Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
15
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 January 2013
I enjoyed watching this. It's very good, though I wonder whether, with a few hours to spare, I would put this on in preference to say 'New York City'.

The atmosphere on this DVD is informal, and it shows when some songs take one or even two false starts to get going. As McCartney says, though, this is a relaxed session and the very informality sucks you, the watcher, in.

High spots? For me the Beatles numbers with which I grew up. 'Here, There and Everywhere' is delightful in its simplicity. 'I've Just Seen a Face' is very good acoustically. 'And I Love her' is beautiful. 'Blackbird' always works and is a high spot of his grander concerts when just he and his guitar are centre-stage.

The early solo material works too: 'Every Night' is well done and 'Junk' is a favourite of mine.

So ... there's a lot here to enjoy. Outstanding? Probably not, because of the accentuated informality and it isn't quite as good as some of his very best offers. But very good, certainly. Four stars and worth having.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
I knew it existed having heard some of the audio that wasn't on the CD floating around the net. To find this on Amazon has really been a dream come true.
Even my wife enjoyed the show.
This is far and away the best of the unplugged series why it was not promoted at the time I will never understand.
I have had the official CD since its release and saw the very short show when it was first shown. My tape I recorded has long ago disappeared.
For any guitarist it is interesting to see how HE does it, which is not how most of us would play certain songs.
The picture quality is as good as any video was in those days, BUT the sound is as near flawless CD quality as you will ever get.
Some very clever work has been done on this DVD and I doubt it could ever be done better.
If you are a Paul McCartney fan just buy it you will love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Parts of his concert were shown long time ago on MTV including scenes between the songs (for example Paul jokes about the 'big fan' who understood Blackboard instead of Blackbird).
Theese nice 'inbetweens' are missing on this DVD.
The music is fanastic, the sound o.k., the picture really bad.
On 'The Mccartney Years'-DVDs are four songs from this concert in excellent quality...
Isn't it a pity...
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2012
Just unbelievable. Most McCartney live DVDs feature so many crowd noise overdubs and cutaway shots of audience members in tears or holding up 'WE LOVE THE BEATLES' banners that they're cringeingly unwatchable more then once or twice. This DVD features not only the complete footage as shot on the day but also amazing broadcast stereo sound. It's an amazing thing. Anyone who doesn't appreciate that this footage is available in this quality needs to stick to their 'One Direction' and 'Justin Beiber' DVDs LOL!! 5 stars :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
I really loved this DVD. Informal, intimate and just a pleasure to watch and listen to. Accoustic arrangements of the old time favourites as well as some Beatles' and McCartney's solo stuff really make a difference. This is Paul at his best for all who like him. Just great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
very bad picture quality but sound is good.I would not advice to buy this dvd.But it is a great concert.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2012
Not a bad stuff but not so good as I expected. A bootleg for real and only after a while your eyes begin to see clear enough. Anyway, a stuff that a Beatle Fan can't miss. VP
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
The picture is blury and the sound is only fair. Avoid this one and we have to wait until MPL productions remaster the whole thing!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
The DVD is bad quality! If you look at a VHS-tape! The sound is not good. Just stereo, not Dolby or DTS.
My advice: don't buy this DVD. No balue for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
the quality could be better but its not so important as macca is just brilliant, if you're a mccartney fan its a must see and well worth the outlay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£42.74

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)