Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2011
This is the 4th books in this series, it seems the writer (James Mace) got lost, in delivering a book to the same standard of the other 3 books. Just enough to maintain an interest to read the book to the end, which of cause leaves you wondering how he will fair in the land of Egypt in book 5.... all in all I did enjoy the read and I hope the next book will have a bit more about it, it had a few funny bits, touching moments and a good battle sequence. Would I recommend it?..........only if you have read the other 3
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
I have now read and thoroughly enjoyed all four parts of the Artorian chronicles. Characters are well-drawn, and resonate with an ex Armed Forces veteran like me. Research into the Roman army is clearly detailed, and the story line is compelling, and strongly based in historical events of the time. There are two 'niggles' which sadly bar these novels from what would otherwise be unreserved 5 star status. I say 'sadly', because these faults could so easily have been remedied by a combination of effective proof-reading and sympathetic editing. First - spelling mistakes and typos abound. Please sort it - it becomes irritating, and detracts from a great story. Secondly, don't using jarringly inappropriate modern, vernacular language in a novel of this nature. I'm not saying it should be written in vulgate Latin, but 'OK', 'guys',and even a use of the word 'savvy' in what purported to be a formal, written valediction, recommending Artorius for promotion?!... to name but a few. Sorry, but it really jars. Great story though, and I'm glad I read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
I really enjoyed the earlier novels but this I thought was the best so far, the characters have grown and have more depth, the action doesn't stop from start to finish. If you like historical fiction with lots of blood and guts then look no further. Can't wait for the next one............
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
A very good book full of action however I found it very long winded in the discription of buildings in the story line
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
James Mace who is an author who I had not heard of. Try reading this and his other books - well worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
i agree with some of the other reviewers . this book lost somthing as compared to the preceeding three books which were 5* i do however eagerly await SofR v. i hope egypt brings Artorious back top his usuall thundering form. Not as good as the earler books but worth a read IF you have read the 3 earler books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Yet again a 4 star read. The battle scenes are really graphic but so well crafted and it brings a reality to the story. I enjoyed it that much I've already downloaded the next book in the series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
To much politics and not enough battles. As a soldier he should get on with soldiering and leave the stinky stuff to his betters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
A continuation of a great series. Looking forward to the next book in this great historical story of the Rome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
A good read takes one into the period and makes one want to read more. I would recommend it to all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse