Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
42
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2012
Glasvegas, usually accused of being `boring' or `out of tune' but not since the release of EUPHORIC /// HEARTBREAK \\. This album is very different to their first self-titled effort. The first had poor vocals and mostly forgettable tracks, really nothing special, but Euphoric Heartbreak is a cut above the rest. Songs such as `Euphoria, Take My Hand' are written with robust choruses, bellowed from lead singer James Allan, backed by tambourines or floaty electric guitars. The lyrics (partly concealed by the extremely strong Scottish accent with which they're sung) are meaningful and relatable: "Heartbreak, I'm not holding your hand any more. Euphoria, take my hand", these positive lyrics are set to a triumphant beat which inspires ambition and enthusiasm. I'll admit, the spoken word tracks `Pain Pain, Never Again' and `Change' aren't really to my taste, but they fit with the album and when listening as a whole they complete it. Glasvegas have most certainly won my heart and I'm eagerly awaiting to hear anything new from these superb Scots.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
I loved Glasvegas' first album, it was bold and bombastic sounding and was a triumph over so many mediocre bands that exist today. Despite this it shamefully took me the past part of 2 years to get round to purchasing their second album, but boy am I glad I did! It makes the first album sound like a trial run and since buying this record everything else that's out fades into the background.... this music is huge!

I'm a fan of what most people would say is overly emotional, 'huge', 'epic' music (Godspeed You Black Emperor, Sigur Ros etc) but this is another level. Songs such as I feel Wrong (Homosexuality pt 1) and Euphoria, Take My Hand are beautifully arranged, over produced (which I love)songs which build into Euphoric, Heartbreaking pieces of music (the title says it all)

Glasvegas sound and feel like the soundtrack to the End of the World (it is on that grand a scale) and I cannot understand any negativity surrounding this album. Obviously if you do not like Spector-esque, huge sounds then this isn't for you but then again Glasvegas as a whole shouldn't be for you,

Wonderful
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Excellent buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Gran sonido glasvegas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2015
A VERY STRONG SECOND ALBUM FROM GLASVEGAS,NOT QUITE AS STRONG OR AS MANY STANDOUT TRACKS AS DEBIT BUT AN EXCELLANT ALBUM NEVERLESS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having read the Uncut review of this album and their description of it as "excruciating" the original intention had been to spring to the defence of Glasvegas and write an enraged "au contre" response. Unfortunately from the silly title of the album to the music contained therein the sad evidence is that this excellent Scottish band have succumbed to that cursed syndrome of the dreaded sophomore slump. It raises in turn a big question mark where they go to next. It was of course once all so promising. Their debut with its huge Spector wall of sound combined with James Allen's wonderful terrace anthems like "Stabbed" and "Daddy's Gone" sung in a tough Scottish accent, was a thing of wonder. They looked set to storm the Winter Palace and wipe out all comparable competition. Unfortunately "Euphoric" is an album that sounds fine on the first listen, a little less so on the second and by the third you are looking up the web site address for E Bay.

It is an album that is excessively overwrought, full of bombast and Allen seems to desire to express and channel all the worlds pain through these songs and frankly rather poor lyrics. He certainly looked great the other week on Jools Holland and well done on the Lift to Experience t-shirt. But whereas Josh T Pearson's Denton crew were able to conquer up a world shaking sound into incredible songs without stepping the wrong side of hysterical, Glasvegas's shot at stadium filling sounds just doleful and racked with self pity. Certainly the album is not without merit and both the title track and the tough love song Stronger Than Dirt (Homosexuality Pt.2) are both worthy pop anthems. The two absolute standouts are the excellent "Shine like the Stars" and the "World is Yours" which brought back fond memories of Liverpool's Echo and the Bunnymen. That however is about the extent of good news and the rest of the album meanders from one set of chest beating angst ridden track to the other without a smile, a hint of irony or the fleeting glimpse of a memorable melody.

By the end of this album you tuck the CD back into the Jewel case, file at the bottom of the rack and curse the fact that you didn't download a selection of these songs rather than purchase the whole shebang. (supermarkets are indeed a curse). Ultimately Glasvegas will need to go back to the drawing board after this and while the attempt at Euphoric is completely overcooked if your a fan the "Heartbreak" after listening to this will be very real.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
After the critical acclaim they received for their 1st album(although the BBC blatantly dismissed it during an award show,not allowing viewers any preview),Glasvegas returned with a 2nd album,that delivered a more mature sound,I'd the opportunity to catch a Glasvegas show,while they performed a mini-tour of the Highlands,testing the waters with some tracks from the forthcoming album. It was a brilliant show, you could tell by the sound,they'd gained a lot from their touring with U2 on the 360 tour....... Glasvegas have delivered an excellent album here with Euphoric///Heartbreak\\\......will they be overlooked again? It'd would be a travesty ,James(Allan) is a fantastic songwriter and some recognition would be well deserved. If you loved the 1st album "Glasvegas", you'll enjoy the next step on their journey......... Thanks for reading,enjoy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2016
I'm a big fan of their debut (although it is over produced) but this is so bloated and joyless I found it impossible to enjoy.
The wit seems to have gone from the lyrics, here they're overly repetitive. Will try their third to see if there's any improvement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
Its been a long impatient wait to hear another album from Glasveges. Their first album was an amazing example of indie rock coming out of Glasgow. Their christmas ep was also excellent although not exactly in the happy mood most christmas albums are!

So at last this album is here and it is simply brilliant. The lead singer's very strong and very Scottish vocals are back, with great guitar rifts and that moody dark sound is even more prominent. It sounds more like the ep than the first album which isn't a bad thing. There is not a single filler track or weaker song here. You get some real treats with songs such as The world is yours, Whatever hurts through the night, Stronger than dirt and the great rock upbeat track Euphoria, take my hand.

If you like Glasvegas, you will love this album. Even if you don't but you are an indie fan I would certainly recommend giving this a try. Its a superb album that even those who are not a fan of the style would I suspect accept its obvious quality and excellent production.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)