Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
31
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2011
Make no mistake - this album is a classic. Think of all of those debut albums in the past that made you think "wow - this is amazing" - you can safely add "Sons Of The North" to that list. The Black Spiders know how to dish out no-nonsense, kick-ass, rock-n-roll and they never let up throughout the 10 tracks on this essential addition to your ear diet.

Buy it now - you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 14 February 2011
Tying their colours firmly to the mast of the rock till you drop ship (?), these young men have come up with something special. Sure there are derivitive moments on here but they add a melodic twist to an Americocentric style of riffage (clumsy phrase that!) that pleases immensely. I would liken them to bands such as The Sword, Buckcherry, Blackstone Cherry and Black Tide rather than AC/DC although fans of the latter will still find lots to like here. There isn't anything remotely like a ballad on here but there is a snatch of gospel at the start of St Peter and the sheer exuberance and tunefuleness of the band means that the 40 odd minutes of this album fly by and you can immediately hit the repeat button and return to the start for more of the same.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2011
An excellent album of hard rock, with enough variety to keep it fresh and alive. OK, not new and innovative, but it doesn't have to be when it is done this well. No weak points but stand outs are Kiss tried to kill me, Just like a woman and Si, El Diablo. The drumming on the latter is a treat.
Saw the band at Leeds Cockpit - and strangely the album is better than their live show. Sorry chaps, it need a little refining and better sound quality for the vocals; and the angry young man bit with the audience was naff - you have to earn the applause. Thought the bass player had very attractive blonde hair - and he thought so to as he posed in front of the lights.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
Black Spiders have assembled a fantastic collection of hard rock tracks on their debut album. As a KISS fan I loved their 2nd track... KISS Tried To Kill Me. Highly recommended to those that crave rock with balls!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
I will always be a metal head above all else so bands like the answer dont do anything for me, hard rock is all well and good but i can take it or leave it. Black spiders are very much the exception to the rule, i couldnt ignore this band, few can as they are in every music mag i pick up, even terrorizer which deals with more extreme metal.
I took a wee gamble on this if truth be told and i was blown away. This is exciting, fun, heavy enough, hook laden, rifftastic fun. I truly love this album. I had it playing in my jamjar when my sort, who is into country music said who is this and this is really good. Enough said i guess.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
This is the best new album for many a long time. I too have had the pleasure of seeing these live and they are not to be missed.
This album is fantastic! There is no track on it that you will want to skip, I guarantee it!
Catch Black Spiders before they go into orbit - because they will!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
I first heard this band from a free CD in Classic Rock and I thought it was a great song and the best on the sampler cd. On reading a good review I bought the CD. It takes a few listens to learn the songs but they are really well structured great and catchty hard rock songs with super vox and sing along chorus and bridges galore. It's not a AC-DC 3 chord rock (not that's that is bad!) but that's just the impression the Amazon samples give which I think is really unfair. The songs are dam catchy. Take 'KISS tried to kill me' or 'Just like a woman'. Then 'Easy Peasy@ is a masterstroke with a female vocalist trading off verses with the lead singer. It's inspired - it's got groove and a got that Southern US rock swagger without sounding pretentious given they are brits. In fact you hear that Southenr Rock edge all the way through. That's what makes it different than your standard brit hard affair. 'Blood of the Kings' is the epic masterpeice weighting at some 7 minutes and excellent (if I recall that was the song on the Classic Rock sampler but if not I would be happy to be corrected). A bit further on there's man's Ruin with is a seriously good song for example. Just a great CD with 10 hard rocking songs that are not your usual generic Brit Rock.

Takes a few listens but for me it's been the first CD in the player each night I get in from work for the last 2 weeks. I think that says it all. The price is a gift.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
This is a supberb album, after having heard the EPs I was hoping that a full album would deliver and it does. Essentially it is just good old-fashioned hard rock that does what it says on the tin. I would recommend this album without any shadow of doubt but where the Black Spiders really deliver is as a live band. Go see them and you will buy this album and want more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
This really is no-nonsense, heads down, balls out, dirty Rock n Roll! One heck of a debut album and I would not be surprised if this was many people's ROCK album of 2011.

The guitar riffs are huge and many of the songs had me tapping my foot or jumping around like a maniac ;-) The band definitely has a sense of humour. Exemplified best on 'KISS tried to kill me, where the fantastic rocking start had me cranking up the volume! The chorus/lyrics for this song are catchy and amusing, guaranteed to have you singing along in no time.

Many of the other songs follow suit (Blood of Kings, Medusa's Eyes, Just like a woman to name a few..) and this is 40 mins of creamy rock goodness. If you love Hard Rock music, then you should love this album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 March 2011
First saw these guys supporting "The Answer" where they were brilliant, playing with utter conviction and really getting the crowd on their site. This album captures their attitude with 10 great tracks of unpretentious hard rock from a band that seem to enjoy living the life. Straight on from the opening track "Stay Down" through the surreal "Kiss Tried to Kill Me" to the finale of "What Good's A Rock Without A Roll?" the album grabs you and never let's go. The production is clear and captures how the band has improved. They are headlining smaller venues around the UK at the moment and are well worth catching for a great night out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)