open minded and incise.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Mr. Graham Hancock is, in my opinion, one of the few writers in the non-orthodox archeology/research genre, who actually is void of any form of sensationalist pursuit.
As a consequence, what he writes about has been looked at from a fairly neutral point of view and as such fits into a broader picture where there is at the least proof of a probably global civilization which existed some ten to twelve thousand years before zero.
"Fingerprints" is a fascinating book with tons of finds and deductions, all well analyzed and scrutenized from different angles. If and when more people should approach the subjects of ancient cultures and mythologies the way Mr. Hancock tackles them, I think we would have had totally different history lessons at school a long while ago.
As it stands, orthodix science keeps acting like a stubborn child and tries to deny the existence of people like Hancock, J.A. West, Robert Schoch and other Christopher Dunns.
Their loss.
For anybody who is but the slightest bit interested in ancient civilizations and the many mysteries surrounding them, "Fingerprints Of The Gods" is an eye-opener and a must-read, nothing more and certainly nothing less.

RV aka JJ
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2006
I read this book a few years ago and it inspired me to travel which I have since spent a year of my life doing, during which time I was fortunate enough to visit many of the ancient civilisations' statues and monuments etc. around South America and the Pacific mentioned in the book.

Most of the documented theories in the book cannot be proved, however interestingly enough can also not be disproved by any scientists! I beleive the author Graham Hancock invited his public mockers of the book to a live television debate to which none of them agreed...!

Even if everything discussed in the book is entire fiction it is a work of art and an extremely interesting read which precipitates a plethora of issues to debate.

I've just ordered the sequel... 5/5
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2004
There will be those who will like a book like this, and there will be those who will never like books that have the capacity of turning one's world view upside down...
It takes an open mind to absorb and evaluate the flood of information presented in this book, a willingness to go beyond what one has learned before as the so-called accepted truth...
It is very much part of the flock-like human character to want to discard the compelling flood of anomalies as irrelevant, dangerous, or worse.
Some comments in these reviews point in that very direction...
Admittely, the book is written from a "let's show established archaeology how it's done" point of view, a little scholar-bashing if you will, but the long list of hints, proofs, hunches, etc. does make one wonder what might lay under thosemiles of ice over Antarctica.
Let's wait and see what the first digs in Antarctica will produce...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse