Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
21
3.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2012
This is useful for replacing an existing chainguard where you still have the bracket that fits around the bottom bracket as this bracket is not included. You may need to drill an extra hole or two to get a good fit but it does the job. It would not work if your bike has a front mech/derailleur.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
None of the local cycle shops stocked a cheap and cheerful replacement chain guard so the Amazon Profex just fits the bill. I bought this to replace my old broken chain guard so my bike already has fitting brackets above and below the crank. The Profex does not come with a bracket for the crank. It has a small bracket at the rear which is helpful. Some dimensions: inner hole diameter 12.9 cm; outer diameter 22.5 cm; inner diameter 21.8 cm. Distance from top bracket hole to rear bracket is 33 cm. So the distance between top an bottom hole is 21.8 cm and this should fit the crank bracket. Most likely is that the crank bracket is a different size and then a bit of DIY is required. In my case the bracket was smaller by 4 cm so I cut some 8 mm pipe to size 2x 2 cm to function as a thick washers. In the bracket I taped the hole to M5 and used a pair of ~30 mm long M5 bolts to attach the guard to the bracket. On the rear I had to cut the guard to size. The rear bracket fitted perfectly. I hope this explanation makes sense. If you are willing and able to put in the DIY work then fitting it is a lovely little job
The Profex chain guard is made in Germany and the plastic seems sturdy. All in all a very good deal.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
This does not fit my Trek T30 bike, which is a very widely available bike. The screw holes are in the wrong place (probably sortable by drilling very carefully) but (not solvable) it is too small to fit round the gear changing mechanism. Calling this "universal" is just false. Amazon should stop selling it, or stop calling it "universal" and instead give the measurements.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
This genuine German made chain guard is a high quality product, but probably does not fit every 28 inch bike; exactly as it happen with me.
This is because not all bikes have the same dimensions even if they have the same size labelled.

I tried to manipulate something to let this guard fit and however it is not well fit as it should be. But again, for other bikes may be.
Note: it has a bigger diameter than the original one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 November 2011
Sadly, although it states that this is a universal chain guard, it isnt.

We tried fitting it on a 28" wheeled bike, but to no avail it simply would not fit as it was too small

Would not recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Not as universal al claimed, since every bike is different and the mountings could not be the same.

However, with a little bit of DIY I managed no fit it in a 700 wheels hybrid bike and it worked fine. I had to make a couple of holes in the plastic but nothing major.

All in all, an acceptable chain guard that makes the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
This did not fit on my bicycle at all, when. I also called a bike shop, who informed me that 'universal' chain/gear guards rarely actually fit. Stay well clear.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Just the job, it was easy to fit with a little minor mod. Very pleased with the product. Excellent chain guard
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Bought this to replace a previous guard.
Like most others reviewers I I had to drill one hole into the plastic for it fit the existing mount.
Easy to fit, works well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
The item doesnt come with screws or bolt to attach by the pedal area.The rear part is not standard to conform with bicycles.I got it laying in store.Please be warned!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)