Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24


on 26 April 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2010
An Inspector Ben Ross investigation based in Victorian London . Good description of Victorian London and its inhabitants which Ann Granger describes well. The plot evolves around the death of a wealthy art dealers wife the beautiful Allegra Benedict. Ross has to determine why she was murdered in Green Park. With the help of his wife and their maid they find themselves involved in the temperance movement, an unknown figure who is frightening young women on the gas lit streets , and two other seemingly unlinked murders. Ross has to deal with unfulfilled love, frustration, as well as the problem of prostitution .
The murderer is well hidden until the very end when it all collapses in a frightening conclusion. Mrs Ross, as ever plays a big part in helping to unravel the events.
It got a bit tedious for me towards the end, but if you like victorian drama you will probably like this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2015
Usually I get an inkling of the killer but this brilliant plot defied all my guesses. The devious truth, when exposed by Inspector Ross and Lizzie, his love, is wholly plausible and yet a challenge to armchair detectives like me. The author must have thought long and hard to work it all out. Every detail, eventually, is convincingly explained.
The suspects are interesting in themselves as well as in their possible links to three murders. Ross and Lizzie alternate in reporting their individual probings and reactions. The pace never flags, the cozy puzzles remain strong throughout, and we learn much about life in the London of old. The denouement is both thrilling and chilling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2014
Ann Granger has a gentle writing style yet still manages to rachet up the tension and I found it difficult to be drawn away from this novel. Strong on background of 19c London she supplies detailed scenes of gin palaces and the ills of drink in working class London, juxtaposing this with the upper class attitudes towards what they saw as the undeserving poor and their own role in trying to change them. Plenty here on social attitudes, the two nations which Disraeli informed on and colourful scenes of all sides of London with particular insights into the Burlington Arcade. Ross, Lizzie and Bessie are very strong characters, vital to the story. Some shades here of Anne Perry, though with a lighter touch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2012
On the plus side, the novel starts really well. Very atmospheric and conjours up Victorian London deliciously in all its fog-bound spookiness. The characters are engaging and well-drawn. All very promising...

...but the fog dissipates and...

On the negative side, it doesn't take much deduction to work out who the true culprit is and the ending falls flat. I don't want to go in to detail and spoil it for those who welcome an "easy read" but it's just too convenient for me.

A better quality of ending was needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2012
Ann Granger's books are a bit formulaic, as if she's done a course on how to write a WhoDunnit (there are such things!), yet I find her books immensely enjoyable, ideal for an escapist lunchtime read during a bad day at work.
The first books in this series tended to spend too much time showing off how much background reading on the Victorian period she'd done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2012
After reading this book, I hope it will become one of many in the series. Enjoyable and easy reading. The characters seem to pop out of the pape. I hope the 'good time girl' gets another chance to appear. I suggest you read the books in order as it will help with the flow of the stories although Ann Granger does cover the back histories very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2014
I found this novel a little lest obvious than the previous one I'd read and was therefore rather pleased. It's still very easy on the reader, a little too much so, but on the whole when you don't want to be taxed it's not an unpleasant choice to make.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2013
I have only just got into the Lizzie Martin books having read all the others by Ann Granger. This is by far her best. Wonderful characters and all the mystery of London fog. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2010
I have read and enjoyed the first two books in this series/. However, since Lizzie married Ben, he has taken up most of the narrative whereas beforeit was almost wholly from Lizzie's poinht of view. She has been relegated to the usual role of Vicorian wife and because of it the book lost something for me.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse