Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a slim volume, which includes some information on the character of Lord Peter Wimsey, as well as an essay on his creator, Dorothy L. Sayers, in order to pad out what are, essentially, just three stories featuring the gentleman detective. These include the title story and The Haunted Policeman, both of which were previously published in 1939, while the final story, “Talboys,” remained unpublished until this edition.

This year, I finally read all of the Wimsey novels and, although I have not yet read the Jill Paton Walsh ‘sequels.’ Therefore, it seemed essential to include this collection and, even though there are only three stories in this book, I thought they were very much worth reading.

The first, “Striding Folly,” revolves around a murder and a chess game, with Wimsey virtually just stepping in to solve the crime. However, the next two stories feature Lord Peter Wimsey very much as a main character and also as a family man. In “The Haunted Policeman,” he is restless after the birth of his first son and comes across a policeman in the square outside his house, with an odd story to tell. Obviously, fatherhood has not dented our heroes interest in such a tale and he solves the mystery.

“Talboys,” is the house where Peter and Harriet spend a honeymoon, blighted by murder in “Busman’s Honeymoon.” In this story, they now have three sons. Their heir, Bredon; plus two younger boys – Roger and Paul. Lord Peter’s sister in law has foisted the unpleasant Miss Quirk upon the family, as being in need of a country holiday, and her views on parenting and discipline are irritating everyone. When young Bredon is accused of a misdemeanour, we see Lord Peter get involved and we also see him acting as a father. I think this is the most enjoyable story in the collection. However, this book is expensive for, essentially, only three stories. You have to decide whether you feel it is worthwhile, but I am glad I read them and enjoyed all three.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Three isolated Wimsey stories not included in any other book. Poor value for money, but good stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Not by any means Sayers best but still worth reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2002
A collection of the three final Peter Wimsey tales, 'Striding Folly' contains the title story, a work which revolves around a curious death during a game of chess, seemingly foretold in a dream, and 'The Haunted Policeman', which takes place on the eve of the birth of Peter and Harriet's first child, and revolves around a policeman accused of drunkeness by his Sergeant, despite the fact that he was completely sober. The final tale, 'Talboys', is a lightly amusing and whimsical account of a mysterious theft of peaches belonging to Mr Puffett (whom we have previously seen clearing a chimney, and in other capacities, in 'Busman's Honeymoon'), in which we have a brief meeting with the Wimseys en famille, now with three sons, Bredon, Roger, and Paul. Bunter and a snake called Cuthbert also appear to round out this delightful tale, the last of the Wimsey canon (bar 'Thrones, Dominations', should you wish to count it). Personally, I find 'Talboys' to be one of the most deft pieces of humour that I have ever had the pleasure to read, although it may not appeal to those who are devoted to stories of pure detection.
Prefaced by an essay by Janet Hitchman, 'Lord Peter Wimsey and His Creator', this volume may not be the ideal introduction to Wimsey - for that, it would be best to begin at the proverbial beginning, with 'Whose Body?'. However, for the initiated, it is indispensible, and wins five stars on the individual strengths of each story alone.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
What a disappointment and to be honest, a bit of a rip-off. £6.00 for three very thin stories (the first one being especially poor. It had me turning the page and actually saying out loud "That can't be the end????" Also padded out with a very old introduction/essay written in the 70s and coming over as very stuffy and not intellectually rigorous. The novels are wonderful, in my opinion, but I would certainly give this collection a miss unless you want to read everything Sayers ever wrote.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
This CD contains three short stories.
The first one (Striding Folly) is about an unusual chessplayer and his almost supernatural death. Slightly creepy - I recommend you listen to this in a stormy night, preferably at candlelight. It would also make a good halloween story.

Story #2 (The Haunted Policeman) is about a murder that never happened in a house that never existed - or does it? The only eye witness is puzzled (as is the listener). The solution of this mystery is unexpected, to put it mildly.

The last story (Talboys) is my favourite as it gives us a little insight in the Wimsey's family life. We meet again with Mr Puffett (the chimney sweeper from "Busman's Honeymoon") who finds all his peaches gone, only one day before the annual peach competition. His Lordship solves the case and - with the help of his oldest son Bredon, assisted by Cuthbert the snake - manages to teach a highly annoying guest a lesson.
In this story we learn about a very different side of Lord Peter Wimsey: he appears to have completely recovered from shellshock, is relaxed, humorous and even a little mischieveous.

Presumably, these three stories were just a little experiment by Mrs Sayers, but in my opinion a very successful one. Hardcore Sayers fans will propably frown at her breach of style and pattern but for everyone who is curious about Mrs Sayers' literary bandwith this collection will be a little gem.

As usual, Ian Carmichael reads simply perfect. In his voice, the characters truely come to life.
His clear pronounciation makes this audiobook a lovely gift not only for "native speakers" but also for foreigners like myself.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2002
Dorothy L Sayers full length mystery novels are very good - beautifully written and strong on character, detail, humour and with ingenious plots. Her short stories are however disappointing, and this collection of three particularly so. Each of them is slight, with the middle one, The Haunted Policeman, being the best of a poor bunch. The attempt at a different style in first story is misguided, and the final story is almost non-existent, centring on life in the Wimsey household. If readers are wanting to try her short stories, the collection of ten in Lord Peter Views The Body is much stronger, though variable. In this, written at the beginning of her career, there is the sense that she is feeling her way into the genre; the mysteries are too weak to sustain a full novel, but some stories have interesting twists. In Striding Folly, the sense is much more of her running out of ideas or perhaps energy. One cautionary note for readers: the introduction gives away the plot of some Sayers other novels. For those interested in trying Sayers' work for the first time, I strongly recommend choosing a full length novel - Have His Carcass, Murder Must Advertise and Gaudy Night are all excellent.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2009
I give way to no-one in my admiration of DLS. But this book is a cynical rip-off by the publishers, New English Library. It's a slim book - 176 pages; of those, 50 are given over to prelims, an Introduction, and an introductory essay. Setting aside blank pages, section titles, and some very ordinary and unhelpful illustrations, which one suspects have been stuffed in simply to pad the book out, there are just 91 pages of text in this book.

Let me repeat that - there are 9i pages of actual Sayers in this book. For this, NEL have the gall to charge £6.99.

Buy this book second-hand.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2016
Striding Folly: Lord Peter Wimsey Book 15 (Lord Peter Wimsey Series)
Note: This is a view of the KINDLE EDITION of Striding Folly!
I bought this to replace my 43 year-old NEL paperback, and was pleased to find the Kindle retains the original's stylish illustrations and Janet Hitchman's 20 page introductory essay on the detective and Sayers herself. In addition, there is a shorter and more recent (2003) introduction by the American writer Elizabeth George, in which she reveals her fondness for Wimsey and his world and her admiration for his creator. (No surprise, then, that her detective, Inspector Lynley, is, like Wimsey, an Eton-and-Oxford-educated aristocrat. Unlike Wimsey, however, he operates in the modern world (London from the late 1980s to the present) and his sidekick, the volatile Sergeant Barbara Havers, is a more complex creation than Mervyn Bunter, Wimsey's imperturbable servant, friend.and master of all trades.)
As for Striding Folly's three short stories....they are slight, though not negligible - Sayers was too good a writer ever to be that - but I wouldn't recommend them to anyone as a way of easing into the full-length stories. They are late glimpses into Wimsey's world and if you have no prior acquaintance with that world they are unlikely to tempt you to explore further. Of the three my own favourite is the last; it has a mystery, a suspect both rightly and wrongfully accused, a particularly obnoxious villain and a satisfying act of revenge - and almost all the action takes place within the detective's own house and garden. But its real pleasure and to some extent the pleasure of the second story depend on knowing how Wimsey arrived at this point in his life. Reading them before you have read the earlier books will actually destroy an important thread of suspense that runs through several of those books.
The Kindle edition is easy to read, being well designed and free of the mis-spellings, poor punctuation and erratic typography of all too many ebooks. That said, £5.99 makes it today's equivalent of twice the price I paid for my 1972 paperback!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2016
Beautifully written as ever but this book is 3 (very) short stories, the book is only 176 pages which includes the usual introduction, a biographical piece on the author and the account of Wimsey by his uncle at the end which has been included in several of the other books so very little actual Wimsey storyline. All in all a good read for an afternoon off but not fabulous value at £5.99, that said the Sayers brief biography was interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse