Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2010
This is a genuinely good book. Honestly. This comes from someone who reads a lot of books, and who sets great store by clear, incisive writing. And from someone who until a recent conjunction of circumstances with which I won't bore you had no interest in motorbikes or the people who ride them. The sequence of events is compelling, the story-telling is entertaining, and the narrative builds to portray a picture of a kind and sensitive Irishman, genuinely fascinated by the scenes he is witnessing. It is a delightful mix of personal anecdote and political and social commentary, which leaves the reader with a clear understanding of the size of Wales relative to virtually everything. And if that's not a reason to buy it, I don't know what is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
Its always interesting to read of others peoples travels, Paddy has ticked all the boxes needed for an excellent read. The 12 colour pages of pictures were an added bonus and helped contextualise the journey.
The book is an adventure and commentary of the North and South Americas, written with an outsiders view and raising some thought provoking ideas. What must it have been like in America when Obama got in? We get Paddy understanding of what it was like, can also imagine I was there.
Overall a book that was unputdownable and will certainly be reread lots of times.
if you buy no other travel book this year, buy this one (and such prompt delivery from Shuvvy Press).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
an entertaining book, about biking and social observation
better than a lot of profesional writers in my opinion
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
I know Paddy, and he sent emails of his trips to an email group enroute. He also sent some great pictures which sadly are not included in this book, just a select few.

I've read about eight motorcycle adventure books and of course seen the whole Charlie & Ewan bandwagon. Paddy's book is typical of this genre in that nothing is typical. Each chapter was an adventure in its own right, and I was with Paddy through his pages at every checkpoint, bit falling off Peggy (his motorbike), some grim sleeping accomodation, and desperate races to go back and forth between offical desks getting bits of paper stamped.

Books like this are great if you want to escape from the daily grind but aren't able to make The Big Trip happen. Yet. Paddy writes in a simple plain style that describes what motorcycling mega-distances is really like, and the unique experiences each rider will have. There are some very gross moments as well as some humerous ones. A few had me thinking 'I'll never go there then' while other chapters presented elements about the world I would never have known - the local day-to-day stuff that gets left off high budget glossy motorcycle adventures. For this reason alone I recommend this as a good no-frills entertaining read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2010
Paddy Tysons' humour blends together a brilliant book which whisks the reader off on a road trip of a lifetime, a definite must.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Comfortably the most entertaining, humorous and sarcastic motorcycle travel book I've ever read. Tremendous stuff, highly recommend for all who venture over the horizon on two wheels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
I bought this as a present for my dad for his birthday. He was extremely impressed with the item and has even passed it onto friends so that they may also enjoy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
Humorous, modest, unpretentious, absorbing, interesting.
Really enjoyed this read Paddy, look forward to perhaps meeting you sometime - Richard (MAG member)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Interesting account of the authors journey written with a sense of humour. Definitely well worth a read especially if you are a motorcyclist yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
book arrived very quickly. well packaged i have read it 3 times now and each time i find myself being part of the journey
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)