Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
51
4.3 out of 5 stars
History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 October 2012
Lots of archive film (surprisingly little actually racing - just enough of a glimpse to let you know there is a vast amount of top quality footage waiting to be marketed!) from the earliest years up to the early 70's, not all of it quite what you'd expect - including as it does some Mille Miglia. As usual, trying to cover too much ground in too small a space. Only 3 circuits are covered, using original film. Surely there is a massive market for a more comprehensive coverage of Formula 1: the FIA approved seasonal discs are just pathetic (I just can't imagine Bernie Ecclestone having anything to do with it), and not worth buying, as you are lucky to see 10 minutes of each race. I cannot find anything on the market which provides a professionally produced (i.e. BBC standard)history of F1.
22 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
How was this commissioned, the worst ever documentary made, so monotone and dreary, Motorsport is an exciting industry, it's pretty simple to portray in an exciting manner, ESPN should be ashamed of such low production values...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2016
This is a christmas present so hasnt been used just yet, but came perfectly boxed with no damages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Bought as a present and I haven't had any complaints....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2017
Really pleased with this Dvd, it will make a lovely present, and delivery was excellent .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Bought as a present ideal for an F1 fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I bought this as a wee present for my 85 year old father who's watched F1 for many years.

I watched disc one with him. It's pretty dull, boring actually. Jumps all over the place, the commentator just rambles on in his monotone dulcet drone. And whoever did the sound dub should be shot, or perhaps it's a blessing that half the time you can't hear the astoundingly dull commentary.

I then borrowed disc 3 hoping the circuit history discs might be better. I went for disc three as I'm a big fan of Spa. To me amazingly no maps were shown of the two circuits covered in this disc, no intelligible explanation of how they have changed over the years. No 'on board' laps either. Two things that are surely essential in a film about racing circuits. Just the same commentator droning on about who got wiped out and who won year by year through F1 history.

I would give it one star, but I'll give it two, just, as if you are an F1 fan desperately searching for archive footage of the sport through the years there is quite a bit of good archive footage across the two discs I watched.

Though I am a bit of a petrol heid I'm not gonna bother boring myself silly with disc two.

Sadly this is one DVD collection best avoided.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
These were very interesting and the history of the 5 circuits was very informing. Once again the commentator was very hard to hear above the noise of the cars even with the volume right up [No I am not hard of hearing!]
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
The History of GP dvd i have reviewed separately (it's ok but imo the weakest of the set). The two other discs (circuits) are more focused and better 'chronogically' presented - yeah! However, there are still issues with the sound on Vol1, the soundtrack is too loud in parts and drowns out the narration. Vol 2 is much better.
The 'good' - old footage, you have to bear in mind this is goping to be limited compared to the extensive coverage since the 70s/80s. There are some clips that make you appreciate the lack of safety and driver skill.
The 'bad' - lack of post 1970s footage, i can only think it is because of copyright issues. Some of the sections/years are very short, i would have liked more on the evolution of F1 too, feels like a budget set.
There is some other non-F1 footage, some nice interviews with drivers.
Just worth 3-stars at £7 but I'm still looking for something that evokes memories like the recent BBC Racing Legends programmes (Moss/Stewart)...someone somewhere can put all this footage together...BBC PLEASE HELP?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
A triple pack of old footage showing the history of Grand Prix racing & some of the favourite tracks.The footage is not fantastic & the presentation is not that great but, considering the price, it is OK value.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)