Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
228
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2010
I always thought a cupcake was a cupcake. Then I bought this book - initially as a gift - but after peeping inside - it's MINE now!
So many different choices, recipes, designs.....From sweet to savoury and some with a mixture. The recipes are clear, easy to follow and most importantly, they work! You WILL find something in here to surprise and delight you.....
22 comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
what a brilliant book. i brought this for two reasons the amount of recipes and the price,
im so glad that i did, the book is one of the best i have ever brought, there are so many recipes to choose from, its hard to pick which ones to make

there are 6 sections for different types of cakes, ther are every day cakes, the receipe for this section are:
vanilla cupcakes
fruit and nut cupcakes
carrot cupcakes
marbled coffee cupcakes
piped shell cupcakes
double berry muffins (personal favourite)
lemon and lime drizzle cupcakes
warm pecan caramel cupcakes
strawberry cream cupcakes (family favourite)
sultana and ginger cupcakes
rose delight cupcakes
very cherry cupcakes
butterfly cupcakes
orange and lemon cupcakes
honey and banana cakes
rhubarb crumble cupcakes
passionfruit cream cupcakes
mile high marshmellow cupcakes
plum polenta cupcakes
malty raisin cupcakes
poppy seed and lemon cupcakes
iced gingerbread cupcakes
breakfast fruit and nut cupcakes

thats just the first section tere are 5 other sections, the other sections are
chocolate cupcakes
cupcakes for kids
cupcakes for adults
savoury cupcakes
special occasion cupcakes

the book is brilliant there are recipes for christmas cupcake, halloween recipes, easter recipes, pretty much cakes for every type of occasion. the receipes are easy to follow. you wont be dissapointed if you but this book.
11 comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
Good recipies for cupcakes as they're written for the British market where most of the other cupcake recipie books are translated into English from American and alot gets lost in translation.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
On first glance this books seems okay; it has 200 "recipes" for various cupcakes and each recipe is illustrated with a picture of the finished product. The recipes are lacking, though, and most are just variations. For example, you use the same basic recipe for many cupcakes that are simply decorated differently. By "decorate differently" I don't mean that different decorating techniques are explained such as how to create a certain look with a certain icing tip, but rather, the author describes how to put chocolate curls on one cupcake, strawberry on another, jelly beans on top of another, and so on. These are not the sort of baking tips I need and was hoping for a more creative, varied collection of recipes. If you need a very basic intro to cupcakes and don't feel like looking up recipes online, this could work for you.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
A really handy book, both in size and content. Loads of easy to follow recipes, delicious variations on a much loved theme. Inspiring colour pictures, just what you need to get you in the mood for a baking session. Just don't eat them all before you impress your family and friends! My favourites - Red pepper and pine nut (sophisticated or wot?) - yes, they are THAT unusual, and Jelly Bean cupcakes to delight the little ones. Enjoy!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
I love this little book. The recipes are easy to follow, clear pictures & ideas for altering cakes which help if you are bad at planning like me & never have quite the right ingredients! The basic recipe is so easy even my husband has made it (!) Yes he was that desperate for more cake!! I am now trying to limit baking sessions as our waists are all expanding. I've found that the recipes work best using muffin tins quantity is equal to 12 muffins which mean that the cakes are muffin sized and not fairy cake sized, my family do not see this as a negative :)
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 February 2016
I have a number of books from this Hamlyn series and they are generally very good. I mainly bake cupcakes for charity events and you soon get to know which flavours sell. The following are always popular - honey & banana cakes; pecan & caramel; lemon & lime drizzle; coffee & walnut; pink rose (rosewater in the mix and pink mascarpone frosting). There are also some pretty cakes for children's parties decorated with, for example, jelly beans or some really cute puppies formed from readymade icing, pirate faces, ladybirds, etc.. At the end of the book there are cupcakes for occasions such as Christmas and weddings. The book also includes a few savoury cupcakes although the only ones I like are the cheese & chive version.

Given how cheap these little books are, you really can't go far wrong. The recipes are straightforward and the results of the recipes I have tried have been reliable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
A very appealing selection of recipes to add to the Hamlyn range, this time 200 cupcakes in both sweet and savoury camps and a good variety from which to choose, including decorated party options.

The book is small enough to take with you for inspiration whilst shopping and can be propped open at the appropriate page in the kitchen for easy mid-recipe referral.

The style of presentation is very good with photographs of the finished dish on one page opposite the ingredient list and method. The food is well lit and shot, so nothing looks garishly colourful, just good and the methods are easy to follow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2010
I'm dreaming of cupcakes...! this book is accessible, and realistic, feels like you can do it yourself... I bought 2 books as I'm making my sister's wedding cupcakes and need inspiration... this is the one I'll be using! The decorating is well explained, and I'm hoping I will be successful... every recipe is a go-er, looking forward to trying the chilli & vodka ones! and the pistachio cream, and all the chocolate ones.. yum, yum, yum...
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
Fantastic recipe collection. Having never baked in my life I am hooked. Within only one hour I had baked the breakfasty bran with raisins closely followed by the pancetta and parmesan. Quick, easy, delicious and foolproof. Will be buying more in the series
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse