Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 7 October 2017
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
DVD (1). THE VIRGINIAN: 1962 - 71. Three excellent 75 minute colour episodes (90 minutes when originally shown on TV with adverts). With James Drury as the Virginian and Doug McClure as Trampas. Special Guest Stars include Hugh O'Brian, Barry Sullivan and Jack Warden.
DVD (2). WAGON TRAIN: 1957 - 65. Four 50 minute black & white episodes (60 minutes when originally shown on TV with adverts). Starring Ward Bond as the wagon master and ably assisted by Robert Horton as his trusty scout. Guest Stars included Ernest Borgnine, Michael Rennie and Shelley Winters.DVD (3). LAREDO: 1966 - 67 Five 50 minute light-hearted colour episodes. The adventures of three Texas Rangers. Starring: Neville Brand and Phil Carey with Guest Stars included Bruce Dern, James Farentino, Marilyn Mason & Claude Akins.DVD (4). LARAMIE: 1959 - 63 Five 50 minute colour episodes from Season Three, the previous Seasons One & Two being in black & white, Sadly these colour prints have not survived too well without a doubt far worse than the other three which are all very good considering their age. A very good western TV series, starring John Smith and Robert Fuller with guest stars included Jock Mahoney, Alex Cord, Dan Duryea & Gary Clark.
Available from Amazon UK for very little money, the DVD Box Set is US import Region 1. (According to Amazon?) Which I viewed with no trouble on my computer having previously downloaded the free version of the excellent VLC Media Player!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2011
This is a brilliant compilation and I can't wait for more of the same. Very good selection of episodes from these old shows, hours of great entertainment. Would highly recommend.
3 episodes The Virginian
4 episodes Wagon Train
5 Episodes Laredo
5 Episodes Laramie
19 episodes, very good value.
Also recommend from same outlet 6 disc set of Western Classics: The Deputy (4)
The Tall Man(5)
Cimarron City(4)
The Restless Gun(8)
Frontier Doctor(5)
Shotgun Slade(5) 31 episodes on 6 discs/ unbeatable
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
First, despite the amazon info these are region free dvds. A nice collection of nostalgic shows; the picture/sound quality is ok except for the Laramie disc which is pretty poor. three discs are in colour, wagon train is black and white. buy it if you like old westerns,
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
AS I BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT I DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT BUT WHEN I GOT IT HOME THERE WAS THE VIRGINIAN - THERE WAS WAGON TRAIN - LAREDO - LARAMIE ALL THESE SHOW ON ONE DVD , I WATCHED THESE TV SHOW WHEN THEY WERE ON TV THEY BROUGHT GOOD MEMORIES WHEN THERE WAS GOOD SHOWS ON TELEVISION.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
It is a very good quality in a fine package. The Virginian still looks and feels very contemporary and the first story The Executioner with Hugh O'Brian is something to see and see again.

Wagon Train, all episodes are good but I preferred the first one with Ernest Borgnine in an episode called `'The Willy Moran Story'', and he plays a drunken man.

Laredo is a kind of comedy western and all five episodes are highly entertaining and great fun.

Laramie is about a family running a stage coach. Five episodes and all are good fun.

This is a great buy and one of the best western collections I ever bought and I buy plenty.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Remember watching these in the 60s and 70s and time has not diminished them. Good stories and characters. Well recommended
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2012
Bought this dvd to see the virginian and wagon train, and because my pc is an all region player,why are they are selling this as a region 1 when in fact it's a region 2?, so buy with confidence if you only have a region 2 player, i'm now wondering about those other region 1 dvd's, Hmmmmmmmm?
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Great nostalgia. The weakest of the four westerns is Laramie-not as good as I remembered and picture quality is relatively poor. The other three westerns are very good with great picture quality(b/w for Wagon Train). In order of enjoyment I would rate them as follows - 1. The Virginian. 2. Wagon Train. 3. Laredo. 4. Laramie. Worth having.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Great selection of Western Series from years gone by. For me the stand out are the Wagon Train episodes (Do we all remember them) but the others are good. The price for the dvd including shipping was £6.24, a steal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse