Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 April 2011
I'm basing this item review, based around playing DeadSpace Extraction on the PS3 (A quality game by itself).

The MOVE itself, and its navigation controller, is a great piece of kit and works amazingly well. But it has a drawback when using it for prolonged amounts of time (primarily as a gun). If you are holding it up-right, in a gun position, you're hand and arm will soon start to ache and end up in pain.

Holding this small long object in your hand, upright, with all the weight at one end and your fingers rapped around it, just isn't a natural or healthy way to hold the MOVE. Now comes the Sharp Shooter from Sony to compliment the MOVE/Navigation when playing shooting games, and it works a charm.

From a first glance, it looks very toyish, but once you get a hold of one you see its very well built and doesnt look too shabby in my opinion. Placing the MOVE and Navigation controller inside is easy. Just slide them into place, turn both on (by the PS button) and you are ready to go.

The buttons for the MOVE are all digitally moved onto the gun itself, replacing the fire button, start, select, square, triangle and L2 buttons to positions on the gun. The two connect using the USB port at the bottom of the MOVE so there is no lag in controls.

The Navigation stick just sits in the bottom and you use as is, while in its cradle.

But it works perfectly and feels a lot more natural as a gun.

You still maintain the MOVEs amazingly accuracy and it actually helps make shooting better because you can point better. Once the MOVE and Navigation stick are attached, the entire piece gains quite some weight. You will feel this in your hands.

The only bit I find hard sometimes is the pull out, sholder rest. It isn't the comfortable for pro-longed amounts of time and I found that I ended up pushing it under my arm-pit to make it more comfy. But thats a personal thing.

But in terms of comfort... using this has removed most of the hand, arm and finger ache which I had before when using the MOVE as it was. Now Im holding it in a natural fashion, with both hands, and the weight nicely distributed around my upper body.

All-in-All, if you plan to play something like DeadSpace:Extraction, Killzone3 or any shooting game (which supports the MOVE) this is a definite purchase.

Depending on the game though, you may find you have to re-adjust to button layouts and some games may not take 100% advantage of the sharp shooter. But some games you can customise yourself.

I cannot recommend this gun enough. It feels well made, the buttons are all responsive and after an entre day of using it on DS:E, i've had no technical issues at all.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2017
Amazing,, just Amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2015
Great PS3 gun controller
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2017
Very good for house of the dead overkill makes the ps move worth while for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2013
This takes a bit of getting used to, but is great fun once you have! The Move games work well with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2011
It brings another dimension to the Killzone 3 game for PS3. Great fun. The Sony Sharp Shooter works perfectly: very responsive to movement and it's easy to play with. If you're a fan of this kind of games, and can spare a couple of pounds, It's an excellent way to turn the experience a little more real. As I said before, great fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2011
I bought this for £35 - although there are plenty of gun housings for under £10, this one is a cut above the rest. It is not immediately apparent from the picture, but the move controller is actually USB connected to shooter, so unlike the other controllers the buttons are not mechanically connected via some crude spring attachment. The shooter houses its own move and trigger buttons as well as triangle and square buttons on either side of the trigger. Underneath is a reload button and the white part which houses the navigation controller can also be used for reloading by pumping towards you.
I was initially confused with the omission of X and circle button but all became clear once I bought the optional navigation controller, as that is where they are.
The controller is surprisingly weighty so this takes some getting used to, as does the position of the navigation controller, but after some practice, all is good :-)
I would have given this 5 stars, but dropped a point as you need to remove the move contoller from the housing to charge it. Seems obvious to have had an external charging point. Also it doesn't shoot real bullets.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2011
I've never been a fan of FPS games on consoles due to the controls and reaction times being far slower than when using a mouse with pc games. But this gun takes the move and turns it into a weapon of mass destruction!

I've now been using it with kill zone 3 for a few days now and all i can say is if your into your FPS games then this bit of kit is a must have, its so much fun and i definitely believe the move has found its true calling with this. So settle back into a bean bag, get that cushion to rest your arms on and enjoy blowing anything that moves away into the early hours of the morning with it!
22 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2017
Always been after a official Move Gun for PS3, and this is the biz when it comes to shooters. It has a great weighty feel to it, once you have the Move and Navigational controllers housed in it. The auto machine gun mode via pressing in the front of gun is brill, for gunning down enemies at once. If you love your light gun games, and want a proper arcade feel to them, then this is a must. Plus their are quite a lot of different kind of games for the Move controller, which is a huge bonus to owning a PS3 Sharp Shooter, absolutely brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2011
My purchase of the Sharp Shooter was spurred on by the demo for Killzone 3. I played this with the move controller and navigator on their own, but found it unwieldy and difficult to control. Not wanting to be outdone, and wanting to actually get some use from the controller that was rapidly gathering dust I hunted around for this and picked one up (for a lot less than it is currently being sold here for). I got this and the full Killzone 3 game at the same time, and initially I found it quite difficult to control and was spinning around all over the place.

I persevered however and found that with a bit of tweaking in the game settings, and control over my movements that this is far more accurate and fluid than playing with the good old Sixaxis. Since getting to grips with this gun I've been popping out head shots left right and centre.

The construction quality is decent, although the retractable butt stock seems a bit flimsy. the move controllers fit firmly in place without wobbles, the location of the controls is just right (although the start button can be a bit of a pain to get to if needed in a hurry. The controller is set up to be used by both right handed and left handed users, and it also features a reload button on the base of the "magazine" - although this is a little small for my liking, a larger button would enable a less precise press, and give a more authentic feel of slapping a new magazine in, but it's certainly not a deal breaker being the size it is, and you don't have to use it. The trigger is nice and responsive, and feels sturdy, unlike some of the other guns on the market. The pump action can be used for performing melee attacks, although I'm sure other games will find alternative uses for this feature. There is also a rate of fire selector, although I haven't seen any difference in the settings while playing, again, maybe this is something that will be used in future titles.

All in all I'm going to say that despite the minor niggles that I have with it, this is a must have for anyone serious about playing games with the PS Move.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)