Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
160
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£34.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2016
I purchased this for my dad as a Christmas gift. However, he is obsessed with the show and has already finished the box set. The man is out of control. I recommend not purchasing this if you want to watch a laid back show over a few months. However if you want this show to overtake the love of your children and become Shield obsessed, then this is the show for you.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Probably one of the best tv series there is. Made By the same people as sons of anarchy, you won't regret watching this, be careful though because you will get addicted!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2017
Haven't finished watching the box set, but so far the first two seasons have been great! And the discs are in very good condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
these dvds are multi region 2 and 4 for australia
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2011
What a superb series. Original, clever, action packed, funny, hard hitting and cutting edge. Warning do not watch if of a nervous disposition. Vic, Shane, Dutch, Claudette, Ronnie, Lem, Aceveda and many others... Characters never forgotten! If anyone is thinking of making a new cop series please take notes from The Shield. Totally love this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2017
First of all, I would like to note that THE SHIELD is a 5 star series, one of the best series ever made, BUT
despite being advertised as "Complete", this is very far from the truth...
Sony Pictures Home Entertainment UK has released the exact same single season releases combined as one bundle, this means we get the censored (cut vor violence) versions of Seasons 2 & 3 and the heavily edited (non-violence cuts) Seasons 5 & 6. There were already several complaints about this issue when the single seasons were released. This just proves that Sony does not care about their customers.
While even the cut versions are highly watchable, re-releasing these same cut versions as a "complete" set is an audacity, therefore I am rating this box set 1/5 (and THE SHIELD is my favorite series, once again the series is a definite 5/5). Shame on you Sony!

THE SHIELD is one of those series that tell a complete story in its entire run, rather than each episode being a stand-alone with a story arc that lasts only for a season (like BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER, earlier STAR TREKS, XENA: WARRIOR PRINCESS). Meanwhile more series have adapted this type of story-telling from BABYLON 5, which gives these series even more potential than Hollywood movies.
THE SHIELD also is pre-Obama, which means racism wasn't as big of an issue in the U.S. as it has become through fabrication (note: as big of an issue does not mean NO issue!). Therefore THE SHIELD also does not avoid certain "taboo" topics and it does not remain in a politically correct environment, exactly the contrary: if you are easily offended by realistic depictions of gangs, corruption, terrorism, etc. and require everything to be sugar-coated and politically correct you will hate THE SHIELD and you will definitely get your precious feelings hurt, so avoid.
The series is loosely based on the real-life RAMPART squad in Los Angeles and revolves around the squad leader Victor "Vic" Mackey (Michael Chiklis's best performance), Shane Vendrell (equally impressive: Walton Goggins), Curtis "Lem" Lemansky (Kenny Johnson) and Ronnie Gardocki (David Rees Snell) with recurring cast members including Catherine Dent, CCH Pounder, Jay Karnes and Benito Martinez.
The best season - in my opinion - Season 5 even stars Forest Whitaker as Internal Affairs' Jon Kavanaugh attempting to take down the Strike Team and this has got to be the most suspenseful and thrilling masterpiece of a season ever to be aired. I devoured the season in one sitting (well actually most of the later seasons), but this definitely was an all-nighter on a weekday (workday).
THE SHIELD is a very gritty and realistic show that features three dimensional anti-heroes rather that heroes. It is shocking, morally and in its depiction of strong violence and drug abuse, and though some seasons/episodes are rated 15, overall the BBFC 18 rating is more appropriate.
I do recommend getting the US Region 1 (locked) DVD set if you can playback Region 1 discs. The US version is fully uncut and unedited. As far as I can tell, other European versions contain the cut Seasons 2 & 3 but the uncut Seasons 5 & 6.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2009
The Shield is one of best cop shows of all time and this boxset is quite satisfactory. BUT the feature length season finales of Seasons 5 and 6 have been cut. It shouldn't come as a surprise, the Region 2 individual boxsets were edited in the same way, hence all the irate reviews here on Amazon. The Region 1 boxsets were intact. For all the diehard Shield fans who love watching the show in sequence, watching this one may cause confusion.
Eg in Season 5 not all of Kavanagh's exchange with Corrine is displayed, plus Danny doesn't confront her baby's father. Yet in Season 6 Danny and father's identity is common knowledge. These issues aside, why pay for dvds with edited episodes when they were broadcast in full on TV.
If you want the full package you're better off buy the individual boxsets. For such an eagerly awaited arrival, it is such as a disappointment.
1111 Comments| 263 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
My son was pleased with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
The Shield is a great program, brilliant writing and some shocking twists. This would be a five star product, except this edition has been edited. Having seen the episodes before I was waiting for certain scenes and knew what happened. If you hadn't seen it before some of the scenes get covered in the re-caps at the start of the episodes which you haven't seen. Very irritating.

Over all if you've not seen The Shield, this is a cracking show and I would highly recommened it.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
Bought this boxset in the hopes that it would have the complete unedited episodes... but unfortunately this is just a repackage of the already released Region 2 discs, meaning that the Season 5 finale still has that huge 20 minute chunk taken out of it, which actually leads to some relatively confusing scenes later in Season 6.

Don't get me wrong, this show is awesome... and I can't recommend it enough to anyone who hasn't seen it. but it's a shame that they didn't use this re release as a chance to include the episodes as they originally aired.
22 Comments| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)