Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
137
4.3 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2017
If you are a final fantasy fan then you must get this. This took me hours/days/months to play through and even now I have not completed it. For a full immersive game this is a definite must for you! 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Not played it yet, but it is brand new in a box.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
The story is absolutely amazing. The battle system is in the middle of real-time and the usual FF strategic turn based style. It's visually stunning. Everything about this game is 5 star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
the games sucks but the item arrived on time, no significant complaint!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Great quality - Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Well satisfied with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2012
And she does - to fight the things that matter to the game overall. This is a short review since I don't want to drop any spoilers - but like the original game (FFXIII) it was superb! As was the former FFXII! If you really want to enjoy every nuance of the Final FantasyXIII-2 you really need the limited edition book which reads like the book is your companion on your travels - giving you advice when you need it and giving you pictures that are superb in their detail - when you just want to relax! Excellent game and book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
I decided to skip FF13 all together, i played and absolutely loved 12 and could not wait for the release of 13 but i backed off as soon as the reviews came out for the linear gameplay, lack of exploration and dull confusing story. And after watching walkthroughs on youtube i still feel i made the right choice.

FF13-2 however is different, the story is related but not too much that it couldn't be a standalone game. There is a fair bit of explaining what happened in the previous game, this all happens via cutscenes however there is a nifty beginners primer option that explains the events of the previous game in chapters (not really needed but definitely appreciated).

Battle mechanics are almost the same excepting the addition of monsters (which is a really cool addition). I don't feel the game completely makes up for the shortcomings of FF13 but it certainly goes a long way. The paradigm system is the primary battle focus again, basically switching between different roles to accommodate the current situation in a fight (taking massive damage? You switch to a more protection/healing type paradigm, that sort of thing). The paradigms can be customized to make them more effective however the level of customization is fairly limited in options.

Unlike most FF games you will only ever have 2 party members the third party member being filled by a monster of your choosing that you have captured in a battle. To my knowledge you can tame almost anything you fight (excluding the obvious such a bosses and the like) after you defeat the foe there is a chance for you to turn it into a crystal and by doing so capture it so that it can fight along side you. Different monsters have different roles they can fill in your party, for example some are medics and heal you whereas some are commandos and will mainly focus on doing big damage for you. You can also infuse monsters together and by doing so give one monster the passive abilities of another, allowing the creation of a hybrid mega monster.

Leveling up is rather dull, you essentially pick whatever role you'd like to level up (Medic, Commando, Ravager etc) and spent your current points (gained all sorts of ways, mainly from battling monsters) on that role. It is rather dull. You can also level up your Pets statistics with certain items gained as loot.

The story in the game i have found to be quite engaging, whilst Noel isn't exactly the most gripping charterer i have ever played he does ok as the main protagonist. Serah is an ok character too, really i found the main characters distinctly average. The antagonist Caius however i thought was really cool, not only visually but he definitely felt like formidable bad guy. The story is about Serah finding her sister Lightining again by using gates to jump through time. Lots of time travel to the same location in different periods.

The bad thing i found about this game was that i felt like i was watching more than playing, I really felt that there was way too many cut scenes. Then one cutscene would lead into another cutscene and i would just get frustrated. I enjoy cutscenes but excepting rare occasions there should be big gaps between game play and cutscenes.

Apart from that i didn't enjoy the autobattle system (the computer selects the optimal abilities for you, you worry about the paradigms). Now i know that you don't have to use it but quite simply there isn't enough time to manually input abilities and worry about paradigms, in FF12 when selecting the abilities tab the fight would pause and you could think about what was the optimal move to use.

Quick time events were done well in this, the fact i can bash all buttons and still win actually made me happy because i cant stand press a button or die QTEs. I just put massive effort into killing a boss and now i die because i can't press X fast enough? Kills immersion, not epic in any way. In this game that doesn't happen because you can press all buttons and not fail.

All in all you should buy this game, i tried to be fair with my review but for £12 well worth the money I'm 18 hours in and am still having a blast.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
Final Fantasy XIII-2 is genuinely a good game and up there with one of the best in the series. First of, the story is probably it's weakest but it still has some good parts and the characters are likeable. Serah, Noel and Mog brought back the Final Fantasy magic that was missing from XIII. The story can get confusing and the plot is a bit semi coherent but it's still well done and the voice acting is really good. Graphics are very nice and detailed. The music I liked, especially the song 'Paradigm Shift' and 'Caius' theme'. The game play is much better this time, it's more open world and you get to do side missions as well as other stuff. The battle system is pretty easy to play, with a rather simple yet good levelling up system. The game gets cheesy and confusing but I also liked the ending to this game too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
Final Fantasy XIII-2.... I didnt have high expectations for this game since I hated XIII for various reasons. I loved FFVII and FFVIII and FF9. Now this game is so much fun compared to XIII. The battle system is nice and comfy to use.You can change different battle techniques attacking strategies. You can save at any point whiich is useful. It is a huge improvement on Xiii and I recommend to it. If you didnt like Xiii give this a try its worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here